BOOK Fairs

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Happenings
    1.5k Posts 181 Posters 661.8k Views 1 Watching
      SAHM_TAN

laughingcat:
      Retail store also no cheap leh. Guess i have to either seek ebay or amazon liao.

I'm trying to find out if there will be instore promotion

hquek

came back from page 1 sale. one word…WOAHHHHHH. took me 30-50min to queue to go in (and the queue wasn’t as bad when we left).

A lot of professional type books - architecture, fashion design, cook etc. These are about 20-50 or more percent off. They also have dvds on offer (sorry never see price).

Now to the serious stuff (this is ksp) - the kids section. Imported and new books are about 20% off. Eg Wonderstruck (Brian Selznick) is going at $41 less 20%. Not inspiring enough. But go browse the shelves in the centre for kids books - those are $1 per book. I kid you not. Bought a horrid henry special at $1 - 10 stories inside, colour pictures. Also saw series like Supernatural squad (sorry, name escapes me), charlie small, even magic treehouse, horrid henry titles (some with dvd even). Yes, all at $1!!! Got Neil Gaiman’s odd and the frost giants (hardcover) at $1 - I think I have the paperback, but $1 is calling me.

Some books could be $5 per book - diary of wimpy kid (up to Ugly truth) at $5; hardback hor. The latest book (Cabin fever) is at 20% off (again not exciting). bought also a book on lego (DK special with 2 books inside) at $5!

The shelves empty quite fast, but the staff keep replenishing with new titles. So everytime I need to go back to get something for a friend, I starting grabbing more and more books. haizzzz. A bit wishing I should park there from morning and see what good stuff they put in during the day.

Finally, I came out with a LOT of books…but very little damage to my credit card. whew

Payment by cash/credit card/nets. Staff try very hard but the crowd is really amazing.

but beware, it’s VERY hot. crampy inside and only fans. I was drenched in perspiration during the whole time. tissue and water will be very useful inside also.

hquek

oops, actually some children titles may have more than 20% discount. Some could be 30, 40, 50 etc. But then when I see price tag of $1, $5; somehow percent off just not attractive anymore. 😛

hquek

and and to those driving. please park at techview (not that expensive). LTA came by 4 times while I was there. Else have someone wait in the car. page 1 staff will announce that lta is coming, but why take the chance (and what if you have to queue to re-enter - horrors)

SAHM_TAN

Too bad so crowded, difficult for me and bb. I could envision the cheap titles from outside but just could not go in.....have to give it a miss 😢

SAHM_TAN

hquek,

I salute your perserverance.

hquek

Thanks but I got company, so the waiting was bearable. And yes, there was queue to pay also and it went around much of the place.

You call it perseverance, I think I more :siao: . 🕺

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

Wah! Hquek, i envy you leh. :salute: I wished i can go but......really shorthanded at the moment over the weekend.

The $1 book really enticing leh. :drool: Did you see any Horrible Science series? Pls say NO. :rotflmao:

WHAT! :yikes: They have Charlie Small! Oh man! :faint: 😢

mummy of 2

I also thought of going but wasn't sure if it would be worth going but now I really :slapshead:

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

Me tooooooooo! 😢

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 83 / 151

kubetecoK
                        kubeteco