Steamer

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    26 Posts 9 Posters 27.0k Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

TheAnswer:

I think most electric steamers work in the same way. Another brand U-like has a few tiers, but diameter not very big, saw it at Tangs some years ago. OG also hv this.

What is the portion of the dish u can thinking of? If small plates, then the above choices r ok. If the portion size is big, maybe can't fix into these steamers.

Then the other choice is the traditional steaming tall pots available at neighborhood pots n pans shops, like the one at Fajar, which r usu. made in China. If u hv time, can go to Sia Huat to hunt for better quality ones.

I think we will probably buy electric steamer. Every meal I need 3 steamed dishes for 2-3 people. My intention is to go over to prepare lunch and soup for mil every weekday. I prefer her to have organic food and steamed dishes. No processed food which contain sodium nitrite.

Agree electric steamer is more convenient to use. U considering a thermal pot or a microwave oven? U could make soup in a thermal pot at night, then bring over in the morning to heat up before serving. Might save u some time in the morning when preparing lunch items.

vinegar

theanswer,

u can chk out the steamer via this website:
        http://www.fortytwo.sg/home-appliance/kitchen-appliances/steamers.html?nav_ref=h

for me,i use Aerogas double boiler which also comes with steaming function.As the pot is very deep,i can steam 2 dishes by stacking it:
        http://www.fortytwo.sg/aerogaz-3-2l-double-boiler-az-328db.html

the cleaning is fuss free.I just throw away the water after steaming/double boil.It is light n easy to use. I can even set the timer.

Imami

What influences you choose of steamer - the electric ones vs the stove ones (stainless steel racks which stake up)?

Thinking of getting one but can’t decide which version…

SAHM_TAN

Imami:
            What influences you choose of steamer - the electric ones vs the stove ones (stainless steel racks which stake up)?

Thinking of getting one but can't decide which version...
            I go with stainless steel type

TheAnswer

Agree electric steamer is more convenient to use. U considering a thermal pot or a microwave oven? U could make soup in a thermal pot at night, then bring over in the morning to heat up before serving. Might save u some time in the morning when preparing lunch items.
              I have a slow cooker. Do you think I should get a thermal pot too?

TheAnswer

vinegar:
                theanswer,

u can chk out the steamer via this website:
                http://www.fortytwo.sg/home-appliance/kitchen-appliances/steamers.html?nav_ref=h

for me,i use Aerogas double boiler which also comes with steaming function.As the pot is very deep,i can steam 2 dishes by stacking it:
                http://www.fortytwo.sg/aerogaz-3-2l-double-boiler-az-328db.html

the cleaning is fuss free.I just throw away the water after steaming/double boil.It is light n easy to use. I can even set the timer.
                Thanks. I will check it out.

• G Offline
                  Geraldinelim

thanks for sharing! U ladies are great!

Imami

Imami:

But why leh?

Before I became a mum, I Wanted an electric one. I like the idea that I don't need to monitor it. Just turn on the timer. Some even come with guiding notes on how long to steam for different kinds of food. But I never get one eventually. These days, I prefer the stainless steel one's becosthey are much bigger (you can choose the diameter u like. A 28cm one is very versatile). Still considering.... Hence, thought of asking around the factors that influence people's choices.

SAHM_TAN

Imami:

[quote=\"Imami\"]What influences you choose of steamer - the electric ones vs the stove ones (stainless steel racks which stake up)?

But why leh?

Before I became a mum, I Wanted an electric one. I like the idea that I don't need to monitor it. Just turn on the timer. Some even come with guiding notes on how long to steam for different kinds of food. But I never get one eventually. These days, I prefer the stainless steel one's becosthey are much bigger (you can choose the diameter u like. A 28cm one is very versatile). Still considering.... Hence, thought of asking around the factors that influence people's choices.[/quote]I prefer stainless steel material to plastic type.

vinegar

i prefer stainless steel too.Easier to clean compared to plastics.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 3