Kids' ambitions
mathsparks:
To me one has to be careful not to kill the child interest and the drive to strive. I also try not to put too much focus on job vs salary at her age. The answer should be a balance one so that it will not put both the child or the parent down.
Well, my answer would be, if the doctor is negligent, even if he's covered by insurance, there goes his career. But this maybe too cheem for a p1 to understand. Fortunately, or unfortunately, both my kids have absolutely no interest in being doctors...blood freaks them out.KSP:
A lot of time we asked our children what they want to be when they grow up. Me too, I started asking when my DD was 3 and she answer keep changing everytime we asked her.
But one day there was a backfire....
My P1 DD came back from school and asked me why I don't work as a doctor. She said her so and so classmates' parents are doctors and doctors can earn a lot of money. How would you answer this type of question? :?

Here is my answer.
\"This is because I didn't study hard enough to be a doctor. If you want to be a doctor you have to study harder than me.\"
But then another backfire a few weeks later......
One day my dd was doing her maths paper. She got stuck with one of the questions. I was sitting near to her and she came to me and said this \"I could not do this maths question maybe I cannot be a doctor anymore. I think I can only be a manager like you.\"
And I was like :stupid: -
KSP:
:rotflmao: Your DD is so cute.
One day my dd was doing her maths paper. She got stuck with one of the questions. I was sitting near to her and she came to me and said this \"I could not do this maths question maybe I cannot be a doctor anymore. I think I can only be a manager like you.\"
And I was like :stupid:
My DD1 also said she wants to be a doctor. Then I asked her why, she said, \"Daddy told me to be one.\" I was :faint: -
KSP:
How did your JC mate answer the question?[/quote]KSP, he was asked why did he apply to go to Law/Med School.
KSP, I had a JC mate who answered that question posed to him by Med school dean (he was also called up for Law School and answered the same way...he got a place in law school and med school rejected him straightaway!Andaiz:
[quote=\"KSP\"]
My P1 DD came back from school and asked me why I don't work as a doctor. She said her so and so classmates' parents are doctors and doctors can earn a lot of money. How would you answer this type of question? :?
His reply was \"to make lots of money\". Med School wrote him off by Law school liked his spunk and honesty. -
I take my kids talk with a pinch of salt. In between pilot and doctor, there has been archaeologist, car importer, politician all these within a year.
My daughter did say she wants to be a mummy (meaning me). She says she like me spending time with both of them, cooking, bringing them to park, play etc. What she misses to mention is that I juggle with my work and still carry out my role as a mother. When I pointed that out to her, she :oops:
But Iβm quite surprise, a very intelligent adult being called to sit for interview by two faculties can give a very daft reply. Too straightforward and truthful? Or not prepared for the interview? -
EN:
To me, that was the most politically incorrect answer in ANY circumstance. THis guy's a joker but I thought it was very inappropriate for the occasion - and even more surprised that Law School admitted him - even if the interviews were formality.
But Iβm quite surprise, a very intelligent adult being called to sit for interview by two faculties can give a very daft reply. Too straightforward and truthful? Or not prepared for the interview? -
I have a ex-colleague whose ambition is to be a HOUSEWIFE

Anyone with DD who wants to be a housewife? -
kiasimom:
my ambition is to be a housewife leh.... :oops:I have a ex-colleague whose ambition is to be a HOUSEWIFE

Anyone with DD who wants to be a housewife?
ds1 has not decided on what he wants to be although he wrote in a class assignment that he wants to be a doctor. i asked him why he chose that, he said he has nothing else to write :roll: . then when i asked him what will he talked about if the Oral Exam topic is 'Ambition', he said he has no choice but to said doctor cos he has to stick to his original class assignment.
Very rigid boy right? Good as gahmen officer.
kiasimom:
I have known friends whose ambition is to be someone who stays at home but not housewife, house \"tai tai\"s.I have a ex-colleague whose ambition is to be a HOUSEWIFE

Anyone with DD who wants to be a housewife?
I'm still working towards that ambition..
10yrs and counting..
Andaiz:
This is probably only half the story and one part of the answer.
To me, that was the most politically incorrect answer in ANY circumstance. THis guy's a joker but I thought it was very inappropriate for the occasion - and even more surprised that Law School admitted him - even if the interviews were formality.EN:
But Iβm quite surprise, a very intelligent adult being called to sit for interview by two faculties can give a very daft reply. Too straightforward and truthful? Or not prepared for the interview?
But I must say such short answers are good to catch attention, good or bad, in an interview. The trick is to know how to recover with further answers to that shocking statement. So please don't believe when people tell you they make one shocking statement to get the job, you may just flunk it. Not everyone is witty to handle interviews this way and as you can see from his example, the audience is also important, i.e. you cannot use the same tactic in 2 different types of situations.
Some of my shocking statements for 2 different interviews which I got both the jobs are:
1. Customers are not kings
2. I want your job
If you believe I got the job based on above statements, you are in for trouble.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.