All About Autism
specialboymum:
Thanks. I think I will do the same
I think you can buy from Amazon. That's what i intend to do so.lavendery:
[quote=\"specialboymum\"]Hi ladies,
Anyone know where I can get the temple grandin DVD? I search high and low in different video shops down town but can't find it
Speaking about the professional assessment. I can't remember if I share this before. I sent my boy to KKH for psychological assessment, which is required for Pathlight enrollment. My boy wasn't in a good mood, plus he was a bit under the weather, therefore didn't perform that well. The psychologist just add up the score and said he isn't qualified for Pathlight, we should send him to ASPN instead. I blur blur, went ahead to collect the ASPN registration form. It is only later when I went check out the ASPN curriculum then I realize something not quite right, as the curriculum doesn't quite match his ability. I was about to look for a private psychologist for 2nd opinion, when the KKH psychologist called me in the afternoon and told me she made a mistake in the scores. His actual scores qualified him for Pathlight (anyway, we still missed the chance to enrol him to Pathlight due to some other silly mistake made by KKH CDC, who submitted the application on our behalf)
Well, at least she bother to check her work. Thinking about it, if I followed the experts' opinion blindly, will I end up depriving my boy to develop his potential fully?[/quote]YES true.. alot of factors one.. how can jus baes on 3 hrs assesment & on tat day itself to conculd esp on Iq TEST U know.... -
in other countries, how is their education system like, for mild autistic kids ? maybe Singapore can learn from them, if they're good.
got such things as mild one mah?
other country oso segretate them
think only got High or normal.. sucks... -
DesertWind:
Hi mashy,
I agree with you to a certain extend except for the \"acceptance\" bit. It is not that I do not want to face or do not want to accept. It is just that I am not convinced. I will accept when I am convinced.
For eg. most of what my MIL was alarmed about last time, my boy has already outgrown. Things like he was spinning around at one stage but I told her that was because he was watching one episode of Barney whereby the children was spinning around and looking up to the sky. But I have always told my PIL that my boy has speech problems and he has a fierce temper. They were not convinced about this until my boy threw such a terrible tandrum they have to backoff. Now they are handling him with kids glove. The other extreme which also drive me nuts sometimes....
Recently I brought him to a new ST. This new ST asked whether there is any diagnosis? I told her yes, preliminary ASD. Then she work a while with my boy and when my boy looked at her in the eyes and smiled, she turn to me and said \"But he has good eye contact?\". So I said yes, that's why I said \"preliminary\" lor but also he obviously has speech-delay and couple of other issues otherwise we won't be here discussing.
So yes and no, I will agree to some and disagree to others.
My boy also has eye contact. Just that it's inconsistent. Sometimes very good, sometimes poor. The psychologist also noted that in her report. And with regards to other autistic behaviour, my boy has also outgrown a lot of them. He no longer spins plates, wheels and all things round. I spoke to the dr about it and she said autistic kids like all normal kids will also grow and develop. Just that they meet milestones slower. Like when they should be doing imaginary play at 2 yrs old, mine only at 5. What is acceptable for a 4 yr old, may not be acceptable for a 6 yr old. So we need to check it against their age and development. Even if they have outgrown certain habits and acquired others.
There is a possibility for my son's case is that he has growth hormone deficiency. Altho he is 6, he has the body of a 4 yr old. So the dr also wouldn't discount this possibility that his developments have been delayed because he is growing slower.
A label is just a label. Don't need to be convinced whether he is really so. Just tackle each problem in itself like any other kid. Mine also has speech delay. So we just deal with that issue on its own. If he has social issues, we just teach him how to make friends. Unlike what some drs say about autism not being able to cure, there are instances where HFA kids were kind of cured. I prefer to look towards that. It may be an issue that he will need to grapple with all his life but once we open the key for him, he will understand how to deal with it.
we are constantly looking for solutions. Lol. I think when we don't do anything, we are just ignoring the prob and hope that it will go away. Guess we are more 'bossy' pp and wanna take things into our own hands.
helplessmum3:
I only know a bit from relatives and friends who have kids in american schools and australian school. My cousin's special need kids were in an Australian school for 2 years, both were happy school going kids till they come back to Singapore, they start to have problem like running away from school. My other cousin whose normal son attended american international school attended 2 weeks of immersion program in a Singapore school also feedback that he absolutely hate the school here.phtthp:
in other countries, how is their education system like, for mild autistic kids ? maybe Singapore can learn from them, if they're good.
think only got High or normal.. sucks...
The main difference is that these school as compared to Singapore, is that these school focussed more on life skills than academic.
For example, while the typical 5 years old in Singapore are learning phonics, the 5 year olds in Australia are still learning ABC, but they spend more time, going out to the garden, digging their hands into mud and looking at crawling ants or learning how to prepare sandwiches and share with friends.
Their curriculum is also less packed so teachers are able to spend more time paying attention to each student's different needs, including those with special needs.
Their teachers are also not allow to give negative feedback on the kids performance. My cousin's boy in American school told me that the teachers are not allowed to use red ink to mark \"cross\", unlike our teachers here, not only we get big red cross but negative comments like \"untidy\", \"messy\", which my son gets all the time despite getting the perfect 10/10 score for his work, luckily he is still oblivious and not bothered about it -
Desert Wind,
My son’s eye contact are Spontaneous… he will smile very widely when see me coming… -
The movie Temple Grandin will show us how autistic will see the world? Or what does it shows? Just curious.
Abit of out of topic here, if hair test shows high in mercury, means must cut off seafood totally? -
specialboymum:
I only know a bit from relatives and friends who have kids in american schools and australian school. My cousin's special need kids were in an Australian school for 2 years, both were happy school going kids till they come back to Singapore, they start to have problem like running away from school. My other cousin whose normal son attended american international school attended 2 weeks of immersion program in a Singapore school also feedback that he absolutely hate the school here.helplessmum3:
[quote=\"phtthp\"]in other countries, how is their education system like, for mild autistic kids ? maybe Singapore can learn from them, if they're good.
think only got High or normal.. sucks...
The main difference is that these school as compared to Singapore, is that these school focussed more on life skills than academic.
For example, while the typical 5 years old in Singapore are learning phonics, the 5 year olds in Australia are still learning ABC, but they spend more time, going out to the garden, digging their hands into mud and looking at crawling ants or learning how to prepare sandwiches and share with friends.
Their curriculum is also less packed so teachers are able to spend more time paying attention to each student's different needs, including those with special needs.
Their teachers are also not allow to give negative feedback on the kids performance. My cousin's boy in American school told me that the teachers are not allowed to use red ink to mark \"cross\", unlike our teachers here, not only we get big red cross but negative comments like \"untidy\", \"messy\", which my son gets all the time despite getting the perfect 10/10 score for his work, luckily he is still oblivious and not bothered about it[/quote]Singapore wil never adapt such system one...
hiaz. if mirgrate we conside yellow skin not white skin right? -
lavendery:
is about her life as ASD. She dun like hugging. as all human like to be hug so this is lacking in her... lastly she find a solution how to get hug feeling without human hugging her... is the \"Cow\" machine.. (layman for me lanaguage hee... from there on wards she could calm down herself and get over with all her spining needs , things like tat....The movie Temple Grandin will show us how autistic will see the world? Or what does it shows? Just curious.
Abit of out of topic here, if hair test shows high in mercury, means must cut off seafood totally?
and oso her life she meet 1 scientist tat believe in her.. and help her with her ability.. to think alot of thing she learn & get understanding from this scientist.. i feel tat this scientist help her to think her in unique way.. think this we have to learn as a parent.. so we understand how our child think and try to make them understand by the way they think..
from there onwards she start to excel in everyting...
u SEE social communication is very importtant in this movie, cuz she need to tell & explain her thinking... to make pple convince of her ideas...
Still social commnication & interaction is very important in life... and she fight back whenever pple oppose her... or tell them off... u see this....
i mean she beat up the person later she find is not right to beats she has stopped but by using words to scold them or tell them off... -
helplessmum3:
What a sweet boy! :love:Desert Wind,
My son's eye contact are Spontaneous.. he will smile very widely when see me coming... -
Thanks helplessmum for your wonderful review! I'll go and get the DVD

I wonder how many people out there in this world is as lucky as Temple Grandin? Have a wonderful mum and a scientist to help her. From what i know, apparently she's seems to be the only one in this world who is successful. How i wish there's more such Temple Grandin in this world
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.