PSLE COP 2009

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    870 Posts 123 Posters 390.4k Views 1 Watching
      tutormum

karmeleon:
      tutormum:

Their attitude was if I don't do well in my PSLE, I can always go to xxx school. In the end, the principal of the secondary school decided to make changes to stop the flow. 😓 One of my students told me that when the whole cohort did badly in their mid year exams due to the exceptionally tough questions set, the principal consoled them by stating that she expected them to continue their sec education there instead of applying for DSA in other schools. Therefore, the poor results reflected in their report books would not affect them in anyway cos most of them would be admitted due to affiliation. (This school runs a primary and secondary school program and I think many of you can guess which school it is without me spelling it out). Doesn't this breed complacency? 😛 Yes, and there is elitism also. :!:

I cannot guess, leh....

Don't put me in trouble lah. Ok I pm you. Quote from Animal Farm : All animals are equal but some animals are more equal than others.

Fairy

AWSP:

I agree with micko07 on his point on affiliation - the \"injustice\" in denying a better student and giving it to a weaker student. It is not about whether the primary school is good (eg NYPS) and its students therefore should be given priority as given in the argument.

I did not suscribe to the primary school branding thing and sent my kids to the school just across the road. However I am having second thoughts now after this \"PSLE\" experience.

The classes in my kids school are packed to 40 per class even for the better classes. The range of abilities is wider and consists of a variation of abilities (the HAMALA) thingy. Teachers' expectations are very low.

It takes a greater effort for the non branded school students to excel. Perhaps the issue lies with MOE not being able to ensure some minimum level of consistency across the board?
        Hi AWSP,

Perhaps, you got me wrong. It was never my intended argument that since NYPS is a 'good' school, the affiliation is justifiable. Like I've mentioned earlier, both my kids did not benefit from the affiliation as one is a boy (no affiliation) and the other has always aspire to join her brother at Raffles. Both my kids studied in a neighbourhood school next to where I stay till P3. This neighbouhood school also did very well for its PSLE this year (& last year) and I'm also very proud of this school. And for your information, my daughter's class (mainstream) at NYPS also had 40 students. Actually, the teachers being assigned to the class is very important. Even in a so-called elite school, there are good & not-so-good teachers. There's not many teachers around who are inspiring & can make a huge difference to their students.

Regarding schemes like Affiliation, DSA or even children of old boys & girls gettting a confirmed place at popular primary schools (not sure what you call that), I have never regarded them as fair. Even the DSA exercise is too subjective to me. But, what can we do?

Fairy

tutormum:
          Personally, I detest the idea of affiliation. All PSLE students should be given an equal footing based on their results to get into their dream schools. Affiliation gives students from affiliated schools an unfair advantage over their peers cos they do not get posted based on merits.

Students from Victoria schools also receive an 'unfair' advantage of a 2 pt-deduction in opting for VJC? I wonder how other sec students who aspire to join VJC feels about such affiliation? :?

NdHelpParent

my girl’s got into NYHG with a score of 268. On the discussion of affliliation, i agree that it’s kind of unfair cos my girl’s friend wanted very much to go NYGH scored 260 including higher MT did not get in. If affiliation were to be scrapped, perhaps she would hv stand a chance. Am i right?

• 2 Offline
              2ct

Perhaps "fairness" is relative. Wat is fair for one may be deemed unfair to another. I think it is unfair for my dd to have to go thru 6 yrs of studies before Uni whereas 2ppaamm dd can do it in a about a yr or 2. But to 2ppaamm it is fair, it is just tat I am a foolish parent not to choose otherwise .Actually.

Quite curious wat is the alternative sys tat was mentioned by 2ppaamm.Heard before of people who skip JC to do short diploma course and proceed to get into Uni oversea(shortening the process by 1or 2 yrs) but getting a dip at age 13(PLSE at 12) and applying for U at 14 is amazing.
              Hope 2ppaamm can share as I guess many are curious to know.

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

Blobbi:
                Hi 2ppaamm, I've pm'd you. You can click on your Inbox (at the top of the page) to retrieve. Cheers!!!

For those who want to know about how I helped my children escape from the Singapore system, I have posted another topic here. http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7820

Let's keep this for COP. 25hourmaid did a great job here!

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

deleted

micko07

Fairy:

Regarding schemes like Affiliation, DSA or even children of old boys & girls gettting a confirmed place at popular primary schools (not sure what you call that), I have never regarded them as fair. Even the DSA exercise is too subjective to me. But, what can we do?
                    Too right you are. We'll just have to make do.

I personally disagree with legacies (it's even worse when applying to US universities - how does that fact that your parents attended XXX University justify that you are also talented/ smart enough to attend it too?).

I can understand the rationale for DSA (to take in kids with different talents who might not have made it through central posting). I'm not so opposed to it because I think schools have the right to exercise some autonomy over student intake and take in students whom they think will be most suitable. It's also beneficial for a child to go to a school which has a niche that suits his/her talent.

@ NdHelpParent: Yes that's exactly what I'm afraid of. Better students sacrificed from non-affiliated primary schools. It's especially sad if the kid barely missed the cut-off and had always wanted to go to that particular school, compared to those in the affiliated primary school who simply regard it as a back-up option. Sigh.

nothing2do

hi my friend need advise. Anglican or St nic ?

mummyjoyce

nothing2do:
                        hi my friend need advise. Anglican or St nic ?

I will choose St Nic. Convent school and afficated to CJC.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 52 / 87