All About Montessori
jul04:
Honestly I don't really know the \"standard\" these days. Nowadays I see Kindergarten kids doing spelling & tingxie - this was unheard of during my time! Knowing your ABCs was as good as it got! I feel sorry for our kids

Err... :idea:
Kindergarten kids doing dictation, grammar, comprehension and creative writing liao, hun.
Well, knowing \"only\" the ABCs now is definitely not enuff. :roll: -
:idea: Think first.. :idea:
*gulp*
Really arh?
i think smwhere earlier in this thread u said ure nw in cck? i'm at jurong.
Wait.. who are you again? Hehee.. :lol:
i just joined this thread cos my dd is almost 13mth, looking 4 playgp ard jurong, v hard to find. came in ksp to do some research, found lots of info here...
but still can't find suitable PG near west. i prefer parent-accompanied cos dd still young, and also, if monte, prefer pure one, or at least longer time spent on monte materials. don't want all the other stuff...kabalevsky:
so, can open class??? please?

anyway your baby will be up and about pretty soon, so you wld need to teach her also rt? hahaha idea, hor?
then you can do multi-age monte with all those here, all begging you for PG
i checked out MMI JW Ext, MMI JW (st 51), and almost all the other 18mth classes around here. not trials but just go and have a look, that kind... still can't find wt i want.
i guess i'm looking for sth like wt jul04 said, more hands on with the monte materials, no worksheet/ acad things...
like that, considered fussy ah???
:? -
[quote]i guess i'm looking for sth like wt jul04 said, more hands on with the monte materials, no worksheet/ acad things...
like that, considered fussy ah??? [/quote]Buds
Think carefully before you answer hor. This directly impacts on whether I'm considered fussy
No need to think..
It's a BIG...
YESSSSSS!!!
If you still dunno i'm kidding, dun friend you oredi. :lol: -
Yo Buds
Have you personally 'experienced' Montessori For Children at Newton?
I recce-ed the place today. Finally it is one place with 3-h work cycle! It looks so sweet to see all the kid working together (yet separately), or older kids helping the younger ones, & children going to the loo by themselves so independently etc. It's like \"my books came to life!\"
But it's soooo expensive! I can probably wing it, but what if I have No. 2? :nailbite:
Do you know any.. ANY other Montessoris which are similar but are a bit cheaper? Any bit cheaper will help pay for diapers :moneyflies: -
:slapshead:No need to think..
It's a BIG...
YESSSSSS!!!
If you still dunno i'm kidding, dun friend you oredi. :lol: -
jul04:
wow, sounds like dream come true!!Yo Buds
Have you personally 'experienced' Montessori For Children at Newton?
I recce-ed the place today. Finally it is one place with 3-h work cycle! It looks so sweet to see all the kid working together (yet separately), or older kids helping the younger ones, & children going to the loo by themselves so independently etc. It's like \"my books came to life!\"
But it's soooo expensive! I can probably wing it, but what if I have No. 2? :nailbite:
Do you know any.. ANY other Montessoris which are similar but are a bit cheaper? Any bit cheaper will help pay for diapers :moneyflies:
how come so far??????
sob sob... -
Yo jules.. Nope. Never recced. Never had reason to. Too far off for moi.
Books came to life huh? :love: Look how excited you are there now...
Now now jules... firstly wipe that drool off your chin. :drool:
You are definitely pre-empting the scenario with a maybe #2... sooo...
you reali gotta weigh the pros and cons. If your child CAN resume with
the place even with #2 in say until next year... he hasn't even reached
kindy stage yet... and you're gonna \"cry\" your eyeballs out when you
hafta make the big cut... and your DS is gonna have to adapt again in
another place. I remember you saying you prefer one place till graduate
right?
Err.. quickly toilet train? So problem solved?
Heard that Blossom Montessori has similar cycle but recently got takeover
with new management. They are kindy set up (longer hours) but all the
way in Holland. Down where you are... nope. None that i've heard ppl
rave about. :roll: -
The price is also very dreamy lor!
wow, sounds like dream come true!!
how come so far??????
sob sob... -
jul04:
:slapshead:buds:
No need to think..
It's a BIG...
YESSSSSS!!!
If you still dunno i'm kidding, dun friend you oredi. :lol:
You guys here have done too much homework, so i cannot lax. :lol:
But it's good cause you are the kind of parents who can help translate
Montessori done during the day and into the home... aaahhh... :love:
I love that..
Wait.. what were all (all of you) your requirements again.. lemme see.. :idea:
1.Clean (okay..)
2.Safe (okay..)
3.Spacious (definitely not.. so cannot take in so many of you..)
(So how, take only a few of you here and make it very exclusive? ) :evil:
4.Cheap??? :rant:
5.No transport service offered :politebleah:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.