All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.5k Views 1 Watching
      toddles

jul04:
      Hi toddles

I'm only looking for a school to send him to when he hits 2.5 yrs next yr. I definitely don't obsess over him knowings his ABCs now, just that I'm worried whether he'll confuse ABCs & Phonics if I send him for the weekend class.

Sidetrack : He still cannot call me Mummy :stupid:
      It's okay... some little boys like to take their time, then suddenly there'll be a word explosion. my dd had her word explosion only around 24 months...

šŸ˜‰

jul04

smurf:
        Hey jul04,

why dun you go to the schools and see first? U usually will change your mind after visiting different schools.. šŸ˜‰
        Yup, I intend to go for a trial parent-accompanied class at YKidz & Totsville - when I get down to it haha

jul04

toddles:
          It's okay... some little boys like to take their time, then suddenly there'll be a word explosion. my dd had her word explosion only around 24 months...

šŸ˜‰
          My boy already had his word explosion - car, bus, bike, brush, light, moon, rabbit, banana. clock, pohpoh, gonggong, papa, jiajia, gorgor, pour, press, chair, stuck... I think 50 words already, but he doesn't wanna call me 😢

jul04:
            My boy already had his word explosion - ... I think 50 words already, but he doesn't wanna call me 😢

Aaaaah... :idea: ... but you can trick him into saying it. :evil:

Show him... say... your watch... or if you wear glasses and you
            casually ask aloud if someone can fetch it for you... after which
            when he comes back to you with it you casually ask again, \"Wow
            that was fast! Thanks dear! Now whose watch is this?\" You see...
            The answer is either, his name or having to address you as mummy. šŸ˜‰
            Go at it a few times and you'll see what i mean with this mean
            trick. :lol: Btw, has he called \"daddy\" yet? It's easier for children
            to say out those hard consonant sounds like the b-uhs /b/ and the
            d-uhs /d/ as compared to the rrrrs /r/ and the k-uh /k/ sounds... šŸ˜„

smurf:
              Hey jul04, why dun you go to the schools and see first? U usually will change your mind after visiting different schools.. šŸ˜‰

You see smurf, her mission is frankly to at least be able to \"sound\" articulate
              when she goes down to the actual visiting, so that they (the centres) buck
              up their idea a bit and pay attention that this mummy \"knows\" what she's
              talking about & wants her money's worth. :nunchuk: So don't pray pray. šŸ˜‰

toddles:
                Nopes, it's in the east.

Heyya toddles, you eventually went ahead with the centre issit?
                The first choice you mentioned to me when we met up? šŸ˜‰

Actually no. I am abt 5 mths behind due to 'certain circumstances.' šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜‰

It's understandable... ya know... citing reasons of lethargy and all... then also
                  the reasons of lazy and all will also sink in as we let things slide more and more
                  every day? :lol:
                  Had set target for him to read by this Feb .... but now pushing it to Aug or EOY hopefully ....šŸ™
                  Kudos. It's good to set targets as SAHP (stay-at-home-parents) for we can
                  then keep up with what we intended to do and somehow feel a little guilty
                  when we pass the target stage a bit and we start to gancheong a bit... :lol:
                  He's got a good grasp of the individual letter sounds now, 'cept the 'r', 'c' and 'q' (difficult for him to pronounce) - but he is improving.
                  Good grasp? I'm sure of it! :celebrate:

Good gawd girl! He already speaks in clear strings
                  of sentences or should i say short stories... :love:

For the /r/ sound, i prefer the vibrating sound of it
                  instead of the softer sound you can hear in the
                  LeapFrog ones. Roll the tongue when it comes
                  to the rrrrrrs i say. :celebrate:

As for the /c/, mine says /t/ instead... so when my
                  two DDs wanted milk they said, \"Milt pweease..\" :please:
                  Not exactly correct pronunciation to a T but hey awfully cute!
                  They'd pronounce that as \"teeeyooot\" of course! :idea:

As for the /q/, try saying that as \"q\" makes the sound \"kooo..\"
                  For it is easier to grasp kooo...wail... (quail) and koooo... eeeen... (queen)..
                  as compared to when you say koowerh-ick for quick... get what i mean... šŸ˜‰

When we received our LeapFrog toys as presents when the DDs were
                  younger, each time they placed that letter into the fridge magnet slot,
                  they'd correct the sound while singing the LeapFrog sang, \"Q says koo..
                  Q says koo... Every letter makes a sound and Q says koo.\" They adapt
                  well with reason. Try that out and see if you can smell success anytime
                  soon, sista. Easier for when you begin blending too. At least it was easier
                  for me lar.. :oops:
                  So I will go ahead with the 3 letter words blending.
                  Then, try not to cover the words that have those three letters in them.... yet.
                  To build up his confidence. šŸ˜‰
                  I will def require assistance somewhere along the way from the resident expert. Will surely ask when necessary.

Thanks sista :hugs:

:celebrate: :celebrate:
                  :whut: Resident Expert? :whut:

:siam: I don't give much of a doosh nor a hoot of Montessori authenticity for one.. :siam:

I have acquired knowledge from everywhere and it's all fun rojak i have in me, really.. :oops:

Children CAN have the best of bits of every little thing. šŸ˜‰
                  I'm not so staunch larr when it comes to learning methodologies.
                  I'm very flexible. Important thing is as long as it benefits the children. :celebrate:

You know what i mean, rite? :please:

jul04

jul04:

My boy already had his word explosion - ... I think 50 words already, but he doesn't wanna call me 😢

Aaaaah... :idea: ... but you can trick him into saying it. :evil:

Show him... say... your watch... or if you wear glasses and you
                    casually ask aloud if someone can fetch it for you... after which
                    when he comes back to you with it you casually ask again, \"Wow
                    that was fast! Thanks dear! Now whose watch is this?\" You see...
                    The answer is either, his name or having to address you as mummy. šŸ˜‰
                    Go at it a few times and you'll see what i mean with this mean
                    trick. :lol: Btw, has he called \"daddy\" yet? It's easier for children
                    to say out those hard consonant sounds like the b-uhs /b/ and the
                    d-uhs /d/ as compared to the rrrrs /r/ and the k-uh /k/ sounds... šŸ˜„

Er.. he's only 18 mths old lah 😐 How to do that?

But.. when Hubs asks him, \"Where is Mummy?\". Points finger at me. So he knows who I am what! He calls me Jiejie when he finally deigns to call me :stupid: Recently he seems to be calling me Papa too :clubmyself:

toddles:
                      Just to share, my kid goes to a montessori school (i think it's quite authentic cos all their teachers are fully montessori trained, and I did sit in for parent-accompanied weekly class before this and got to witness their equipment, the trays for fine motor skills etc) and they really have buttoning in the syllabus. Actually that's my favourite part of the syllabus - the cultural lifeskills part. šŸ™‚

Working with buttons, hooks and eyes, velcro belts and all that are indeed
                      great for little fingers to work on their fine motor skills. Apart from that, it
                      is also meant to inculcate independence in young children. After some time
                      working on those Dressing Frames, the children, some as young as 20mths
                      old can button like soooo daintily and perfectly it satisfies themselves! Yes.
                      One thing about the method is that the reward in itself is having success &
                      perfection in the activities they have started out on from when they didn't
                      even know how to in the beginning. Montessorian children are in a non-
                      threatening environment where learning can come naturally from the heart.
                      And... i always share with fellow parents that with the Montessori approach
                      learning is not only for the now... or to pursue only the academics but it is a
                      holistic learning approach that prepares a child for life. Dressing frames fall
                      into the area of Practical Life. šŸ˜‰
                      jul04:
                      1) What do Spore Montessoris do in their curriculum? I suppose most don't follow the full Montessori \"lifestyle\" but just use bits like Phonics, Math, some toys like the Ahem.. insert cylinder thing? They don't use the gym gear & other things?
                      Think i forgot to address the thingy here... it's called a Knobbed Cylinder.
                      They have four of those in a set. Each is different from the other... it helps
                      children to distinguish height... dimension... size... etc... and with constant
                      work on it, children as young as 18mths can fit in the knobs into the exact
                      hole without even blinking a sec.... for their senses and their perception of
                      size has perfected itself over time. The immense satisfaction they get from
                      successfully being able to accomplish the activities with the Knobbed Cylinders
                      is priceless. šŸ˜„
                      toddles:
                      Agree with buds that there is a wide spectrum of montessori centres in Singapore. Personally, I feel the fees can provide a good gauge. Most times, for preschools, you pay peanuts really get monkeys.
                      I'm not a monkey but seriously, i have acceeded to getting peanuts. :roll:
                      Throw in a cudn-care-less-management-ppl.... one can just go NUTz. :siao:
                      But i give my best. By that i mean, each and every time. šŸ˜„ The consolation
                      i DO get is that i truly learn A LOT through the different experiences.... just
                      filter them and take the good out of everything and make the bad ones a
                      reflection to do better the next time. The journey of learning experiences
                      were priceless for me. I'm still learning....
                      toddles:
                      I was very surprised with how much they could cover. cos of the low teacher-student ratio (about 1:5 in my case) and they teach phonics one-on-one so the teacher could tell me exactly how far my kid has progressed. they will teach them more once they show that they can remember the old ones! love this own-pace thing.
                      Yeah... love how personal it gets when it comes to this. The personal touch
                      is gratifying... especially after having to pay so much isn't it? :lol: As educators
                      the developmental progress offers more motivation to work each individual child.
                      We literally watch the children grow in knowledge every single time we get to
                      work with them. The satisfaction is immeasureable. :celebrate:

jul04:
                      2) I think they do Phonics. But my boy doesn't know his ABCs,.. wouldn't learning Phonics now confuse him?
                      toddles:
                      Most kids learn alphabet before phonics. my kid only started learning phonics in this montessori school and so far there is no confusion... I was also surprised. some leapfrog dvds differentiate it as \"A says Air\" so it's like what sound the letter makes... so can differentiate.
                      Ideally, kiddies SHOULD learn alphabets first prior to learning Phonics.
                      If the school does cover Phonics then the parents can perfect the alphabets
                      at home. There shouldn't be any confusion if done correctly. šŸ˜‰ No worries.

I agree with toddles on the LeapFrog thingy...

Some China-made phonics resources are worse...
                      Just go right to the /r/ and the /l/... now that's confusing. :roll:

jul04:
                        Er.. he's only 18 mths old lah 😐 How to do that?

But.. when Hubs asks him, \"Where is Mummy?\". Points finger at me. So he knows who I am what! He calls me Jiejie when he finally deigns to call me :stupid: Recently he seems to be calling me Papa too :clubmyself:
                        Hokay... it shows that he does know his mother at least right?
                        Waah, aren't you flattered he calls you jie jie? You must be 1
                        hawt momma! Phewwiit! :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 76 / 165

JHkwJ
                        JHkw