Club FTWM

4.9k Posts 176 Posters 1.3m Views 1 Watching
      butterwaffles

Luvkid, thanks for your encouragements! Ever since my son was born, he wakes up every 2-3 hours for milk without fail, day & night. He cried alot too and was diagnosed with colic and acid reflux. It was really really tough and quite a few times, i locked myself in the toilet with him and we cried together 😒 Haha...I felt so heartpain when he was crying and crying and i couldn't do anything to make him feel better. Like you, i don't ignore the cryings. I go to him as soon as i can and sayang him. My PD tells me she doesn't believe in the carry-too-much-will-spoil-the-baby theory. She advised me to tahan and be patient because babies can only cry, that's their only form of communication. She also tells me babies will be more emotionally secure and stable when they are older if their cries are not being ignored. I'm not sure if her theory is correct but even if i'm advised to let my son cry it out, i cannot. My heart cannot take it ah.

So far, my son has been kind to me πŸ™‚ I try to have a bedtime routine for him whenever he is with me at nights but it's difficult as he has no routine at my MIL's. Weekends are easier. Will bathe him, play with him for a while, give him milk then pat him to sleep. Im contemplating to ask for a shorter workweek or shorter working hours every day when my son starts his childcare next year so that i can be the one who fetch him to and from childcare. I'll only have one child, so this one is very precious to me, haha!

Now, i kowtow to FTWMs with more than 1 child. It is not easy! Thou when they are older, might be 'easier' to take care of, but with every phase they enter, comes different challenges/problems. Not matter how old our kids are, there will always be issues right? So kudos to all FTWMs out there, really not easy!

Luvkid

butterwaffles,

Dun mention. We are here to encourage each other. :celebrate:

limsc74

limsc74:

Hi i'm new here and also a FTWM. Can anyone tell me what is DD and DS. I'm mountain tortise.

Dear limsc,

DD = Dear/Darling Daughter, DS = Dear/Darling Son. I'm not sure how it started but I doubt that the terms were invented in KiasuParents.com as I have them used in other parenting forums.

For a full listing of other acronyms, please see this:
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/KSPAcronyms

Anyone is welcome to contribute to that list!

hi chief thanx for your info. πŸ˜‰

• DesertWindD Offline
            DesertWind

butterwaffles:
            Previously when i just started going back to work, i only bring him home on Friday nights and will bring him back to my MIL's on Monday mornings. Thou i visit him every night after work, everytime i leave my MIL's place, my heart feels very heavy & guilty. It's been 3 weeks since i've returned to work but i miss him more and more. So yesterday & today, i brought my son home......

Hi Butterwaffles! πŸ˜„

I \"lost\" this thread because I could not remember which topic it was recorded under....I kept thinking it was at the \"No maid\" topic but could not find it hence the long silence! πŸ‘…

Yes, I remembered when I went back to work after 3 months I missed my son so much that when I came back home I wanted him to sleep with me on the same bed. My maid kept offering to look after him at night so that I can have a good night's sleep. It was very nice of her but I MISSED my son so terribly during the day! When my maid kept asking even though I said \"no\", I was quite fed-up and asked her to stop it! Day time she takes good care of my boy and night-time the boy sleeps with me!

This is a way of compensate although we are all sleeping!

Until now at 2.5 yo my DS still sleeps with me & hubby. But not for long as we are doing up a separate room for him since he is growing to be a big boy already! :love:

• DesertWindD Offline
              DesertWind

minniemom:
              hi

me a newbie & a FTWM, DD at K2 & DS at terrible 2.
              By the way, how do u all cope with both work & household chores?? I feel exhausted easily now tht DS is growing naughtier.

Hi Minniemom,

How about getting part-time help? Those \"zhong dian nu yong\" at about SGD10 per hour? They work minimum 3 hours each time. I used one before for couple of years and she came in once a week to vacuum, mop, wash toilets and also to iron hubby's clothes. Of course that time we have no kid yet. After my DS was born, I got a full-time maid. How to cope if FTWM but no helper at home....? 😒

• DesertWindD Offline
                DesertWind

Luvkid:

Dun feel guilty over this. U r fulfilling your best for being responsible mummy. give yourseld a pat on your back....The midnite wake up cries & feeding time can be really hectic, but remember it will be over soon.....

Time passes fast, in a wink, your son will be easier to handle, just bear with it, get over with it, dun blame yourself.......You r already doing your best for him now :love: Dun worry, his heart will be with you :love:
                Hi Luvkid!

I like what you have shared, very encouraging to me too thank you very much! πŸ˜„

Bimbotic

My first attempt...not sure if I am posting it correctly or not :roll: ... but i am a FTWM of DD aged 7.5 yrs old in p2.

beebeemum

Hihi,

I am new and reporting here.
                    Happy FTWM with 2 DDs. πŸ˜„

• DesertWindD Offline
                      DesertWind

Bimbotic:
                      My first attempt...not sure if I am posting it correctly or not :roll: ... but i am a FTWM of DD aged 7.5 yrs old in p2.

Hi Bimbotic,
                      :welcome:

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

beebeemum:
                        Hihi,

I am new and reporting here.
                        Happy FTWM with 2 DDs. πŸ˜„

Hello beebeemum! πŸ˜„
                        :welcome:
                        Happy to hear that you are happy! Do share with us more about the happy bits so that we can be encouraged too!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 22 / 494