HI DesertWind,
Maids can be rather calculative and very mindful of who their employers are. If they are scolded because the mother or MIL of employer complains, they are very resentful and will show a black face without thinking why they are scolded.
madinked,
I’m a SAHM too…so I can perfectly understand why we have problems with maids. Because we are at home with the maid, we know what they are doing and correct them. Honestly, I close one eye most of the time…but still not possible to close 2 eyes when we are SAHMs.
Maids who do not have any supervision are the happiest ones. -
I am considered blessed to have so far 4 very good maids in the last 15 years…and this 4th one is less than one year and is even better than the first 3
we can entrust the household to them with absolute confidence
when the kids were still young and sometime they run fever & what not, the maid loves them so much that she stayed up whole night to ensure the kids are well monitored -
verykiasu,I am considered blessed to have so far 4 very good maids in the last 15 years....and this 4th one is less than one year and is even better than the first 3
when the kids were still young and sometime they run fever & what not, the maid loves them so much that she stayed up whole night to ensure the kids are well monitored
you are VERY luck to be able to get this maid...it really feels so good to have someone you can trust and rely upon. then you must pray very hard
that this maid can work for you for longer time.
Maids nowadays are so 'spoilt\" because they are protected by laws that favour them.HI DesertWind,
Maids can be rather calculative and very mindful of who their employers are. If they are scolded because the mother or MIL of employer complains, they are very resentful and will show a black face without thinking why they are scolded.
madinked,
I'm a SAHM too...so I can perfectly understand why we have problems with maids. Because we are at home with the maid, we know what they are doing and correct them. Honestly, I close one eye most of the time...but still not possible to close 2 eyes when we are SAHMs.
Maids who do not have any supervision are the happiest ones.
When unhappy, all they need to do is ask for a transfer. If not, they will pull a long face. Worst still, some said they feel \"homesick\" and employers must bear their air-ticket cost, no matter how long they have worked.
And even worst still, we have read in the newspapers that maids cooked up a story to get their employer in trouble if they are unhappy for whatever reasons. Then this boils down to their words against the employers and if this become a criminal case, it can become a hell for the employers. -
Think the main issue is the industry practice. Before maid's loan period is up, as much as I the employer wants to repatriate her back, if I do so, the agent will come after me for the placement fee. Why should MOM condone such a practice?Yet another story of how employer is liable for high medical bills chalked up by maid....and this after he had sent her back to agency becos of theft. She was taking in her clothes at the agency provided housing and fell.
http://news.asiaone.com/News/The%2BNew%2BPaper/Story/A1Story20100610-221345.html
With stories like this, tell me if there are more employers willing to give their maids a 2nd chance by waiting for possible re-employment.
Our liabilities will only end after the cancellation of WP and repatriation. I will gladly do this anytime when the maid starts to give me problem. But I can't before her loan period is up. I have to send her back to agent & allows her to be \"churned\" by the agent. If anything happens at the agent place, it's totally out of my control, as in this $42,000 medical bill case. And yet MOM will go after employer.
Why should this kind of industry practice be allowed ????????? Why can't employer just repatriate those maids who have no intention of making a honest living here??????
Sorry for the frustration..... :x
After having 3 maids and the 4th one coming over the last 6 years....can't help but feel that we are at the mercy of maids and agents & will always lose out. In fact, I think nowadays the only person I don't dare to \"offend\" at home is the maid...Just hope that the 4th one coming can tahan for 2 years, or at least till her loan period is up, after which if got any issue I can repatriate anytime. -
my mum's new maid was here on 08 June 2010, evening time.
Yesterday, my mum asked her to stand on a chair to clean the window & window grills where she can't reach.
She replied to my mum that is dangerous to do so :faint: . My mum was so angry and did it infront of her to let the maid know that is not dangerous at all.
Sometime I :scratchhead: they acting blur or too \"straight\"?
And my maid.... :slapshead: climbed out of the window to clean my window :!: I found out last Sunday. She was standing outside the aircon compressor \"balcony\". We quickly asked her to climb back to the house and question her how many times she do that. She replied many times.....:faint:
I had told her never ever do that again and I don't want to appear in the paper....
:nailbite: -
shine_fs:
MY ANSWER: she's act blur, or real stupid.my mum's new maid was here on 08 June 2010, evening time.
Yesterday, my mum asked her to stand on a chair to clean the window & window grills where she can't reach.
She replied to my mum that is dangerous to do so :faint: . My mum was so angry and did it infront of her to let the maid know that is not dangerous at all.
Please lah, got grille protection. My 2 maids all very katek...if everything that is beyond reach of hobbits, then nonid to do/take isit? -
True lor.... :stupid:
MY ANSWER: she's act blur, or real stupid.shine_fs:
my mum's new maid was here on 08 June 2010, evening time.
Please lah, got grille protection. My 2 maids all very katek...if everything that is beyond reach of hobbits, then nonid to do/take isit? -
cannot be selfish lah ..... the one just went home last year was also good and she should go back to get married before she gets too old .... so we sent her back with all our blessings.....felt like marrying off a daughter like that
verykiasu,verykiasu2010:
I am considered blessed to have so far 4 very good maids in the last 15 years....and this 4th one is less than one year and is even better than the first 3
when the kids were still young and sometime they run fever & what not, the maid loves them so much that she stayed up whole night to ensure the kids are well monitored
you are VERY luck to be able to get this maid...it really feels so good to have someone you can trust and rely upon. then you must pray very hard
that this maid can work for you for longer time. -
shine_fs:
Put grills and lock up...or else you will be fined if your smart alec maid climbs out to the aircon compressor. Sometimes, the things they do really drive us nuts. The other frustrating thing is these maids get brainwashed by other maids and do not even use their brains whether it's true or not. Ears are so 'light' and listen without thinking. :xmy mum's new maid was here on 08 June 2010, evening time.
And my maid.... :slapshead: climbed out of the window to clean my window :!: I found out last Sunday. She was standing outside the aircon compressor \"balcony\". We quickly asked her to climb back to the house and question her how many times she do that. She replied many times.....:faint:
I had told her never ever do that again and I don't want to appear in the paper....
:nailbite:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.