All About Montessori
i wished i have the courage to go Part time or even quit my job…
but i dun think i can be financially dependent leh…
I’ll work harder this 2 year then see how…
maybe i will consider PTWM then… -
sunsweet:
All the best, ya!i wished i have the courage to go Part time or even quit my job..
but i dun think i can be financially dependent leh..
I'll work harder this 2 year then see how..
maybe i will consider PTWM then...
Keep in touch! -
Hi buds,
Know Montessori stuff doesn imply will know all Montessori schools lah..soomum:
Hi buds,
As u know Montessori stuff pretty well, do u have any idea about CS Montessori at Tiong Bahru? What should i expect in a Montessori Playgroup & Workgroup? I hope to find out more so as to find a good Montessori school for my gal. Thank u in advance!
There were some comments on CS in earlier postings here... mebbe you
could refer to earlier postings/comments in this thread?
Ermmm... what do YOU expect in a Montessori sch?
I'm searching for a school for my child and like sunny am clueless on which teaching method to sign my gal up. whether if montessori or non-montessori method school to choose..realise there are so many concerns just looking for a suitable pre-school - convenient if not near tg pagar, is it worth paying the $ and travelling the distance, what should i be looking out for/expecting from the school?
have read your posts to sunsweet and found them very useful and informative. lets me have a little bit of idea but still am lost if i were to go to say CS montessori and ask what the pre-nursery programme they have... how will i know if their prog is truly montessori...or rather if i go to a school what sort of prog is good to cover what a pre-schooler should learn?
can anyone help? -
sunsweet:
So young? Where got...so young take school bus?
humm... 1st its difficult to settle them in school how to make them take school bus?? keke
eh i better not diviate too far from the topic ..
Both my girls were like begging for school transport
since the early years. They liked the idea of being
with their friends in the bus - like going kai-kai like
that lah... and without MUMMY! Mebbe they're sick
of me liao! Hahahaa! Another factor is also that we
began travelling for vacations since they were babies..
So i am guessing, being the travel babies they were,
they relished the idea of getting to do so on a daily
basis... ala daily vacation rides. :roll:
Not wanting to deviate too far from the main
Montessori topic, let's just throw in some of
the pros... cos i am positive of this option.
You on the other hand can list your cons..
Since you have your reservations..
Benefits of transport taking for pre-schoolers
1.Ultimately it will be the convenience.
2.Not putting the burden on an elderly.
3.Rain or shine, your child will arrive on time.
4.Hot weather - bus got aircon.
5.Cold and rainy weather - children all in safe shelter.
6.Rainy weather - no need to pack school shoes and extra clothes
for fear of them getting wet.
7.School buses get to go right into the building entrance to drop children
off to the respective teachers in charge. Teachers will bring children up
to the centre.
8.Encourage good schooling routine for children.
9.Less separation anxiety for parents (especially...),
cos they don't have to go to the school to wait, peep,
worry and also kaypoh.. For SAHM or PTWM can sleep
in or get the housework done by the time the children
come home from school. Or ideally, some time for
\"mummy time\" to do the stuff you like, shopping,
movies, hi-tea, catching up with friends... or mebbe
exercise at the gym?
10.Encourage independence in children.
11.Encourage interaction/mingling with other friends.
12.Parents don't need to carry the children's school bags.
13.In the long run, also cheaper (for some) - cos sometimes
when we're late, the arm sure itchy to flag for taxi. During heavy
rain and thunderstorm oso will flag taxi... mebbe need to call for
taxi oso... (and will still get wet no matter what..) -
soomum:
Hi buds,
Know Montessori stuff doesn imply will know all Montessori schools lah..buds:
[quote=\"soomum\"]
Hi buds,
As u know Montessori stuff pretty well, do u have any idea about CS Montessori at Tiong Bahru? What should i expect in a Montessori Playgroup & Workgroup? I hope to find out more so as to find a good Montessori school for my gal. Thank u in advance!
I'm searching for a school for my child and like sunny am clueless on which teaching method to sign my gal up. whether if montessori or non-montessori method school to choose..realise there are so many concerns just looking for a suitable pre-school - convenient if not near tg pagar, is it worth paying the $ and travelling the distance, what should i be looking out for/expecting from the school?
have read your posts to sunsweet and found them very useful and informative. lets me have a little bit of idea but still am lost if i were to go to say CS montessori and ask what the pre-nursery programme they have... how will i know if their prog is truly montessori...or rather if i go to a school what sort of prog is good to cover what a pre-schooler should learn?
can anyone help?[/quote]Heyya soomum,
Since your questions will surely require extensive answers, i will post up
reply to you again soon... (to help give you some idea). Please share
your child's age, in the meantime.. Tks.
soomum:
hi hi
Hi buds,
can anyone help?
we are in the same boat. :celebrate: -
Heyya soomum,
Hi buds,soomum:
[quote=\"buds\"]
Know Montessori stuff doesn imply will know all Montessori schools lah..
can anyone help?
Since your questions will surely require extensive answers, i will post up
reply to you again soon... (to help give you some idea). Please share
your child's age, in the meantime.. Tks.
[/quote]Thanks buds!
My gal is turning 3 next yr. -
sunny:
hi sunny,
hi hisoomum:
Hi buds,
can anyone help?
we are in the same boat. :celebrate:
yes :oops: -
sunny:
...we are in the same boat. :celebrate:
Which kind?
Aquarius or Star Virgo?
Star Cruise shud be the best right? -
Hokay people, in general mainstream kindergarten or Montessori centre
they both will have their strengths... Similar to the fact that there is no
perfect job... perfect life... perfect man... it applies to the same - there
is no perfect school. In every office there can be the spoil market types.
In every life will have some rotten apples. Of all the fish in the sea... or
all the apples in the orchard, there will be some rotten ones.
Yes... there are rotten men!
..... and before you flame me :x .....
there are rotten women as well (to be fair)...
No one is perfect hence no place can be perfect.
Cause, a place is managed by people...
We give some, we lose some, okie..
Now back to business.
If you prefer routine...
If you prefer shorter hours...
If you prefer standard yet packed curriculum...
If you prefer to outsource for enrichment than
stay in one place for learning...
If you prefer slightly firm-er teachers...
If you prefer more written form of evidence of work / learning...
And most important, if you prefer CHEAPER... or mebbe a better
word would be... a more AFFORDABLE place of education for your
children... (well... being cheapskate isn't exactly appropriate lah huh..)
All in favour of the above, say aye... and go get kiddie registered for
a kindergarten of choice. Preferably, not too far. Travel distance is of
essence here people... especially when you're talking about a small
child going to school on a daily basis. If you're planning further than
within your area of residence - transport taking better.. Place should
be brightly lit, have learning corners, have own toilets and bonus if got
own playground area, have nice and conducive learning environment,
fairly interesting and up to date curriculum to prepare for P1 (hey...
if you're planning to stay faithful to one centre - will be good to know)
and most importantly you have checked that the teacher (no need all
the teachers lah... cos not always possible...) is a person you know
your children will feel safe with, have fun with and learn happily with...
Now, as with a Montessori centre...
If you prefer your children to learn at own pace...
Not cos they're slow but more that they can take their time but yet still
able to make it through in the end...
If you prefer un-structured purposeful work...
Not that you dislike routine, but more that they can also learn life skills
that is beyond the usual classroom...
If you prefer to have those gracious, non-threatening environment and
patient teachers who should not say words like NO and YOU naughty kid!..
Not that you dislike firm teachers, but just that you want your children to
be able to embrace learning to come from their hearts (and not forced...)
- IT IS POSSIBLE!!!
If you prefer to allow freedom of movement and the flexibility of learning,
and not that you want them to be freedom of speech kinda leaders... but
more to being confident of themselves and know that its ok to... like what
they like and do what they do, but within the constraints of certain set
limitations (to respect others and property)...
If you prefer more hands-on work will benefit your child due to the tactile
experiences, and not that you dislike paperwork or that your child cannot
write...
If you prefer to have all the necessary knowledge be imparted to your
children under one roof, cos Montessori covers Language & Literacy,
concrete Math, Sensorial activities, Cutural Studies (Early Science) and
Practical Life (Life Skills)... Not that you mind swapping centres ... but
more to... it wud be better to be on track with only one school of thought..
ala stick-to-one-kinda-man-till-death-do-us-part.. (ahakz! :lol: )
And finally, if you prefer to spend your wealth on constructive learning -
either you can afford, will try to afford at all cost, or mebbe can try try
for awhile until cannot afford... and not that you want to brag to people
you are the high class kind, but you believe in taking that different
approach to learning (other than rote learning / teacher directed learning)...
..... by all means, swing by your nearest Montessori centre .....
Buuuuutttt.... having said all that, regardless of the centre you will
eventually select out of the many choices you have yet to shortlist,
it's really an effective teacher who will groom the children.....
I received this on my 1st Teacher's Day celebration...
it was a blue mirrored frame that was engraved...
A good teacher explains,
A great teacher demonstrates,
But.. only a superior teacher INSPIRES.
Though the sender didn't clearly state which
kind of teacher i was, i'm hoping i'm the one
who inspired.... :love: :oops: :siam:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.