All About Autism
Double E:
double e, i cant remember how much he score, cus trash away the report... damn sian...but i know is above 60 plus or 70 i cant remember clearly.Helplessmum
so what 3 criteria did he meet out of the 6? And for his iq, how many points did he get? i wonder how is IQ test conducted.
ASD kids also can have motor issues like motor planning and fine motor. My boy has fine motor issues, eg. he doesn't know how to tear paper,instead of pulling it forward, he will pull the paper side way. But it is also improving, there are many things that he can't do previously, he is slowly catching up now.
Your boy is doing very well already. He has not reached 3 right? My son is already 3.5, he will be due for P1 in 2.5 years time.
Actually until now, I am still thinking if I should send him to a mainstream primary or Pathlight. I had actually decided on mainstream until I met my ex-colleague yesterday. Her son is in P2 at Pathlight and doing well. Apart from speech which is slower than his peers, he doesn't seem to have any other issues. Can make friends, able to cope with studies and no behaviour or sensory issues. My colleague said Pathlight is good and provides a very good learning environment for his son.
However, I am still tempted to let my boy try out mainstream and only if he can't take it, then transfer him to Pathlight. But Pathlight has a long wait list.
For mummies whose kids are in mainstream, have u ever thought of sending your kids to Pathlight ? what makes u decide to let your kid go to mainstream? Care to share? -
Double E, My son just turn 3.
Double E:
Regarding bullies, all schools have, even when they go out, there will be. We cannot be with them all the time so we can only teach them how to handle it. I've sent my son to taekwando anyway. Hopefully it helps. His classmates have been helping him too and watching out for him. With regards to acad, so far still ok. Not the top in class but above average. There is another autistic kid in the class and he's been getting full marks. So think don't worry so much about the future. U never know their full potential until u let them try.Mashy
Thanks for sharing. My thoughts are the same.
But I can't help but worry if he can cope with the stress since mainstream emphasize a lot on academic. And also school bully.
The same colleague has another P4 NT girl, at P4, the teacher is already stressing the students, telling them they have to prepare for PSLE. And she shared with me the Maths questions. I tell u, I almost fell off my chair. The maths questions are really tough, and the kids have to read between the lines. Not only do they need to be strong in Maths but language as well.
Seriously, all the Primary kids in Singapore are really suffering under our MOE system. PM Lee said we parents are Kiasu and that we should let our pre-school kids play more, how can we not be kiasu when MOE sets such a high bar for our kids? Unless all of us have gifted kids who can whiz through their studies without help.
And I'm not expecting him to be tops in his results. Can pass very good already. I think we should be realistic too and not expect too much from them. Just be happy about their progress. -
helplessmum3:
double e, i cant remember how much he score, cus trash away the report... damn sian...but i know is above 60 plus or 70 i cant remember clearly.Double E:
Helplessmum
so what 3 criteria did he meet out of the 6? And for his iq, how many points did he get? i wonder how is IQ test conducted.
ASD kids also can have motor issues like motor planning and fine motor. My boy has fine motor issues, eg. he doesn't know how to tear paper,instead of pulling it forward, he will pull the paper side way. But it is also improving, there are many things that he can't do previously, he is slowly catching up now.
Your boy is doing very well already. He has not reached 3 right? My son is already 3.5, he will be due for P1 in 2.5 years time.
Actually until now, I am still thinking if I should send him to a mainstream primary or Pathlight. I had actually decided on mainstream until I met my ex-colleague yesterday. Her son is in P2 at Pathlight and doing well. Apart from speech which is slower than his peers, he doesn't seem to have any other issues. Can make friends, able to cope with studies and no behaviour or sensory issues. My colleague said Pathlight is good and provides a very good learning environment for his son.
However, I am still tempted to let my boy try out mainstream and only if he can't take it, then transfer him to Pathlight. But Pathlight has a long wait list.
For mummies whose kids are in mainstream, have u ever thought of sending your kids to Pathlight ? what makes u decide to let your kid go to mainstream? Care to share?
I cannot believe that u actually threw away the report! It contains a lot of information including his strengths and weaknesses. Without the report, how can u even enrol him into special needs classes?
If IQ 60-70 is not high leh... -
helplessmum3:
Double E, My son just turn 3.
Whatever your son is doing, it's amazing that he's doing it at 3 yrs old. Those that he isn't doing, it's also no cause for alarm coz he's still so young.
Exactly what did he get to satisfy the 3 out of 6?
From what I know, not all autistic kids are 'unsociable'. According to the therapists, there are some who are overly sociable to the point that they are extremely friendly even to strangers. Or perhaps they are grouped under another label? -
Helplessmum,
U very sure u threw away the report or just chuck it some where in your house?
The report is very impt, if your son needs to go Pathlight or ask for special concession from mainstream sch, they will ask for the report. -
Mashy ,
Kkh physcologist use "bayley scales",
It’s say my son is above average of his peers .
For the 3 out of6 I roughly recall is no index pointing , no share interest , no eye to eye gaze…
Double E,
Total 8pages . How can I possible ready ,each page full
House of wordings ,Tat time I devastated
Within the 3 hrs assessment more time are spent on talking to us.
Real assessing my son is just bit here n there n she just conclude
Only the cognitive test , then. She do w my son but also very shibily.
She is very lazy can tell one.
Just want to get report out and closed her case kind .
Old woman as expected very numb to work already.
The report is called "physcologist report " is it consider diagnosed report .
"pervasive development disorder-not otherwise specific which also know as Autism spectrum disorder "
I wrote some where for tis. -
I have kkh referral letter to epic mah.so don’t need the physcologist report.
Anyway also will review again n get another report lo .
I will request change of physcologist next round -
helplessmum3:
Of course the psychologist will have to talk to u. This is history checking. Coz they have not seen your boy grown up so only u know what has happened over the past 3 yrs. obviously she needs to ask u about it. I'm sorry, but I feel that u have been so negative over everything.Mashy ,
Kkh physcologist use \"bayley scales\",
It's say my son is above average of his peers .
For the 3 out of6 I roughly recall is no index pointing , no share interest , no eye to eye gaze..
Double E,
Total 8pages . How can I possible ready ,each page full
House of wordings ,Tat time I devastated
Within the 3 hrs assessment more time are spent on talking to us.
Real assessing my son is just bit here n there n she just conclude
Only the cognitive test , then. She do w my son but also very shibily.
She is very lazy can tell one.
Just want to get report out and closed her case kind .
Old woman as expected very numb to work already.
The report is called \"physcologist report \" is it consider diagnosed report .
\"pervasive development disorder-not otherwise specific which also know as Autism spectrum disorder \"
I wrote some where for tis.
Negative about your son's condition such that u think he isn't performing well when he is actually doing very well for an autistic kid.
Negative about the psychologist and u think she's just plain lazy. U didn't even bother reading the report.
Negative about the therapists that you pull your son out of all therapies because you think that they are not doing their job.
I may sound harsh, but really, I hope u will see the light. If u are depressed like your hb is, get help. U and your hb need help, seriously.
Not that I'm saying these professionals are fantastic or what, just that they are also doing what they have been doing for years. They have loads more experience than u. Open your mind and go thru it together. You may not believe what they are doing, but go thru it anyway. So far what I see is that U think the whole world is against you. Be it the childcare centres, the therapists, the psychologists even your son. Something isn't right. It is not just your hb who needs help. U need it too.
I think u really should see a doctor yourself. This week is e mental health week and there's a lot of promotion on it.
I hope u get well soon. -
KarKar,
Don’t despaired , my son come this far.
No eye contact then he come to request n now he requesting with eye contacts.
For just this month my son is able to answers these questions:-
Ei "what are u doing ", what are u eating", what are you drinking" "what happen" "who is this" "what your name" , "how old are u" "how are u"
He answer all correctly during the moments .
He still don’t know these "w" questions like
"why" "when" "how to do this"
All mummies help me alot here that I can work w my son at home…
Also pls read this book call " it’s take 2 hands to talk""
Initially to bring out my son to awareness of the world this book help alot…
I have no choice but to learn n be a therapist for my son.
So while u wait for report pls do this lo. Times is our son enemy …
Each day I have to crack my head how my son can learn from what kind of methods
Only u will know best …u sure know… His learning style or methods .
Most ASD, they are very visually strong …
Ur very first time now is to bring your son out to the world …he is still very in his own old . Slowly expand his awareness from near then to far distance when u work w him.
I’m still learning , n learning n learning …there is no end until I die…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.