A Letter from ST Forum
Blobbi,
:salute: :salute: :salute: -
outsider:
:lol: :lol:Hi Bobbi,
Can I copy this and paste in the \"The Expats will Rule S'pore\" Thread too
Can. My basic message is : Mai(4) Hiam(2). It's Hokkien, but HYPY works just as well :). -
Blobbi *raising my eyebrows*
Have you been notti notti??? Told you that you shd ban yourself from eating the sticky chewy chocolate from Swensons
See what sugar rush does to you
Anyways,
Excellent insight ... and v succintly put too *Hi 5* -
But, I really did ban myself from the other thread mah :lol:.Blobbi *raising my eyebrows*
Have you been notti notti??? Told you that you shd ban yourself from eating the sticky chewy chocolate from Swensons
See what sugar rush does to you
Anyways,
Excellent insight ... and v succintly put too *Hi 5*
You mean the mai4 hiam2 is succinct? Me too!!
Oh uh, changing the subject to my favourtie topic, STICKY CHEWY CHOCOLATE!! :drool: The bad news is, I haven't had it yet, so you can imagine how I'm gonna be like afterwards!! *shudder* -
Replying to the part in bold ....Somebody in Maris Stella, please tell this Amit Nagpal to fly kite lah !! Usually arrogant fellas expect everyone to bend rules for them .. !!
You know, when I was searching a Pri School for my girl, I saw my friend's 4 daughters all did so well. So, I also wanted my girl to goto that school. (At that time, didn't do much research lah). Since it is a good school & difficutt to get in, my DW & I started to do some volunteer work.
But later someone told me that school was a SAP school & I asked \"what is a SAP school ?\". When I realized what SAP school is, I know it is not gonna be easy for her (even though we are Chinese) so we look for another school despite clocking many hours. To me if she can cope with normal Chinese, I happy liao !!
I think you made a very wise choice and would say that you and your wife are smart parents. As parents, we know the limits our our own children and know very well what sort of environment would be suitable for our kids, but there are some parents, who only want the 'face status', die die also must send their child to a SAP school, as if SAP schools are the only schools that would be able to give quality education to their kids, only to have their child suffer later on in school.
When my boys were in kindergarten, there was this mum who insisted on sending her son to a SAP school even though he failed all his subjects at K2 level because \"such and such a school is a good school and it is pretigious for my son to study there\", but in the end, it was her poor son who was the one suffering at the \"such and such a good school!\" :roll: -
You mean there is exam at K2 level? :!:
Replying to the part in bold ....VitoRelax:
Somebody in Maris Stella, please tell this Amit Nagpal to fly kite lah !! Usually arrogant fellas expect everyone to bend rules for them .. !!
You know, when I was searching a Pri School for my girl, I saw my friend's 4 daughters all did so well. So, I also wanted my girl to goto that school. (At that time, didn't do much research lah). Since it is a good school & difficutt to get in, my DW & I started to do some volunteer work.
But later someone told me that school was a SAP school & I asked \"what is a SAP school ?\". When I realized what SAP school is, I know it is not gonna be easy for her (even though we are Chinese) so we look for another school despite clocking many hours. To me if she can cope with normal Chinese, I happy liao !!
I think you made a very wise choice and would say that you and your wife are smart parents. As parents, we know the limits our our own children and know very well what sort of environment would be suitable for our kids, but there are some parents, who only want the 'face status', die die also must send their child to a SAP school, as if SAP schools are the only schools that would be able to give quality education to their kids, only to have their child suffer later on in school.
When my boys were in kindergarten, there was this mum who insisted on sending her son to a SAP school even though he failed all his subjects at K2 level because \"such and such a school is a good school and it is pretigious for my son to study there\", but in the end, it was her poor son who was the one suffering at the \"such and such a good school!\" :roll: -
mummy of 2:
You mean there is exam at K2 level? :!:
Not to frighten you, yes, at the time when my boys were in kindgergarten, but don't know how things are done now since my boys are already in their teens. That's like donkeys years ago when they were in kindergarten! :lol:
We actually had a very similar system to the primary school, we had mid-year and year end exam and even had positions and prize giving ceremony at the end of the year etc, very similar to what is currently being done in some primary schools now, but the best part was my boys were very well prepared for P1.
Just to 'frighten' you a bit more, :lol: during my boys' time, their final year end exam has simple problem sums, cloze passages and comprehension! :lol: -
Blobbi:
... Oh uh, changing the subject to my favourtie topic, STICKY CHEWY CHOCOLATE!! :drool: The bad news is, I haven't had it yet, so you can imagine how I'm gonna be like afterwards!! *shudder*
I don't care what you have been (or will be) eating, Blobbi, but what you wrote is so sensible that it helped me detox my brain. :goodpost: -
lovekidsverymuch:
Phew what a relief otherwise I will be :slapshead:
:!: :!: thank goodness now no exams in K2 and also P1, P2 (most schools ) dont have exams25hourmaid:
Not to frighten you, yes, at the time when my boys were in kindgergarten, but don't know how things are done now since my boys are already in their teens. That's like donkeys years ago when they were in kindergarten! :lol:
Just to 'frighten' you a bit more, :lol: during my boys' time, their final year end exam has simple problem sums, cloze passages and comprehension! :lol:
:lol: :lol: to younger parents like LKVM and mummy of 2, I would say your kids are luckier in the sense there is no exams for K1/K2 and P1/P2, but on the other hand, if I have to go through the system again, I still would prefer my kids to get a gist of what exams is about at that age. As I said, because of the exams, my boys were very well prepared for P1.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.