All About Montessori
jul04:
However, I notice that the \"pure\" montessori method is very difficult, very tedious, & almost impossible to follow in our lives unless we intend to establish some Montessori commune! I mean, how do you make sure they have small furniture to work on, all the tools at hand, all the proper equipment like real plates & crockery & gym equipment. I'll bet what Spore Montessoris do is just adopt the \"academic\" things like the alphabets, some toys to insert the cylinders stuff (dunno the name lah :oops: ), & the counting beads for Maths right? I doubt they have the frame to practice clothes buttoning, or the gym equipment. As in.. the \"lifestyle\" bits? Right?
Just to share, my kid goes to a montessori school (i think it's quite authentic cos all their teachers are fully montessori trained, and I did sit in for parent-accompanied weekly class before this and got to witness their equipment, the trays for fine motor skills etc) and they really have buttoning in the syllabus. Actually that's my favourite part of the syllabus - the cultural lifeskills part.
jul04:
Agree with buds that there is a wide spectrum of montessori centres in Singapore. Personally, I feel the fees can provide a good gauge. Most times, for preschools, you pay peanuts really get monkeys.[1) What do Spore Montessoris do in their curriculum? I suppose most don't follow the full Montessori \"lifestyle\" but just use bits like Phonics, Math, some toys like the Ahem.. insert cylinder thing? They don't use the gym gear & other things?
jul04:
I was very surprised with how much they could cover. cos of the low teacher-student ratio (about 1:5 in my case) and they teach phonics one-on-one so the teacher could tell me exactly how far my kid has progressed. they will teach them more once they show that they can remember the old ones! love this own-pace thing.[2) If I enroll the boy into a Montessori playgroup/kindy.. it'll be like only 3h. After discounting the time taken for assembly, queuing up for food, toilet time, washing hands.. etc miscellaneous stuff, what time is there left for Montessori teaching? Not to mention those 1h or 1.5h playgroups for over 18-mth olds.. got time to do anything meh???
jul04:
Most kids learn alphabet before phonics. my kid only started learning phonics in this montessori school and so far there is no confusion... I was also surprised. some leapfrog dvds differentiate it as \"A says Air\" so it's like what sound the letter makes... so can differentiate.[2) I think they do Phonics. But my boy doesn't know his ABCs,.. wouldn't learning Phonics now confuse him?
:celebrate: -
They start with reasons of pure passion (for the quality teaching method and environment) and somehow wherever i went... they would eventually end with reasons of commercial passion. Bwaah.

Sigh.. this is true everywherebuds:
Er.. no :oops: I told you I'm a beginner. I'm trying to find out a bit more abt Montessori before I go recce the centres. I must know what to look out for (aka checklist :evil: ) right?
Ekkh.. *buzzer sound* :lol: Wrong! :politebleah:jul04:
However, I notice that the \"pure\" montessori method is very difficult, very tedious, & almost impossible to follow in our lives unless we intend to establish some Montessori commune! I mean, how do you make sure they have small furniture to work on, all the tools at hand, all the proper equipment like real plates & crockery & gym equipment. I'll bet what Spore Montessoris do is just adopt the \"academic\" things like the alphabets, some toys to insert the cylinders stuff (dunno the name lah :oops: ), & the counting beads for Maths right? I doubt they have the frame to practice clothes buttoning, or the gym equipment. As in.. the \"lifestyle\" bits? Right?
One question.. have you visited any Montessori centres yet? :idea:
But.. for reasons of commercial passion (& to satisfy KS S'porean parents), I just assumed that they just equip themselves with the tools most necessary for obvious \"academic\" learning & skip those peripherals that are not so tangible lor. Not true?buds:
No lah no lah, I BELIEVE
Hey, no worries... i totally get what you mean. :hugs:jul04:
Aiyoh.. I sound hopelessly blur & inarticulate coz I dunno the terms! :x Anyway.. the point I'm getting at is :
Know why?
Cause you are like almost all other parents i have spoken to (some at great length too)..
parents who were sceptics like me... who went, \"Go playgroup play masak-masak arh? :?
Cheh.. at home oso can.....! :lol:
What I meant was that I'm not familiar with the technical terms so it's hard for me to express myself without sounding like an idiot :oops: buds:
Hmm.. got checklist on the \"full range of equipment\" or not?
Wow. Blanket sweep question! Cannot answer!jul04:
[1) What do Spore Montessoris do in their curriculum? I suppose most don't follow the full Montessori \"lifestyle\" but just use bits like Phonics, Math, some toys like the Ahem.. insert cylinder thing? They don't use the gym gear & other things?
For each set up is built according
to its own space constraints, to its mission/purpose, to serve certain services that does
benefit children in the name of the methodology. For example, some Montessori schools
are run as per childcare, kindergarten and/or enrichment hence each set up has its
own conditions and limitations of service. And ehem... cost is also another factor.
The materials are expensive... teachers are also expensive... by that i mean good ones
and by that again... i mean, teachers who believe... that learning can come naturally
from the heart.. :love:buds:
So can really do the wonderful Montessori transformation in a 3h class?
Yes yes... your questions and concerns are ALL valid. Valid cause in Singapore we rushjul04:
[2) If I enroll the boy into a Montessori playgroup/kindy.. it'll be like only 3h. After discounting the time taken for assembly, queuing up for food, toilet time, washing hands.. etc miscellaneous stuff, what time is there left for Montessori teaching? Not to mention those 1h or 1.5h playgroups for over 18-mth olds.. got time to do anything meh???
everything and try to do everything we can within what little time we have.. this is
one of the constraints. :roll: I have done the 1.5s and the 3s... and am happy to note
that yes, time may not be of an advantage... but when we have smaller group of
children to work with (small teacher:student ratio)... have complete set of materials
to work with... a prepared environment & curriculum... throw in a knowledgable directress
and may i add... who believes and has faith in the method... it works all on its own...
Here i'm saying... i believe and because of that belief it slowly became a passion
that i have faith in cos i've had personal hand at it and can tell you that it works.
We work the curriculum not the curriculum works us... cos then,
we'd be chasin' waterfalls ain't it? With small group of normalized children,
guiding & observing them... facilitating the programme becomes manageable
on certain days... easy.
jul04:
Not necessarily. As mentioned above, with good educators... much can be accomplished[3) Does this mean I shd enroll the boy into a full-day childcare to reap the benefits of Montessori \"lifestyle'?
even with limitations of time... and not something that we have a choice with cos we are
but only; the employees.jul04:
Yes we do... And that goes to answer for all the questions in (4).[4) With all the time constraint mentioned above, do Directresses really take the time to do what you did? Be very aware of children's sensitive periods & go all into the country & state maps, costumes, languages etc? Don't they need to take care of the other kids?

Coz I dun wanna blur blur send my boy to a 3h kindy, thinking he'll undergo the great transformation but end up wasting my money & his time coz it's \"dragonfly touching the water\"
So.. would a trial lesson allow me to make up my mind, or do I need to sign up for a term to know? :?jul04:
[Lastly, I though abt enrolling my boy into a parent-accompanied Montessori playgroup on weekends.
Fantastic start i say.. :idea:
Parent AND child will get to slowly learn more about the learning approach and both
can have the time and option to gauge if Montessori is indeed what you want and
would like for yourself and your child.jul04:
Yes... and it will leave you wanting more at the end of each week's lesson.[1) But it's only 1/1.5h.. again.. enough time to learn?

Enough time to learn... enough time to believe... :love:buds:
My boy's just 18 mths old. So.. he doesn't know any alphabets yet, & of course, me lazy mummy haven't been teaching him. But I think he does know \"E', \"O\" & maybe \"A\"... I'm scared he's slow like his mummy & start telling me \"E\" is \"eh\", then how????
Montessori is about the 5 areas ain't it?jul04:
[2) I think they do Phonics. But my boy doesn't know his ABCs,.. wouldn't learning Phonics now confuse him?
You can do the alphabets and let the centre do the sounds.
Whaddya think of this arrangement?
If you work together, it can work. :celebrate:jul04:
Screw? :rotflmao: Naaah.. the child will only be getting loads more vocabulary i say! :idea:[3) Would learning a bit of Zoophonics now.. then Montessori phonics in pre-nursery & nursery,.. then Letterland or whatever phonics in kindy screw him up on reading & writing for life?
Zoophonics and Jollyphonics have interesting hand-gestures (actions) to accompany
the letter sounds. Letterland has colourful & fun characters plus beautiful music/songs
to accompany the learning of the letter sounds...
And finally.... Montessori has complete resources and by complete i do mean...
every step of the way... level by level... to complete the much needed skill of
reading and writing to equip the child for life.. :love:
For single letter sounds honestly, it is fine... the only part that needs work is
the transition from learning the sounds with characters and songs into the
actual print.
:!: :nailbite: :faint:I'll give you some more
homework soon and then.......
Of course....................
I WILL TEST YOU......................... :evil:
My turn to ask the questions. :rubhands:
QUACK! :lol: -
toddles:
Care to share on your kid's school? Is it in Bishan? :lol:jul04:
Just to share, my kid goes to a montessori school (i think it's quite authentic cos all their teachers are fully montessori trained, and I did sit in for parent-accompanied weekly class before this and got to witness their equipment, the trays for fine motor skills etc) and they really have buttoning in the syllabus. Actually that's my favourite part of the syllabus - the cultural lifeskills part.
jul04:
Agree with buds that there is a wide spectrum of montessori centres in Singapore. Personally, I feel the fees can provide a good gauge. Most times, for preschools, you pay peanuts really get monkeys.[1) What do Spore Montessoris do in their curriculum? I suppose most don't follow the full Montessori \"lifestyle\" but just use bits like Phonics, Math, some toys like the Ahem.. insert cylinder thing? They don't use the gym gear & other things?
jul04:
I was very surprised with how much they could cover. cos of the low teacher-student ratio (about 1:5 in my case) and they teach phonics one-on-one so the teacher could tell me exactly how far my kid has progressed. they will teach them more once they show that they can remember the old ones! love this own-pace thing.[2) If I enroll the boy into a Montessori playgroup/kindy.. it'll be like only 3h. After discounting the time taken for assembly, queuing up for food, toilet time, washing hands.. etc miscellaneous stuff, what time is there left for Montessori teaching? Not to mention those 1h or 1.5h playgroups for over 18-mth olds.. got time to do anything meh???
jul04:
Most kids learn alphabet before phonics. my kid only started learning phonics in this montessori school and so far there is no confusion... I was also surprised. some leapfrog dvds differentiate it as \"A says Air\" so it's like what sound the letter makes... so can differentiate.[2) I think they do Phonics. But my boy doesn't know his ABCs,.. wouldn't learning Phonics now confuse him?
Erm.. I agree that paying peanuts for a gd school is too gd to be true. But we can be overcharged too. Being miserly & calculative, I wanna get my money's worth
Hmm.. I can't help worrying abt the Phonics thing coz my boy doesn't know his ABCs. And the parent-child class I enquired abt uses Zoophonics song. So.. I was a bit hesitant. -
Nopes, itβs in the east.
I think kids are more adaptable than we think and can absorb different types of teaching.
18 months is still very young. the centre my kid goes to only accepts children from 2.5-3 yrs (N1) onwards, so no worries that he doesnβt know the alphabet yet! -
:oops: :oops:
Fwaah! Someone goin' pretty fast there aye?autumnbronze:
Yes it does, Buds. Thanks a lot :celebrate:
Have started DS with 3 words blending so this will come in handy

For his age, he's quite advanced... then again with the mommy
very ONz... i'm not surprised.
Lemme noe if you require
any assistance, k?
Actually no. I am abt 5 mths behind due to 'certain circumstances.'
Had set target for him to read by this Feb .... but now pushing it to Aug or EOY hopefully ....
He's got a good grasp of the individual letter sounds now, 'cept the 'r', 'c' and 'q' (difficult for him to pronounce) - but he is improving.
So I will go ahead with the 3 letter words blending.
I will def require assistance somewhere along the way from the resident expert. Will surely ask when necessary.
Thanks sista :hugs:
:celebrate: :celebrate: -
Hi toddles
I'm only looking for a school to send him to when he hits 2.5 yrs next yr. I definitely don't obsess over him knowings his ABCs now, just that I'm worried whether he'll confuse ABCs & Phonics if I send him for the weekend class.
Sidetrack : He still cannot call me Mummy :stupid: -
Hey jul04,
why dun you go to the schools and see first? U usually will change your mind after visiting different schools..
jul04:
It's okay... some little boys like to take their time, then suddenly there'll be a word explosion. my dd had her word explosion only around 24 months...Hi toddles
I'm only looking for a school to send him to when he hits 2.5 yrs next yr. I definitely don't obsess over him knowings his ABCs now, just that I'm worried whether he'll confuse ABCs & Phonics if I send him for the weekend class.
Sidetrack : He still cannot call me Mummy :stupid:
smurf:
Yup, I intend to go for a trial parent-accompanied class at YKidz & Totsville - when I get down to it hahaHey jul04,
why dun you go to the schools and see first? U usually will change your mind after visiting different schools..
toddles:
My boy already had his word explosion - car, bus, bike, brush, light, moon, rabbit, banana. clock, pohpoh, gonggong, papa, jiajia, gorgor, pour, press, chair, stuck... I think 50 words already, but he doesn't wanna call meIt's okay... some little boys like to take their time, then suddenly there'll be a word explosion. my dd had her word explosion only around 24 months...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.