All About Autism
verykiasumummy:
my boy doesn't do any of that. in the end we talked 40 min exceeding the planned hour. the concern that i have is that they dun have many therapists that work with young toddler (2yr old) and there's a gap between their senior therapist and G1, their last G2 therapist left recently and senior therapist is pretty busy. Sigh! my boy's problem is that he doesn't look at people much, including family members. hard to engage and addition to toys/objects more.Therapist is gonna use ABA to help improve his eye contact and his relationship with us. no guarantee. now i have to let her try a few home sessions to assess if they are good service providers or not. my only worry is my boy's time is wasted if they are not good in handling small kids.
ask them how to tackle ur child when she :Karkar:
Mummies,
ABA therapist is coming to my house in 30 mins' time for 1-hr observation for my boy. first ever session. i am a bit nervous. i wonder what are the essential questions to ask to assess them. thanks.
- doesnt speak / answer / response.
- cries or laughs for no particular known reason.
- hides in their room for hours.
just some to share... hope it helps.. -
I have the following books (in pretty good condition) to let go for $50 per book:
1) Hanenโs More Than Words
2) Hanenโs Talkability
Itโs for self pick up from Serangoon/ Raffles Place. Please let me know if you are interested -
Seleste:
hi seleste,Hi,
I have the following books (in pretty good condition) to let go for $50 per book:
1) Hanen's More Than Words
2) Hanen's Talkability
It's for self pick up from Serangoon/ Raffles Place. Please let me know if you are interested
just to let u know u cant post anything to sell here... the moderator will shift or delete ur post... -
helplessmum3:
At that time, my son sensory problem is sound, whenever he hears kid crying he feel very angry & annoyed. things like tat...
Why did they ask for proof? My boy's sch never asked for it.mashy:
[quote=\"helplessmum3\"]mashy,
i have no choice, when my son attend cc, they P already ask me to get proof to say my son is NT kid. :(.. so get go KKH CDU. SUCKS place!!! we pay subsidize amount but the workers there get pay specialist amount u know, waste our GOVT money for sub price.!!!
then he was under a very no experience teacher keep complaining she can't cope, then P was pressure worry the teacher might resign & etc...[/quote]oh my, how can the P say such things.. shouldnt these be their problems??
so how's ur ds now? under a new teacher? -
nugget:
Hi Nugget! I'm new here.Dear all,
dunno why I am missing out so much post. My email never notify me of any new post
Anyway, I am also \"by luck\" seeing SLT in KKH Rehab... I was enquiry about a program hosted by KKH Rehab and they are accessing if my son is suitable for that program, and after accessing my son would not be suitable for their program, they asked me if I wanted to take up SLT sessions with their rehab centre.
I was so happy when they offer me... And silly me keep asking \"really can meh?\", cos I tried to appeal so many times at KKH-CDU and they kept saying once my son in EIPIC, they dun offer SLT sessions.
I also dun understand why they have this gap as well.
Even though is a 1 per month session, I find the session very fruitful. The SLT will write a series of things that I should do with my kid at home. Unlike my pte SLT, she only tells me what my son knows and what my son dunno.. without any action to follow up.
And best part is KKH SLT told me if I want to, I just continue with my SLT social group sessions will do. The 1-1 one, the KKH can cover it. I am so happy, I can save money on the costly 1-1 SLT already.
Soooooo...I can act blur to join a program to get into their system??? :evil: -
helplessmum3:
Lik FIzz, i oso dun wan to have the hassle to go thru Polyclinic & etc to go into KKH Rehab Dept. and also i call for the the course conducted by Rehab they say they do not cater for ASD!!!!
I tried my luck and called Rehab this afternoon. They must have referral from the PD in CDU before they accept your kid. The exception is when the waiting time for CDU is too long and the PD may refer the kid to Rehab to shorten the waiting time! -
helplessmum3:
At that time, my son sensory problem is sound, whenever he hears kid crying he feel very angry & annoyed. things like tat...
Why did they ask for proof? My boy's sch never asked for it.mashy:
[quote=\"helplessmum3\"]mashy,
i have no choice, when my son attend cc, they P already ask me to get proof to say my son is NT kid. :(.. so get go KKH CDU. SUCKS place!!! we pay subsidize amount but the workers there get pay specialist amount u know, waste our GOVT money for sub price.!!!
then he was under a very no experience teacher keep complaining she can't cope, then P was pressure worry the teacher might resign & etc...[/quote]Can I offer you another perspective?
You see, it's not like this school has been giving your son a suitable environment, it's not like the teachers are doing such a good job that you see improvements in your son. So, even if the P ask you to change your son's school, so be it.
There is no lost to you nor your son. You loose nothing. :boogie:
Unless you think the teachers are good or the school's environment benefits your son alot then I do agree with your stress & reluctance to change school. But from what you've been saying here, you got nothing but stress and complaints from the school.
Work with the teachers by all means. But don't feel stress about the probability of being asked to leave. Because YOU LOOSE NOTHING. I repeat, YOU LOOSE NOTHING. Maybe perhaps you incur the inconvenience of finding another school but see as a golden opportunity to find a better school for your son- as mashy says. :hugs: -
Alamak! Spelling error. But never mind let me say it again, helpless mum
You lose nothing!
helplessmum3:
Meaning that the school is only willing to take NT kids since they want proof that your kid is NT...and meaning that they are unwilling to take ASD kid? Then it's no place for your kid...mashy,
i have no choice, when my son attend cc, they P already ask me to get proof to say my son is NT kid. :(.. so get go KKH CDU. SUCKS place!!! we pay subsidize amount but the workers there get pay specialist amount u know, waste our GOVT money for sub price.!!! -
Blokus:
oh my, ur spelling error makes ur post sounds funny...Alamak! Spelling error. But never mind let me say it again, helpless mum
You lose nothing!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.