Club FTWM

4.9k Posts 176 Posters 1.3m Views 1 Watching
      Bronzy

2ppaamm:

I baked everything, didn't buy anything. I looked at all the stuff on the shelves and always end up thinking... \"better to make myself\". Either: too oily, not fresh, got preservative, skin too thick, pineapple too dark colored, cookie not well brushed, bak kwa smells weird - pig died too long ago, too expensive, don't know what butter or margarine they use - got trans fat?

So, I end up baking every year, slaving in the kitchen - :stupid: Just as I am speaking, I have a whole batch of bak kwa in the dehydrator. I remember I can leave it overnight there. Tiring but fun lah...
      Wow - I am impressed. No wonder the kids finished everything! Didn't even know that you could make bakwa at home! Guess that you must be busy cooking for reunion dinner now (or eating it)! Gong Xi Fa Ca to you and all other FTWM's (and anyone else who may be reading this forum)!

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

No I don't have to cook for reunion dinner for myhubby's but I host the reunion on my mum's side. Don't know what to do for dessert. Ang mo or Chinese? Hm... That is 2 more days to go. I also host reunion for my sec school classmates in my house . I think this year we'll have 25 coming together with hubbies and children maybe close to 50 ... Don't know what to prepare... :?

2ppaamm:
          No I don't have to cook for reunion dinner for myhubby's but I host the reunion on my mum's side. Don't know what to do for dessert. Ang mo or Chinese? Hm... That is 2 more days to go. I also host reunion for my sec school classmates in my house . I think this year we'll have 25 coming together with hubbies and children maybe close to 50 ... Don't know what to prepare... :?

Wah...u can be a party planner at this rate!!! Enjoy!

Bronzy

2ppaamm:

I love desserts - esp ang mo ones so recommend you go with Ang Mo. Are you doing all the cooking single handedly?! No cheating and catering some dishes?!

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Bronzy:
              2ppaamm:

I love desserts - esp ang mo ones so recommend you go with Ang Mo. Are you doing all the cooking single handedly?! No cheating and catering some dishes?!

No leh, I normally do everything myself with the help of a maid or two. This time round, I have no maid.... still wondering how to do it. :? I don't really like to cater because I don't like their food, and I find it so unfresh. Now, I am quite stuck. Heh heh...

I am getting old now... I used to be able to bake 10 cakes for a party in one morning, plus all the food for 150. Nowadays, I cannot even bake one properly without thinking carefully.

I have been doing or nee for 2 years. Maybe I will bake that American Cheesecake this year, since I have 2 kg of philadelphia cheese in the fridge. Must do tomorrow morning so that it chills nicely by evening, since we have a vote for Western.

I have 5 children, which means 5 birthday parties a year, plus christmas plus new year, I do easily 8 parties with about 50-100 people. So, you are right, I learnt how to be a caterer along the way. :lol:

Being fussy also doesn't help. I used to make my own chicken nuggets because I was so suspicious of what they put inside the processed food. 😐 and wondered when they slaughtered the chicken. 😉 Very fussy hor?

2ppaamm:

Being fussy also doesn't help. I used to make my own chicken nuggets because I was so suspicious of what they put inside the processed food. 😐 and wondered when they slaughtered the chicken. 😉 Very fussy hor?
                No leh...I am also like that...cannot help it. No wonder we are so busy.. Nuggets really worrying to buy off the shelf.

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

No leh...I am also like that...cannot help it. No wonder we are so busy.. Nuggets really worrying to buy off the shelf.
                  Heh heh... but fresh nuggets are much nicer than that strange nuggets off the shelf. Don't even taste like chicken... wonder what that is...

2ppaamm:

Heh heh... but fresh nuggets are much nicer than that strange nuggets off the shelf. Don't even taste like chicken... wonder what that is...

Too scary to think...easier to make.. 😉

pinkiepirate

reporting… wow this thread grows fast!

i’m a FTWM living in river valley. my DS is 13+ months.

i’m working in raffles place.

nice to meet you all !

pinkiepirate

lovekidsverymuch: hello!

just finished reading up the posts on this thread. wow, so many super mummies here. altho as FTWM we can’t spend as much time as we like with our darlings, looks like we all try hard to make up for it and we make a super effort to make full use of the time we have at home. great job everyone!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 494

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127