All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.6k Views 1 Watching
      jul04

jul04:
      Hmm.. got checklist on the \"full range of equipment\" or not?

Got! Naah! šŸ˜‰ http://www.bambini-montessori.com/price_list.htm šŸ˜‰
      Wah say! So expensive! Can go bankrupt buying everything :!:

jul04:
      My boy's just 18 mths old. So.. he doesn't know any alphabets yet, & of course, me lazy mummy haven't been teaching him.
      Great time to start then, isn't it? 😐
      jul04:
      But I think he does know \"E', \"O\" & maybe \"A\"... I'm scared he's slow like his mummy & start telling me \"E\" is \"eh\", then how???? 😢
      Note the word \"think\" and \"maybe\" in your quote above.. :idea:

:? Hmmm.... šŸ˜‰

Eh, just mebbe the mommy's slow? :idea:

By the way, E is not exactly \"eh\"... but rather... E makes the sound \"eh\".. :celebrate:
      So, in a way... your DS is right laa.. :lol:
      Ok, someone knows 'A', 'O', 'E' & sometimes B (he sometimes says that 'B' is 'O') :stupid: But then.. anything that is a circle shape us also 'O'.. :? 4 down, 22 more alphabest to go :roll:

I'll give you some more
      homework soon and then.......

Of course....................

I WILL TEST YOU......................... :evil:

My turn to ask the questions. :rubhands:

QUACK! :lol:
      jul04:
      :!: :nailbite: :faint:
      :!:??? ....... :evil:

:nailbite:??? ....... :lol:

:faint:??? ....... :rubhands:
      Where's my homework? šŸ˜›

jul04

smurf:
        jul04:

Care to share on your kid's school? Is it in Bishan? :lol:

Why did u say so leh? Do u know of any good ones?? šŸ˜‰

No lah, just that there seems to be some raves abt a certain Montessori starting with \"T\" in Bishan, so I thought maybe that's the one you were talking abt. šŸ˜„

Sorlie arh jul04, this teacher now sick.. pass u

the homework when i am better okay. :salute:
          Fever, flu and the body aches that comes with it.. šŸ˜ž

jul04

Oh.. too much CNY goodies eh?

Poor thing :hugs:

NataTL

URL: http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

Hi, has anyone signed up for this course? Held on 23 Feb.
              or ever signed for this program? Any comments?

I feel that montessoriprogram in CC is rather slow. By N2 they only complete the phonics/english pink series (3 years if start from PG). we paid rather high fees for monte CC. I have decided enrol in normal CC which is about $400 cheaper per month and send him to enrichment monte class which as stated Pink series (20 sessions) conducted in small groups and can complete within 1/2 year. After will be Blue series (15 sessions)

And Hello Buds if you still reading this thread. Where to sign up Monte and Parents program? Also is ok to have just Pink & Blue to built up their foundations? Green scheme leave it for P1?

My caculations: Blue + Green total 45 sessions = S$7200/can acheive in one year time i.e to faster built up his strong foundation for english.

If in Monte CC =S$9600 for two years (learn during K1 & K2)

smurf

Anyone keen to sign up for this:

Montessori grammar workshop

It's $147, early bird is $97, if bring another friend, it's $180 for 2 seats.

http://montessoriprogram.com/montessori-grammar-workshop-2

jul04:

Heyya jul04, CNY goodies is one thing..
                  Had a guest who came over but her child was having fever..
                  And you know the rest larr.. i cudn possibly tell my children
                  to avoid playing with the poor dearie right. Oh well.. šŸ˜ž

NataTL:
                    I feel that montessoriprogram in CC is rather slow. By N2 they only complete the phonics/english pink series (3 years if start from PG). we paid rather high fees for monte CC. I have decided enrol in normal CC which is about $400 cheaper per month and send him to enrichment monte class which as stated Pink series (20 sessions) conducted in small groups and can complete within 1/2 year. After will be Blue series (15 sessions)...

Heyya NataTL... it's not slow. It's progressive. :love:

Haiyaah.. šŸ˜ž

I just went in to another thread to clarify abt the Montessori Method of
                    teaching children and you another one rushing the programme..

Darl, NataTL... as a parent considering to send or already sent their child
                    or children to a Montessori centre, it SHOULD NOT be for the sole purpose
                    of learning Phonics and Math. The purpose of sending children to a
                    Montessori centre is for a holistic programme that centres around the
                    complete growth & development of the child. The curriculum is not meant
                    to show parents how fast the children learn, but how well they learn and
                    how deeply embedded all the concepts are in their minds that help prepare
                    them for formal primary education and life itself. If you find that actually
                    what you wanted was a faster way for your child to learn the Phonics &
                    Math in the Montessori curriculum out of the 5 areas, then it was a right
                    decision for you to pull your child out to be in another cc and do the
                    Phonics and Math as external enrichment.

In a Montessori cc, the children will be exposed to Cultural subjects that
                    waaaayyy prepares them for Science in P3... learning animal categories
                    mammals, amphibians and the likes and learning why they are categorized
                    where they are... what are the characteristics within a group of animals...
                    Learning how different plants grow.. names of the different flowers.. gg to
                    the gardens to see the plants in real life.. experimenting making fragrant tea
                    using plants.. making potpourri from dried flowers.. i can go on and on. šŸ˜„

That's not all yet... there's also Geography too. šŸ˜„ Children learn the names
                    of continents... they learn the different ways people all over the world greet
                    each other hello, say please and thank you... what are the traditional
                    costumes around the world.. They learn about calamities.. natural disasters,
                    they learn abt space... they learn about the earth's core & what causes
                    volcano eruption... and there is truly a whole lot more! That's only the
                    academic part of it...

Now how abt the part where children learn to be independent and learn the
                    life skills that even parents forget to instill in the children?

The curriculum even covers social grace and courtesy. Music? Learn to
                    appreciate classical music of Bach & Mozart.. art .. and wow... there's
                    just too many to share here in one posting... really.. šŸ˜‰

Some parents and some centres who have this rush for children to learn as
                    many things as possible, has seriously & slowly made the Montessori Method
                    a commercial one & also slowly making it more academic than it really is. šŸ˜ž
                    There is more to the Montessori Education than just the tested and proven
                    ways of the Montessori Phonics and Montessori Math..

I cannot comment much on the price of individual Montessori ccs for they
                    have their own constraints to look at; plus the quality that they are giving
                    to parents who are enrolled in their centres. The cost for a teacher to be
                    a full-fledged Montessori directress is also considerable. Ideally, a directress
                    in a Montessori cc is also an Early Childhood trained one. While the needs of
                    child caring is also covered in the Montessori it still has not gotten its due
                    recognition hence it is almost necessary for one to do both diplomas/degrees;
                    though even Primary schools are also implementing the method in their classes.
                    Some time back, I have been invited by a primary school to run Montessori
                    enrichment classes to help children establish foundation in P1 and 2's.

A directress in a Montessori centre meets requirements of MCYS and the
                    children also get the best of both what Montessori & Early Childhood has to
                    offer... when a directress is attains double Dip/Deg. In the absence of such
                    a directress, then there will usually be two teachers in the class. One early
                    childhood trained and another is Montessori trained. Either ways, both will
                    cost more $ than the average cc.

As for the course mentioned, the trainer... Naf... has been in Montessori line
                    for almost as long as i have. šŸ˜‰ She started out with her online materials'
                    store & later (now) branched out with her parent education pgrm and also
                    for children. She is also the author of a couple of English assessment books.
                    Very nice lady & definitely a knowledgable one too! Your child would be in
                    good hands should you decide to enrol for the enrichment pgrm with her.

As a full-fledged Montessorian, she too would share with you that Montessori
                    is a holistic pgrm... šŸ™ In my opinion, it is more for the purpose of the
                    nature of her business that she is delving into now, she is focusing more on
                    the Phonics & Math area of Montessori on top of running her online store.

As for her materials which i have bought myself.. :celebrate:.. while some may
                    not be of exact dimension as the real thing... (well... some true Montessorians
                    prefer their materials authentic) used in classrooms, it serves the purpose of
                    using them to teach our own children at home if we are exploring to teach or
                    homeschool using the Montessori Method, for prices less than the real ones in
                    the market like say... Bambini or Nienhaus. In my opinion, her materials are gd
                    enuff for self-teaching purposes.
                    NataTL:
                    And Hello Buds if you still reading this thread.
                    Yes! Yes! I'm always around and reading everywhere.. :evil:

NataTL:
                    Where to sign up Monte and Parents program?
                    Parent & child programme you mean? Uhmmm... :idea: Not many seem to be
                    doing it these days as the trend is to focus more on drop-off programmes,
                    which is a pity really... cause Parent & Child Montessori pgrms definitely
                    help parents look into the Montessori Method of teaching children prior
                    to signing up for the drop-off pgrms. By then, parent and child have
                    further understood and adapted to the programme and the child
                    can benefit from not having to deal with that much separation
                    anxiety, as the initial bonding with teacher + parent in the
                    class has already been established.
                    NataTL:
                    Also is ok to have just Pink & Blue to built up their foundations? Green scheme leave it for P1?
                    Trying to calculate the $ again issit? :lol:

Well, ideally is to finish the entire course. But well... let me share what Pink
                    & Blue really means. It means that the child would be able to fluently read
                    sentences containing 3 letter phonetic words at Pink scheme & the blends
                    (4 to 5 letter words) at Blue scheme. ie.

Pink Scheme : The fat cat sat on a mat for a nap.

Blue Scheme : The milk on the sink is for the cat.

By fluent, of course also meaning to say that the child is also exposed to
                    phonetic and non-phonetic readers plus a variety of books of different
                    genres. Learning Phonics is not just abt learning to read and decode
                    words, hence learning to read just the word lists from any Phonics
                    pgrms will not be sufficient to raise a reader.
                    NataTL:
                    My caculations: Blue + Green total 45 sessions = S$7200/can acheive in one year time i.e to faster built up his strong foundation for english.

If in Monte CC =S$9600 for two years (learn during K1 & K2)
                    If you think that value for money means learning it faster then it is really your
                    decision to make in the end. I'm here only sharing my thoughts with you from
                    my end of it (perspective) and in no way having to make that eventual
                    decision for you, hor.. šŸ˜‰

The Phonics alone is only the built up for the reading foundation and not entirely
                    for English per se.. there is still grammar... then vocab and so on...

As for doing Green or not, is again up to you.. the affordability and the needs
                    of parents & children alike, are subjective. Go for what you deem is neccessary
                    and comfortable to the pocket as well. :celebrate:

Just so you know, the Stellar Pgrm in P1 and P2 still covers the basics of the
                    single letter sounds, three letter words & blends; soooo yes.. the green scheme
                    is also covered in primary level. So for those who have done it earlier, they're
                    advanced and can consider it a revision. For those who haven't or do not have
                    the means to do it earlier, will also not entirely lose out as they will get to do it too. šŸ˜„

Phew... long post, sorliee. :salute: But sure hope it clarifies everything.. *pant*

jul04

jul04:

[quote=\"buds\"]Sorlie arh jul04, this teacher now sick.. pass u

Heyya jul04, CNY goodies is one thing..
                      Had a guest who came over but her child was having fever..
                      And you know the rest larr.. i cudn possibly tell my children
                      to avoid playing with the poor dearie right. Oh well.. :([/quote]Ahem.. PM inbox still empty :heartbroken: *hint hint*

jul04

as a parent considering to send or already sent their child

or children to a Montessori centre, it SHOULD NOT be for the sole purpose
                        of learning Phonics and Math. The purpose of sending children to a
                        Montessori centre is for a holistic programme that centres around the
                        complete growth & development of the child. The curriculum is not meant
                        to show parents how fast the children learn, but how well they learn and
                        how deeply embedded all the concepts are in their minds that help prepare
                        them for formal primary education and life itself. ....In a Montessori cc, the children will be exposed to Cultural subjects that
                        waaaayyy prepares them for Science in P3... learning animal categories
                        mammals, amphibians and the likes and learning why they are categorized
                        where they are... what are the characteristics within a group of animals...
                        ....names
                        of continents... they learn the different ways people all over the world greet
                        Now how abt the part where children learn to be independent and learn the
                        life skills that even parents forget to instill in the children?

The curriculum even covers social grace and courtesy. Music? Learn to
                        appreciate classical music of Bach & Mozart.. art .. and wow... there's
                        just too many to share here in one posting... really.. šŸ˜‰

Some parents and some centres who have this rush for children to learn as......There is more to the Montessori Education than just the tested and proven
                        ways of the Montessori Phonics and Montessori Math..

Me! Me! Me! I'm one of the rare breed. Am being seduced by Montessori not for the Math & Phonics but for all the other things you mentioned. :love:

As for the Math & Phonics part, I'm just relieved that it seems to be on track to make kids seem educated enough to read & count šŸ˜‰ so that people don't treat my boy like an uneducated boor :x
                        NataTL:
                        Where to sign up Monte and Parents program?
                        Parent & child programme you mean? Uhmmm... :idea: Not many seem to be
                        doing it these days as the trend is to focus more on drop-off programmes,
                        which is a pity really... cause Parent & Child Montessori pgrms definitely
                        help parents look into the Montessori Method of teaching children prior
                        to signing up for the drop-off pgrms. By then, parent and child have
                        further understood and adapted to the programme and the child
                        can benefit from not having to deal with that much separation
                        anxiety, as the initial bonding with teacher + parent in the
                        class has already been established.quote]

Hmm.. as I said a looong time ago, I was thinking of parent-child Montessori at Tosville or YKidz. These are the 2 places that I know of. Totsville's 1.5h while Ykidz's is 1h only. But.. I'm waiting for some people to pass me some info so I can sound :nunchuk: at the school *HINT*

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 78 / 165