Opinions of the Primary School Registration System
No no no! I don't want that teacher from xxx branded school that tells all the kiddoes to go have tuition posted to my kiddo's school. They can keep those kind of teachers. Thank you very much.How about Put All the teachers and resources from branded schools into other no-brand schools.... hmm.. maybe MOE should consider this?
uproot everything at once.. and transplant. see if the parents will still fight for that place.. :evil: -
pirate:
I didn't misunderstand. Only those who scored well help to put the brand on the school what. How can someone who fails everything contribute to the branding? They do ask for report books at phase 2A2, so they should look at the result. Hahaha ... Why does that sound so evil?
Wait a minute. You misunderstand. Only those kiddoes with at least one parent who is an alumni and who scored all \"A\"s get to have priority. Rest did not contribute enough to putting the brand. :imanangel:rains:
Like what pirate said, it's the alumni who help to put the brand on popular schools, causing those who are non-alumni to scramble for a place at the schools. Yet it's these people who want the alumni to get lost. Kind of ironic there. -
pirate:
Only those kiddoes with at least one parent who is an alumni and who scored all \"A\"s get to have priority. Rest did not contribute enough to putting the brand. :imanangel:
Quite right there. The famous alumni made the school popular. You see many lawyers and rich pple say they were from schools like ACS, you think by sending your kid there, you have a better chance to be like them.
The main reason many kids at branded schools do well is partly because their parents are the same pple who were kiasu enough to PV, kiasu enough to buy houses within 1km, kiasu enough to buy all the assessment books, kiasu enough to send kids for tuition etc. When parents are so involved, they push the kids to excel, hence when the kids excel, the schools become more branded and more popular.
I am all for alumni priority even though I don't intend to use mine but like some said earlier, maybe they should remove the PRs from these earlier phases. -
rains:
Am I the only one and did anyone else rub their eyes on reading this?
And please get this right: it's hardly the teachers who make the school good. It's the children.limlim:
How about Put All the teachers and resources from branded schools into other no-brand schools.... hmm.. maybe MOE should consider this?
uproot everything at once.. and transplant. see if the parents will still fight for that place.. :evil:
You have managed to stand the logic of the stampede to popular schools on it's head, and you didn't even realize it. Why oh why, are such schools multiply oversubscribed at 2b and 2c if not for the fact that parents wish for them to experience strong teaching and holistic programs?
So that their kids can rub shoulders with children of the rich and famous?
Completely illogical. Let's close the teachers' college since they don't seem to make much of a difference. -
Hmm... Actually hor. Yah. :siam:You have managed to stand the logic of the stampede to popular schools on it's head, and you didn't even realize it. Why oh why, are such schools multiply oversubscribed at 2b and 2c if not for the fact that parents wish for them to experience strong teaching and holistic programs?
Completely illogical. Let's close the teachers' college since they don't seem to make much of a difference. -
rains:
That's the most ridiculous statement I came across in the thread..
Haha ... Moe already has so much problems placing one teacher. You want them to die is it?limlim:
How about Put All the teachers and resources from branded schools into other no-brand schools.... hmm.. maybe MOE should consider this?
uproot everything at once.. and transplant. see if the parents will still fight for that place.. :evil:
And please get this right: it's hardly the teachers who make the school good. It's the children.
A teacher is only as good as her students. If your students don't know their ABCs at P3, let's see how you can make them write bombastic compos.
Since the teachers doesn't matter (You took away all their credit), give them to other schools lor.. The brand school can still perform right.. :evil:
Maybe the old student just happened to encounter good teachers that's why the school performed well.
Then the alumni try to claim all the credit. Then they worried when other suggested removing the teachers.. how contradicting.. -
Am I the only one and did anyone else rub their eyes on reading this?
And please get this right: it's hardly the teachers who make the school good. It's the children.rains:
[quote=\"limlim\"]How about Put All the teachers and resources from branded schools into other no-brand schools.... hmm.. maybe MOE should consider this?
[/quote]You are not the only one.
And reading this after a conversation with a parent who told me she does not respect her kid's teachers at all, when she has not even communicated with the teachers, I can't help but :scratchhead: then why send the kid to that school. -
pirate:
Even if so (and i know you are taking a mickey) why limit to alumni children, elitist izzit?
Hmm... Actually hor. Yah. :siam:3Boys:
You have managed to stand the logic of the stampede to popular schools on it's head, and you didn't even realize it. Why oh why, are such schools multiply oversubscribed at 2b and 2c if not for the fact that parents wish for them to experience strong teaching and holistic programs?
That's the most ridiculous statement I came across in the thread..
Haha ... Moe already has so much problems placing one teacher. You want them to die is it?rains:
[quote=\"limlim\"]How about Put All the teachers and resources from branded schools into other no-brand schools.... hmm.. maybe MOE should consider this?
And please get this right: it's hardly the teachers who make the school good. It's the children.
A teacher is only as good as her students. If your students don't know their ABCs at P3, let's see how you can make them write bombastic compos.
Since the teachers doesn't matter (You took away all their credit), give them to other schools lor.. The brand school can still perform right.. :evil:
Maybe the old student just happened to encounter good teachers that's why the school performed well.
Then the alumni try to claim all the credit. Then they worried when other suggested removing the teachers.. how contradicting..[/quote]Exactly!
Thank you. -
Even if so (and i know you are taking a mickey) why limit to alumni children, elitist izzit?[/quote]So true. You got me there. But wait... I said limit to alumni who scored all As. But can make exceptions for doctors, lawyers, bankers, MPs, senior civil servants and cabinet ministers if they did not manage to score all As.
Hmm... Actually hor. Yah. :siam:pirate:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]You have managed to stand the logic of the stampede to popular schools on it's head, and you didn't even realize it. Why oh why, are such schools multiply oversubscribed at 2b and 2c if not for the fact that parents wish for them to experience strong teaching and holistic programs?
Completely illogical. Let's close the teachers' college since they don't seem to make much of a difference.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.