All About Montessori
Hi Buds!
You're here!
Been wondering why not many people inhabit the Club Northerners thread.. other threads are more popular!
Can I gatecrash and put my name down on the waiting list for any classes you may consider having??? Please!!
I've put my DD in a normal kindy cos the Montessori ones around Sembawang / north area are too exp!! Love the Purple Train at Woodlands Civic Centre but $$.....
Briefly looked at MMI at Sembawang.. but rather dark and dreary so I did not even step in... hmmm...
Still, not gonna give up! Even if have to settle for just enrichment in Math with you, I'm happy! The normal kindy don't really teach much of Math, though I started (and concluded) my gal's fast trial with some Math school some time in the hol, and not sure if it's alike montessori but there's plenty of fingering etc.. little / no worksheets... I love it!! DD loves it too..

lil_jade:
Hi Buds!
Heyya lil_jade! Long time no see... :peekaboo:lil_jade:
Yup.. but not just here reali.. i'm always... around.. :evil:You're here!
Been wondering why not many people inhabit the Club Northerners thread.. other threads are more popular!
lil_jade:
Gatecrash? :!:Can I gatecrash and put my name down on the waiting list for any classes you may consider having??? Please!!
With my current wait list... ?
As long as you're as formidable as the rest who oredi
thought of gate crashing... :nunchuk: Mwahahaaa! :laugh:lil_jade:
I get watcha mean.. that's why i ended up teaching my own kiddiesI've put my DD in a normal kindy cos the Montessori ones around Sembawang / north area are too exp!! Love the Purple Train at Woodlands Civic Centre but $$.....
the Montessori teachings and sent them for normal kindies when they
were in preschool. They started preschool late too.
lil_jade:
Yes, if we had a choice we definitely prefer big, spacious, airy andBriefly looked at MMI at Sembawang.. but rather dark and dreary so I did not even step in... hmmm...
cheerful looking classrooms. But cheerful teachers is a must for me. :please:lil_jade:
I love teaching Math hands-on and yes not too many worksheets initiallyStill, not gonna give up! Even if have to settle for just enrichment in Math with you, I'm happy! The normal kindy don't really teach much of Math, though I started (and concluded) my gal's fast trial with some Math school some time in the hol, and not sure if it's alike montessori but there's plenty of fingering etc.. little / no worksheets... I love it!! DD loves it too..
and even if there are any it is more of only reinforcement and simple and
not the testing kinds.
This way parents are updated on what we do during
the sessions. Plus the kiddies can do the talking for you on how much they've
enjoyed the lessons. They'd tell you using what assignments they brought home. :love:
No probs with enrichment classes for me... it is reali just a matter of the
official \"when\" at this point of time..
lil_jade:
Briefly looked at MMI at Sembawang.. but rather dark and dreary so I did not even step in... hmmm...
[quote]Yes, if we had a choice we definitely prefer big, spacious, airy and
cheerful looking classrooms. But cheerful teachers is a must for me. :please:[/quote]I know this is a bit off topic, but I saw this new playgroup at Jurong Point 6th floor. It fulfilled all my \"big, spacious, airy and cheerful\" classroom criteria.
There were mini kitchen playcenters, playdoh centers, wooden jigsaw centers, and best of all, I loved the several full length portrait painting stands they have. You know, those see-through ones where your friend can stand on the other side, and you can paint his profile etc?
The decor was so nice too, so cheerful. If I can get a photo next time, I will.
Only thing, it is not Montessori and they have it 5x a week, drop off type. Not parent-accompanied.
It is good also that is it mixed age from 1.8mth to 3 yrs old and they accomodate kids with special needs as well.
I went for a trial already, cos they were so flexible since they are new, they allowed my almost 13mth old, with me accompanying.
Sigh, nothing is perfect huh?
I will still wait for your news on when you will start your classes. :love:
Won't sign up with any yet, cos not fully happy with any. -
Yay! Can, can. Clean, safe, reasonable charges, no problem!
Dun frighten you first but yah i've been told my fees aren't cheap.
Yes in primary school.Transport, should be ok if I schedule it before my 2 older sons are dismissed from sch. (You also have 2 older ones right?)

Calm down now.. :lol:Ahhh, good, I am getting excited.
Nope. :politebleah:Just to confirm, you are at CCK?
Used to but no longer.kabalevsky:
I'm up North now.If not, after I get so excited, I find you are at Katong or Changi, I can forget it.

[quote]Yes, if we had a choice we definitely prefer big, spacious, airy and
cheerful looking classrooms. But cheerful teachers is a must for me. :please:[/quote]kabalevsky:
Off topic but yes, thank you for sharing definitely! The place sounds beautiful! :love:The decor was so nice too, so cheerful. If I can get a photo next time, I will.
If they allow photos, yes.. why not? Would love to see it myself. :please:kabalevsky:
I prefer drop-off programmes. For my children and for my lessons too.Only thing, it is not Montessori and they have it 5x a week, drop off type. Not parent-accompanied.

Nice. :love:It is good also that is it mixed age from 1.8mth to 3 yrs old and they accomodate kids with special needs as well.
Sigh.. :roll: Yeah.. can't have everything uh?I went for a trial already, cos they were so flexible since they are new, they allowed my almost 13mth old, with me accompanying. Sigh, nothing is perfect huh?
So, how much were their fees?kabalevsky:
Alamak.. dun liddat lar. You dunno my style of teaching oso right?I will still wait for your news on when you will start your classes. :love:

Plus it is just a small spare room used as my work room. Nothing spacious..
airy.. or cheerful about it.. HDB mah.. how cheerful are HDB flats. :lol:kabalevsky:
Yah, i'm particular when it comes to signing up my kiddies too. So, i get watcha mean..Won't sign up with any yet, cos not fully happy with any.
Buds,
Ichiban Montessori in CCK is named Ichiban Montessori Childcare Pte Ltd so I thought it was a child care. No la..faith or no faith...just recommend..I am not a Christian but am already thinking of sending my ds to a Christian kindergarten when he reach 3yrs.
My mom speaks Chinese ONLY. I read Tamarind blog on the Chinese book she recommend but I cannot find in POPULAR!!!
What is the Chinese book you recommend?
For English, I am making books for him (but slacking...FTWM lei). I read for him cos I cannot trust my helper with her English. She is Filipino and she always swap the pronunciation of \"F\" and \"P\". Once...she told my son to finish the \"FORK\"..I was :!: ...but she meant \"PORK\". :lol:
What CD do you recommend? Actually the thought of playing CD to him has been lingering in my heads for sometime but my dh is SUPER against it as he says he will lose his concentration..fyi..my ds wonders a lot in his weekend school.. does the concentration of kid dwindle with TV???
And talking about Montessori's Practical Life activities, he really has been spooning and pouring all his toys in and out since he learnt that in school..I am waiting for the time he can learn to button his shirt and not walk around in the house like a AH Beng with his shirt unbuttoned.:P
About building immunity...so it is true the earlier a kid is expose to all the \"dirty germy stuff\", the better they become? I am actually quite neutral on this..as I see ds cousin was breastfed till 1 yr plus..then sent to school only at 3...but she still fall sick like every month since she was send to school...it is like the peanut butter theory..the earlier you eat, you outgrown the allergy fast..
Hiaz...I think I will just have to put ds in the 3 times a wk evening program in the CS la..then
there is a seat in the morning class SOON. Else it will be either he drop out of school soon or I get sack soon by my boss since I have to chiong to fetch him when his school ends at 6pm... 
[quote]I prefer drop-off programmes. For my children and for my lessons too.
really?
but my dd is still so young. i prefer to drop off only at 3. haha.
cos i intend to wean her only when she is 3, or is she would want to wean earlier, fine. but my ds2, i had to wean him at 3. so he was ready to go to school only after that.
fully breastfed and with sahm, tend to be more sticky...
also if i am there, just sitting at the corner, they are happy, independent and confident.
if i disappear, at 18mth, she won't know if i will be back, she will bawl through the lesson. not nice for the tr and the other kids too, right?
[quote]So, how much were their fees? [/quote]checked the paper, $220 for 5x, 2 hours per session. it's per month.
[quote]Alamak.. dun liddat lar. You dunno my style of teaching oso right?
Plus it is just a small spare room used as my work room. Nothing spacious..
airy.. or cheerful about it.. HDB mah.. how cheerful are HDB flats. :lol:[/quote]dunno style, but you wrote so much here. after i saw this thread, i read all the pages dutifully.... i also read some of your articles before. so know your style roughly.
aiyah, now main factor is the distance. so far. very difficult cos my dd sit in the car seat 5 min will start to want to come out and sit with me. so rest of journey she will be crying. if i drive long distance, i stress myself.
so must wait lor. i wrote to Montessori Children House, ask them to consider setting up a branch in Jurong West, hahahaha. I say I like their style. they say very difficult, cos they are there for 22 yrs already, still 1 center, they like to keep it small and cosy.
i say, still can consider. told them Jurong West full of young families, all preschools are packed to the gills, long waiting lists too. Very few or no true Montessori, so they should.
maybe you should move to JW too. hahahaha -
Hey Buds,
Just want to ask u something. I saw a Montessori grammar apparatus (dunno what u call that), supposedly to teach elementary students grammar. I saw this at a Montessori sch and was quite impressed with the sch that uses it.
Is this tool widely available in other sch? So far, I didn't see this in some of the schs I visited. So I wonder if this is commonly used. :? -
smurf:
Which one issit that you saw?Hey Buds,
Just want to ask u something. I saw a Montessori grammar apparatus (dunno what u call that), supposedly to teach elementary students grammar. I saw this at a Montessori sch and was quite impressed with the sch that uses it.
The Farm Box...
http://www.postimage.org/
or The Grammar Kit...?
http://postimage.org/image/2d1bvtfus/smurf:
The effectiveness of delivery of the Montessori Method is to really useIs this tool widely available in other sch? So far, I didn't see this in some of the schs I visited. So I wonder if this is commonly used. :?
all its materials / apparatus for its intended purpose and the variation
exercises that come with them.
I cannot say whether it is widely
available or widely used as i did not recce ALL or that many
Montessori centres in Singapore to make a fair judgment.
But yes, a centre should have these as it is a follow up to the Montessori
Phonics programme... to introduce simple grammar skills to the children.
Hope this clarifies. :celebrate: -
Thanks Buds! :celebrate:
But I saw these:
http://www.adenamontessori.us/global/product.php?cid=3&offset=20&gclid=CN_7v4ajoqcCFcV66wodFG61BA
The noun, verb symbol. I heard that they are introduced to kids at elementary sch, so that explains why pre schs dun have? That's what I heard from the sch that uses it. :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.