2010 DSA(Direct School Admission)
Anyway, your son also not applicable for DSA 2010. hahah! u wori for what?

Ya lor, we all know that your turn's only due in 2011!
mathsparks:
Yep! Most definitely, they are. But not sure if the O subjects are also from Cambridge and same as the rest of cohort.
Wow, mathsparks, I must come and consult you when Smarty is in P6, 2 years from now. Not being kiasu but time flies...;-)
I intend to let him apply for RI thru DSA provided he maintains his current standards
You are a god send esp you have a DS in RI too
Must ask Smarty to be nice and not rude to Auntie Mathsparks cos Auntie Mathsparks doesn't like rude children :rotflmao: -
kiasimom:
dont wait till p6 la. he's in p4 right? rem the maths route that i was telling smarty about? I'm no godsend, just like to share what i know.
Wow, mathsparks, I must come and consult you when Smarty is in P6, 2 years from now. Not being kiasu but time flies...;-)
I intend to let him apply for RI thru DSA provided he maintains his current standards
You are a god send esp you have a DS in RI too
kiasimom:
:? Got meh? Hope I didn't frighten any kids away. I like smarty a lot. but no longer see him around..which is good. I didnt let my kids use the pc during term time either, unless for school work.Must ask Smarty to be nice and not rude to Auntie Mathsparks cos Auntie Mathsparks doesn't like rude children :rotflmao:
Tell him aunty mathsparks wish him all the best in school. -
Hi mathsparks,
Thanks for your reply.
Thankfully, Smarty is very good in Mathematics and I hope he continues to be. He is doing the Maths Olympiad questions on a regular basis.
Yes, he is in P4 now. I have made a copy of all his result slips, UNSW certificates and file them up. I believe this should come in handy when he applies through DSA.
No, Smarty is not allowed to be online now that the school term has started. Maybe he will be allowed an hour during the weekend after he finishes his work.
Oh yes, over at the \" RI thread\" you asked Vikesh not to be rude and stand at one corner...hahaha
:rant:
I don't like rude kids too :celebrate:
Looking forward to more guidance from you.
Thank you very much!! -
Hi Everyone
Hope to receive some pointers on what to / how to best prepare for the RI DSA for 2011 Sec 1
My son’s classmates are mostly aiming for RI … so the competition is there.
He is not in GEP but is considered to be in the top class in the mainstream (school never release class ranking, only guessing).
His result is consistent all the way (but never got 100 marks, yet), got NMOS Silver 2009, in the National Final for FPSP. model pupils for 2 years, awarded Edusave scholarship as well as as bursary / good progress award for the last few years. But does not have sought-after CCA.
Help !
Thanks to everyone ! -
kiasimom:
Oh, that...See, Vikesh was spamming, and I had to stop him before he gets expelled...and back then everyone was using the phrsae go stand in a corner or no din din for you. But, vikesh is fine now, he's still hanging around.
Oh yes, over at the \" RI thread\" you asked Vikesh not to be rude and stand at one corner...hahaha
Thank you very much!!
Guidance from me? 不敢当。。No worries, will do my best...and you're welcome! -
mathsparks:
Mathsparks, do you have something written about how to help GEP kids do DSA? I have never tried that, have always done it the sports or music route. I have friends whose GEP children did not make DSA. Can you share how you did yours?
Oh, that...See, Vikesh was spamming, and I had to stop him before he gets expelled...and back then everyone was using the phrsae go stand in a corner or no din din for you. But, vikesh is fine now, he's still hanging around.kiasimom:
Thank you very much!!
mathsparks:
Mathsparks, do you have something written about how to help GEP kids do DSA? I have never tried that, have always done it the sports or music route. I have friends whose GEP children did not make DSA. Can you share how you did yours?
Oh, that...See, Vikesh was spamming, and I had to stop him before he gets expelled...and back then everyone was using the phrsae go stand in a corner or no din din for you. But, vikesh is fine now, he's still hanging around.kiasimom:
Thank you very much!!
Hi, verykiasu2010,Hi Everyone
Hope to receive some pointers on what to / how to best prepare for the RI DSA for 2011 Sec 1
My son's classmates are mostly aiming for RI .... so the competition is there.
He is not in GEP but is considered to be in the top class in the mainstream (school never release class ranking, only guessing).
His result is consistent all the way (but never got 100 marks, yet), got NMOS Silver 2009, in the National Final for FPSP. model pupils for 2 years, awarded Edusave scholarship as well as as bursary / good progress award for the last few years. But does not have sought-after CCA.
Help !
Thanks to everyone !
so, your son's doing psle this year. I guess you're aware of the RIPMWC and APMOS/SMOPS for P6s? As for sought-after cca, are you refering to entry by sports dsa? Do read thru the pages (all 59 of them :yikes:) and I may be writing a post on preparing that all important portfolio.
Drop me a pm if you need more info. -
2ppaamm:
If you've time read thru the 59 pages, :yikes: again, there're lots of experience shared by other parents as well. You could find a little info here as well:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/gep-or-not-gep-perspectives-gep-parent
Or as I've said in earlier post, I may write abt how to prepare the portfolio/interview.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.