All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching
      tearss

Errr... i did not mean to indicate that my girls were studying at MMI JWE

or even at any MMI for that matter. Hence i cannot comment on any of
      the staff there, because i don't know any of them, nor have i visited
      the centre at all to be frank. My apologies if the reply was misleading
      somewhat.. :oops:

I was merely replying with regards to whether or not Montessorian
      children have difficulty in adusting to P1... that's all and not that
      my girls were studying at MMI JWE pe se.

My girls studied Montessori as well and have no problem adjusting..
      or rather they didn't even have to adjust. šŸ˜Ž

Montessorian children love school. šŸ˜‰ ... as they have been
      nurtured for the love of learning in general, so it won't/doesn't
      matter which school they can learn from. šŸ˜‰

Hope this better clarifies the point. :celebrate:
      I see...:) Thanks for clarifying.

Kabby

hi buds!!!

missed you for a while! :love:
        [quote]Okie dear, will let you know in the event that i do run one. šŸ˜‰[/quote] :thankyou:

I am really keen! I am still doing my reading up slowly, squeezing in some time each day aft the kids are asleep. Am inspired by Jules also. She has read and shared a lot here as well. šŸ™‚

I am reading \"Tomorrow's Child\" magazine also. Quite impressed that there are schools that carry on Montessori right up to Grade 12. Wow, if only there were such in Singapore and not expensive. Just dreaming....

If I can dream on, I'd want to set up a school myself. šŸ™‚

Thanks for answering my other Qs!

I also read about implementing the Montessori principles and beliefs in the home. So i am trying that out in baby steps. Whatever that I also believe in.

Like having child-sized chairs (instead of high chair) and tables. Dd sits there with her brothers for meals. Trying to train her to eat properly by herself with her own cutlery, bowl, cup. She has her own placemat, like her brothers. But they each know which is their own. Always use the same for each meal.

I also watched some YouTube vids on Montessori, so impressed with the kids pouring milk from jugs into their glasses and drinking them and this teacher said some even as young as 7 months do it on their own. I was flabbergasted. But I do believe it can be done.

Some things are not possible in my 4rm flat, though I love what I saw. all the gardening and then harvesting the veggies to cook/ eat.

Also read on Waldorf and Charlotte Mason. I know :offtopic: so won't elaborate here. But I am full of awe... Trying to incorporate what I myself believe in, and trying out, but also trying to make sure it is not in conflict but in harmony so that my kids don't end up confused.

alas, my ds1 is already 8yo. some things i wish I had done earlier! it's already my 3rd kid and last one liao... hope not too late for my oldest... some of the changes did have positive effect.

your kids must be really fortunate to have you as mom! you probably did all the right things from the start! šŸ™‚

poppyqueen

Hi hi!

Just a short intro ..I've been lurking around this forum and looking for a PG or childcare for my son when he's 18 months. Really love KS parents! A wealth of info!

And Buds, been following your threads. Really love your sense of humour as well as generous sharing of knowledge! Been following your contributions to the Yew Tee/ CCk/Bukit panjang thread as <surprise surprise>, i'm staying in bukit panjang! :lol: Sad to see you have moved North. Otherwise, i would love to join your private Montessori group session too. :evil:

Just to share with you fellow parents,a few Montessori places i racae in the CCK/ Bukit panjang

Ichiban Montessori @ Hongsan walk
          Big compound, but a rather strong smell of urine. Segregates the children by group. They have some mathematical and practical life skill montessori materials. However, the teacher doesn't come across as Montessori trained. Only half an hour of montessori time set aside per time. Quite a lot of children's activities and pictures on graduation ceremony performance pasted on the walls. Fees are reasonable at $380 (after subsidy) for full day and $350 for half day. Overall a rather decent place if you don't mind the lack of emphasis on pure montessori.

Greenfield Montessori @ Hongsan walk
          Smaller class -teacher ratio. Overall centre has 35 children (if remember correctly). PG has 5 to 1 teacher. Segregates children by group. Place and equipment pretty old and run down. Saw tables and chairs that have seen much better days and should have been disposed off long ago. Have additional enrichment classes in house eg town4kids media. However, principal doesn't seem very approachable. On my visit, i saw only china and Filipino teachers too. Concerned about as they may not be that familiar with Singapore culture as well as accent. School would be good if wanted child to be exposed to a strong disciplinary mistress (as in the principal) . Montessori programs seems rather limited based on observation.

Springfield Montessori @ Jalan Suasa (near Diary farm)
          Mighty impressed with this Montessori. Angela , the person who showed me and my husband around, was the only one among the 3 Montessori centres i visited, to explain in depth about the Montessori approach. And it's the most \"authentic\" All 5 montessori curriculum are practiced here and it's the only one with vertical grouping of the children (eg the older and younger child \"works\" together). The materials are well kept and in good condition too. But i'm most impressed with how passionate she is about Montessori and her illustration on how it is applied , which goes beyond the standard Montessori materials. Eg, she shared with us how one parent gave a gift of a lamp shaped like a big egg. So she pretended it was an ostrich egg to the class, described what is an ostrich, brought in the topic of an emu, and then subsequently asked the children to go back and seek knowledge from daddy/mummy on the difference between an ostrich and emu, why they always stick their hands in the sands etc etc. She also brought us out to the outdoor area, where it so happened that a bird was building an nest in the Little Tikes basketball structure. She shared with us that she brought children out to observe the bird in action from a distance, explain why she had to cordon off the area for now (eg the bird will abandon the nest if they smell human scent on it), input information on why some birds build nests as round, some as ovals, what is the opening for etc etc.
          I really love the way she expresses herself,her enthusiasm in imparting knowledge, and observing certain mundane things which we take for granted or fail to note, and incorporating it to impart knowledge to the children in such a fun way, rather than structured. That's how i want learning for my child to be, rather than in a structured, predictable, and boring manner (which i believed that's the way most of us were brought up)
          However, one grouse is the play mat. It's a big mat with a red round circle drawn to denote the play area. However, mat do look rather dirty with some skid marks. A bit eikky to imagine my son lying on it to play. šŸ˜›
          Area is big and clean. Well ventilated with no aircon. Class size also seems very personable. Understand that there's around 15 children currently with 3 directress (2 english speaking, 1 chinese). However, in the afternoon when i went, only saw 3 children.
          Fees are not cheap though. For a 5 days a week 3 hour program, it cost $1500 for a term of 10 weeks! (*faint!). No subsidy either as it's not a childcare. And there are no meals provided too. The parents would have to bring their own prepared food, for the directress to feed the children.

I'm really in a dilemma whether to bite the bullet and send him in here. On one hand, i believe the montessori approach of \"unstructured learning\" is more suitable for my son and will cultivate his interest as he is quite strong headed and doesn't like to be taught the traditional input way. However, on the other hand, the cost is ghastly and it's only for 3 hours.
          I would also like my son to be in a CC setting, where he can learn to feed himself, settle himself to sleep etc and generally be more independent. Currently, he's too cosseted and overprotected by my ILs & hubby, eg not allowing my son to walk for more than 10 mins for fear of him hurting his tender soles nor allow him to mess up and feed himself even he expressed interest in self feeding. Drives me a bit nuts! Now my son no longer has any interest to take the spoon as and quietly be spoon fed .I feel their overprotectiveness is detrimental to the natural development of my boy. :stupid:

Alternatively is to send my son to a half day cc and then let him attend the 2 days a week Montessori program. Any views on whether a 2 day a week, 3 hours Montessori will still be effective?

Is there any current review on the MMI @ Phoenix too?

Kabby

poppyqueen:
            Hi hi!

I'm really in a dilemma whether to bite the bullet and send him in here. On one hand, i believe the montessori approach of \"unstructured learning\" is more suitable for my son and will cultivate his interest as he is quite strong headed and doesn't like to be taught the traditional input way. However, on the other hand, the cost is ghastly and it's only for 3 hours.
            I would also like my son to be in a CC setting, where he can learn to feed himself, settle himself to sleep etc and generally be more independent. Currently, he's too cosseted and overprotected by my ILs & hubby, eg not allowing my son to walk for more than 10 mins for fear of him hurting his tender soles nor allow him to mess up and feed himself even he expressed interest in self feeding. Drives me a bit nuts! Now my son no longer has any interest to take the spoon as and quietly be spoon fed .I feel their overprotectiveness is detrimental to the natural development of my boy. :stupid:

Alternatively is to send my son to a half day cc and then let him attend the 2 days a week Montessori program. Any views on whether a 2 day a week, 3 hours Montessori will still be effective?

Is there any current review on the MMI @ Phoenix too?
            thanks for sharing! seems like the third one sounds the best too! they have 2 days a week kind of programme?

how old is your son now? my dd is 14mth old. She wants to hold the spoon herself too, and she loves to finger feed finger food (ie anything not porridge or soupy). But it is super messy. I guess I am only partial Montessori here cos I let her try feeding herself, but only the last portion in the bowl.

Cos if she starts with the full bowl, her control of the spoon is not that great yet and it will result in flinging motions, sending the porridge or soupy rice flying all over the place, onto the sofa etc. I feed her half of it then allow her to continue herself for the remaining bit, at least, not that much wastage of food and not that messy. šŸ™‚

poppyqueen

Hi kabalevsky,

My son is just 1 months older than yours. šŸ™‚

Yup, they have 2, 3,4 days program at $875,$1125 and $1325 for a term of 10 weeks too.
              I just wonder whether 2 days will be sufficient?

Hehe, i don't let my son self-feed when the bowl is full too. Firstly, the meal is just scopped up and i'm would always test-taste to ensure it's not too hot. Secondly, he has no interest in fiddling with the spoon yet. He has a more pressing need to fulfill his hunger ~Lol~ . It's only up to the point where i see that he's quite satiated that i'll hold the spoon out to him to take and \"pretend-play\" eating with the food. He doesn't know how to hold it the correct way though. He always use the convex side to scoop and then put into his mouth to munch. It's so adorable to see him pretending to munch away while i knew nothing much was in his mouth. Children.. :lol:

Kabby

poppyqueen:
                Hi kabalevsky,

My son is just 1 months older than yours. šŸ™‚

Yup, they have 2, 3,4 days program at $875,$1125 and $1325 for a term of 10 weeks too.
                I just wonder whether 2 days will be sufficient?

Hehe, i don't let my son self-feed when the bowl is full too. Firstly, the meal is just scopped up and i'm would always test-taste to ensure it's not too hot. Secondly, he has no interest in fiddling with the spoon yet. He has a more pressing need to fulfill his hunger ~Lol~ . It's only up to the point where i see that he's quite satiated that i'll hold the spoon out to him to take and \"pretend-play\" eating with the food. He doesn't know how to hold it the correct way though. He always use the convex side to scoop and then put into his mouth to munch. It's so adorable to see him pretending to munch away while i knew nothing much was in his mouth. Children.. :lol:
                My dd's coming to 15mth, so maybe our kids' age are quite close actually. Yours born in Feb also?

Ya, they are so so adorable. :love:

At this stage at least. I hope she'll be easier to handle than the boys at the terrible twos stage. šŸ™‚

poppyqueen

Mine's in Jan šŸ˜„

I don't know leh..My DS is my first and only child currently..nothing to compare. But i know he's quite a handful. :lol:

Is your DS your only child too?

I am really keen! I am still doing my reading up slowly, squeezing in some time each day aft the kids are asleep. Am inspired by Jules also. She has read and shared a lot here as well. šŸ™‚

Jul04 is an extremely keen parent and also definitely a fast learner. :salute:
                    I am reading \"Tomorrow's Child\" magazine also. Quite impressed that there are schools that carry on Montessori right up to Grade 12. Wow, if only there were such in Singapore and not expensive. Just dreaming....
                    Do know that not everything written can apply in our current day and time for much has
                    evolved since the time the writings were published. Cultural Studies extend up till Geography
                    hence it can go up that far. In our dot, this isn't something i'd place my bets on for i cannot seem
                    to believe that it can be catered to the typical Singaporean love for academic drilling and
                    performance. Look at all the enrichment centres growing like mushrooms out there! :faint:
                    While there are children who do indeed need the extra external coaching, a good handful
                    are just placed to really come out tops! Different strokes for different folks. šŸ˜‰

I am already quite happy that the Teach Less Learn More implemented by MOE is complementing
                    similar holistic learning experiences my children are enjoying now even in Primary School. :love:
                    They definitely learn a host of other skills that textbook-learning cannot provide.
                    If I can dream on, I'd want to set up a school myself. šŸ™‚
                    Aaah.. definitely something more tangible ... so :ugogirl:
                    I've had that dream for the longest time. :rotflmao:
                    It always ends up the same.. that at the end of it...
                    i wake up and it still is a dream. :lol:
                    Thanks for answering my other Qs!
                    Most welcome. :celebrate:
                    I also read about implementing the Montessori principles and beliefs in the home. So i am trying that out in baby steps. Whatever that I also believe in.
                    Baby steps it is then! :celebrate:
                    Also read on Waldorf and Charlotte Mason. I know :offtopic: so won't elaborate here. But I am full of awe... Trying to incorporate what I myself believe in, and trying out, but also trying to make sure it is not in conflict but in harmony so that my kids don't end up confused.
                    In the absence of a prepared Montessori environment, you can still bring Montessori into your
                    home and your child's life by allowing for independence and the exploration of learning. The
                    mundane things we do daily and take for granted like sorting utensils, pegging socks, using
                    chopsticks, working with lock and key are some of the most beneficial activities for children.
                    Allow for independence when you can and invite them to share those mundane stuff you do
                    and you'd be surprised at how much they can actually learn from those daily teachable
                    moments.
                    alas, my ds1 is already 8yo. some things i wish I had done earlier! it's already my 3rd kid and last one liao... hope not too late for my oldest... some of the changes did have positive effect.
                    You sure it's the last one? :evil:
                    your kids must be really fortunate to have you as mom! you probably did all the right things from the start! šŸ™‚
                    Being a parent and educator does not equate to the same thing.
                    That said however the educator part does come in useful as added advantage.
                    So, i share what i know and what i can here when i have the opportunity to. šŸ˜„
                    As a parent, i have my trial and error days.. (still do) and i'm still learning as i go along. :hugs:

seablue

Hi, my girl is 2 this yr and I am considering to place my girl in Josiah Montessori for full day. I was told montessori children hv more difficult in settling in primary school and they are less vocal? Can anyone share with me?

I hv visited the josiah millenia. Children are very independent and well behaved and teachers look stern too. Just want to justify if its worth paying $1200 every month.

poppyqueen:
                        Hi hi! Just a short intro ..I've been lurking around this forum and looking for a PG or childcare for my son when he's 18 months. Really love KS parents! A wealth of info!

Hi there poppyqueen and welcome to the Montessori thread. :celebrate:

Yer nick reminds me of prince poppycock on America's Got Talent!
                        Love him! :please: Who would reali know this rocker's alter ego is
                        reali a budding opera prince! :salute:
                        poppyqueen:
                        And Buds, been following your threads. Really love your sense of humour as well as generous sharing of knowledge! Been following your contributions to the Yew Tee/ CCk/Bukit panjang thread as <surprise surprise>, i'm staying in bukit panjang! :lol: Sad to see you have moved North. Otherwise, i would love to join your private Montessori group session too. :evil:
                        Yes! Yes! Buds here! šŸ˜‰
                        Thanks for your note. šŸ˜„ Very touched.. :please:
                        Just to caution you that i AM this gila in reality too! :rotflmao:
                        Yah, used to stay there and recce to find the good centres there like
                        looking for a needle in a haystack boy. :roll: In the end, taught them the
                        Montessori part myself and shoo-ed them off to kindy. Best decision ever. Now,
                        gotta do ground work all over again for North side. :frustrated: He's only 3 mths i know. :lol:

If i may be honest, the Hongsan stretch reali didn't leave that much of a good impression with
                        me and i have similar sentiments as per your feedback posting on your preschool shopping
                        there. Aaaahh.. :idea:... Springfield Montessori... this one i've not seen but from how you
                        have detailed it, i am already impressed. Since i do share similar thoughts on your other
                        two finds... i suppose our expectations of a centre are somewhere there lar hor. :lol:

Is this Springfield pricey.. cos it sounds pretty branded you know... šŸ˜‰...
                        and when you say near Dairy Farm, where exactly is it?
                        poppyqueen:
                        Can also dear. :hugs: Better than nothing but instead you're trying to get the best of both
                        worlds for your little one. šŸ˜‰ Buttercups Monte in Holland does a kindy approach but
                        heard it offers longer hours. Do check that out if you're keen. Price i think should be
                        around 1200 thereabouts... but hor dunno per month or per term. Sorli. :salute:
                        But i do know i prefer kindy set-ups rather than the childcare ones. Aniwaes,
                        for stay-home-parent like me i honestly do not need the care part at this
                        point.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 106 / 165

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127