All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 920.9k Views 1 Watching

jul04:
      Why do you think I haven't enrolled my boy in any weekend parent-child M class? Coz I can't find any which don't do art & craft & music & movt & snack time in 5min :lol:

:faint:

In Parent & Child sessions, parents gotta be mindful that it is impossible
      to run longer Montessori time as compared to the weekday sessions. It
      is more of an introduction to say one new material/apparatus each wk
      so that you'd be yearning to do and learn more the following week. šŸ˜„

During the individual mat activity time though, parents can assist the
      children with the materials the children select from the shelves. As with
      observation during such pgrms... again, the time constraints may not be
      able to permit extended observations of the children as again compared
      to the daily sessions.

As with potty or nappy, children still undergoing toilet-training may use
      the pull-up-pants to avoid accidents until they are much more confident
      and can eventually just wear briefs. Go to the toilet before session starts,
      to avoid going in the midst of the sessiion.

lil_jade

lil_jade:

BUDS!!!!!!!!!!! :?: Are there any book like \"Dummy guide to Montessori\"???

Materials - wise, I was surfing those China Taobao website (yeah, really bo-eng) and I saw those Montessori equipment (1 big box)... and the SMH forum does sell as well... Will those suffice? It's around $200++.. Cheap or not? Not the $1000++ jul04 mentioned.... šŸ˜‰

And I was wondering, can I say Montessori is a learning methodology? As such, we are able to teach various other subject matters such as Chinese or any other language, science, etc using this methodology? :roll:
        Buds ah..... can help me with my above questions about the made in china Montessori things? Or like everything else, it's simply better to get the real stuff??? :roll:

I'd get the real stuff.

Later toxic then how..

I'm not ngiao, just careful..
          Especially after so many incidences which are not coincidences.. :roll:

I don't only teach my own kiddies..
          But i have students who are other people's children as well.. :love:

That said, when i was only teaching my own kiddies.. i didn't mind
          the cheaper ones to use for my own children, buuutt that was b4
          any lead scare or other toxic scares.. For homeschooling, can go
          for it. Dun buy a lot but try one or two products first.. If you find
          the quality's good, then go ahead if you wanna get more. šŸ˜‰

lil_jade

Thanks!

Yeah, I'm only gonna try teaching my gal... may give up very quickly, so don't wanna spend so much $$!! Uh.. the toxic stuff.. gosh.. hope it's ok!

BTW, any recommended dummies / idiot's guide to Montessori?? :lol:

Here you go!

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=359950#359950

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/early-math-concepts-home-using-montessori-method

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/do-it-yourself-alphabet-cards-1-montessori-sandpaper-letters

> http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/montessori-phonics-introduction-single-letter-sounds-lesson-1

When you receive the materials, check for splinters and protruding

plastic pieces or thin wires. As most of the products are made of
                wood, ensure they are sand down nicely before working them
                with your child.

First and foremeost, remember to get your child a mat. šŸ˜‰

smurf

Hi Buds,

Where did u get the materials? The genuine stuff? I noticed that bambini isn't the genuine ones leh...

:?

jul04

jul04:

Why do you think I haven't enrolled my boy in any weekend parent-child M class? Coz I can't find any which don't do art & craft & music & movt & snack time in 5min :lol:

:faint:

In Parent & Child sessions, parents gotta be mindful that it is impossible
                    to run longer Montessori time as compared to the weekday sessions. It
                    is more of an introduction to say one new material/apparatus each wk
                    so that you'd be yearning to do and learn more the following week. šŸ˜„

During the individual mat activity time though, parents can assist the
                    children with the materials the children select from the shelves. As with
                    observation during such pgrms... again, the time constraints may not be
                    able to permit extended observations of the children as again compared
                    to the daily sessions.

As with potty or nappy, children still undergoing toilet-training may use
                    the pull-up-pants to avoid accidents until they are much more confident
                    and can eventually just wear briefs. Go to the toilet before session starts,
                    to avoid going in the midst of the sessiion.

Thanks for the tips buds. I'll keep trying to find a clas that has these elements that you mentioned. But not 5min for everything lah :shock:

jul04

smurf:
                      Hi Buds,

Where did u get the materials? The genuine stuff? I noticed that bambini isn't the genuine ones leh...

:?
                      I don't think she means truly authentic according to Montessori's exact specifications. Think she prob means get more 'reputable' stuff than those $200 for the whole Made-in-China set. I feel those are really dubious myself. Not for the lack of authenticity but for the quality (lead content whatnot)

smurf

I found one authentic one, but not sure, coz the price was very low. I can PM u if u want to know. šŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 99 / 165