Lunch

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.8k Posts 65 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

Harlequin:

My MIL is using a 米糠油 (rice bran oil, dunno which brand). I do not like the flavour. Her vegs always hv a weird taste.

Haiz, my mum also insists that we use this rice bran oil :slapshead:

U also think there is a weird taste in vegs cooked with rice bran oil? So I am not the only one 😂

Harlequin

Harlequin:

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]My MIL is using a 米糠油 (rice bran oil, dunno which brand). I do not like the flavour. Her vegs always hv a weird taste.

Haiz, my mum also insists that we use this rice bran oil :slapshead:

U also think there is a weird taste in vegs cooked with rice bran oil? So I am not the only one 😂[/quote]Not only weird taste when it's hot, it taste worse if the dish is cold.... and maid complain the fume cause a sticky film to the kitchen cabinet which is hard to clean off.

I am also :skeptical: about these rice bran have so much oil to press mei? Or it is just mixture of all other type of oils?

udders ice cream parlour at jln kilat...expect a full house even on weekdays.

we prefer sugarlight at rail mall...daughter loves 'cookie monster' aka cookies and cream flavour. son loves the mango sorbet. myself...cat mountain king or 猫山王 durian :drool:

• NebbermindN Offline
            Nebbermind

the chun tin place quite chaotic after the mrt work started. have not been there for a while.

This rail mall place…do they have waffles too?

• NebbermindN Offline
              Nebbermind

Btw, the Bt Timah Food Centre also has a ice cream stall, think open late afternoon. Night time more customers, can see many youngsters sitting outside the stall.
              How to enjoy ice cream in a non aircon place?? :scratchhead:

Harlequin

vinegar:

[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]BTW do you know what type of olive oil for what use? I read it somewhere but can't find it now. For example cold pressed is for salad, etc

I kaypo answer. The NTUC housebrand range of oil hv a tag to indicate whether the oil is for cooking or not.

I am using its Extra Light Olive Oil now. Tried its Grapeseed oil, dun really like it - cant explain exactly the reason, just the flavour of the cooked food seems not matching with grapeseed oil.

If I need to deep fry (which I seldom do), I will buy a small bottle of Knife peanut cooking oil.

Due to lack of space, I do not buy the big bottle. Even sesame oil and cooking wine, I buy only the smallest bottle.

My MIL is using a 米糠油 (rice bran oil, dunno which brand). I do not like the flavour. Her vegs always hv a weird taste.

If space is not a constraint, one can always buy the big bottle, then pour out a small portion for daily use into a oil dispenser and keep the big bottle in a cool area, away from the sun/stove.

I do this for the light soya sauce, a small amount in a sauce dispenser, the original bottle in the fridge.

I thought i am the only one....everything i bot,including canned or dried food,oso small bottle or packet.My kitchen is very small,fridge oso very small.At times,i feel very frustrated coz hv to remember what's running out(since these r most small bottles) n keep arranging the food in the cabinet.

i use Rice Bran oil,i like it.I don't like soy bean oil,too liquid...[/quote]Oops, Sorry, Vinegar... didn't see your this post before I complained about rice bran oil... hope you don't mind my complaining. :imsorry:

Rice bran oil is the healthier choice, that's why my mum insists we use it, she is very health conscious, always on the look out for healthier food choices.

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

Btw, the Bt Timah Food Centre also has a ice cream stall, think open late afternoon. Night time more customers, can see many youngsters sitting outside the stall.

u b surprised at the number of youngsters at this food centre at night after their CCA.

The slogan of this ice cream stall : one scoop is not enough

b2b3m4

b2b3m4:

Today's lunch for kiddo's and hubby's bento

1. pan fried batang
                    2. Stir fried veg with miso & ketchup

Yum!

Can share the veg recipe n post pics? :please: :thankyou:

It's ochikeron's recipe

http://youtu.be/N1OVpi0j6AE

I did not have those thinly sliced pork (lazy too), I just used plain mince pork.

No picture.. Packed & gone in the morning.

You should try her bacon wrapped prawns too. It was a hit at DD's school & her friends kept pestering her to bring some more.

I agree...completely.
                      Eating ice cream requires ambience, like drinking tea.
                      I find no kick doing so in a hawker centre.

Desserts

Desserts:

Thanks for sharing the sutchi fillet recipe , buds.

I went down to giant and got 2 packs of the frozen sutchi for 4+ nia. It s on offer. N bought pack of maizena corn flour. Can't wait to try out the reipe 😉

Wow, sahm tan, I love otah too, but hrd it s a lot of work.

Think got to soften the banana leaves in hot water before wrapping the filling.

Hmmmmmm, not too bad lah, just need to blend a couple of ingredients.......the other time I tried, I was defeated by the banana leaf and the cooking part.

But today I was cooking and an idea struck me.........I will cook the otah over the stove like BBQ style........just have to make sure I don't burn the banana leaves LOL

What kind of fish do you use? Wah, home made otah sure very nice, lots of fish meat!
                        Can use the grill mode in the oven ?
                        We love barbecues too!

Jen, your soup sure sounds tasty! I m goin to boil ikan bilis with salmon bones today. Making mee tai mak fish ball soup. Left over soup can make mee hoon kueh soup.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 172 / 180

LaserEyeL
                        LaserEye