All About Home Addresses
when we were searching for a primary school for DS some years back, we had similar considerations.
We really loved our place then, but it was simply too far from my MIL’s place. My MIL was going to provide before and after school care for DS.
So we planned to rent out our place, use the collected rent to rent another closer to the school and MIL’s place for the 6 years that DS is at the primary school.
But somehow in the end, we ended selling off our place and bought one near the school. -
Hi tankee,
So eventually did you purchase the home before or after yr kid get into the school?
Felt its a big risk to take if I purchase the new home for the school and in the end cannot get in and was posted to some other schools further away.
Especially when more than 70% of the places of these popular schools are taken up even before phase 2C where distance is considered. -
It was before the registration, but after we were accepted to do PV. Back then, balloting in phase 2B was for 1-2 km, and the place is within 1km.
Anyway, our thoughts were even if it ended up balloting within 1km, our odds should still be ok. And if we got balloted out, we can either try our luck again in phase 2c or choose an alternative nearby. Ultimately we need to be near our MIL for the before and after school care.
Luckily after 80 mornings of traffic control over 4 school terms, all ended well for us. -
If only there is higher certainty for children staying near the school, it will make my decision easier.
My cousin stayed in the HDB flat next to Rosyth. Yet both her son were balloted out as the school has alumni all over Singapore. So sad.
Somehow the system now is, even if you stay beside the school, your chance is still limited by the earlier phases. -
Dear all
My first post in Kiasuparents. The entire primary school enrolment is almost like quantum science with the numerous rules and conditions that perturb parents.
I need a lot of information and advices for my daughter’s P school enrolment. Well, that is in 2 years’ time (she’s born in 2009) and I am currently considering between St Nic, Ai Tong and Nanyang Primary School.
My current registered address is my in-law’s residence at Ang Mo Kio (which is within 1km from St Nics). Separately, I own a property (under construction) within 1km from Nanyang PS while my wife owns a property right opposite Ai Tong. I’m also a SHHK member.
Question 1: Although the Ang Mo Kio address is owned by my in-laws, it had been the registered address in our NRICs for at least 4-5 years. If we were to use this address for our child’s enrolment, is this regarded as within 1km, or is this regarded as 1km-2km on the virtue that the property is not own by us?
Question 2: If I am planning to apply for Ai Tong under Phase 2B, while my registered address is Ang Mo Kio, can I still qualify for registering application with Ai Tong under "within 1km"? i.e. By proofing ownership of a property within 1km from Ai Tong?
Question 3: Ai Tong’s balloting is intense even in 2B. If I fail to get a place at stage 2B in Ai Tong and decide to go for Nanyang Primary School in stage 2C (past 2 years statistics for 2C is better for Nanyang). Can I then revise my registration with another address within 1km from Nangyang? -
hweepang:
My current registered address is my in-law's residence at Ang Mo Kio (which is within 1km from St Nics). Separately, I own a property (under construction) within 1km from Nanyang PS while my wife owns a property right opposite Ai Tong. I'm also a SHHK member.
hweepang:
Within 1 km, if both you and your wife's NRICs show this address.Question 1: Although the Ang Mo Kio address is owned by my in-laws, it had been the registered address in our NRICs for at least 4-5 years. If we were to use this address for our child's enrolment, is this regarded as within 1km, or is this regarded as 1km-2km on the virtue that the property is not own by us?
hweepang:
No.Question 2: If I am planning to apply for Ai Tong under Phase 2B, while my registered address is Ang Mo Kio, can I still qualify for registering application with Ai Tong under \"within 1km\"? i.e. By proofing ownership of a property within 1km from Ai Tong?
hweepang:
No, unless you and your wife change the address shown in your NRICs to this one in Bt Timah.Question 3: Ai Tong's balloting is intense even in 2B. If I fail to get a place at stage 2B in Ai Tong and decide to go for Nanyang Primary School in stage 2C (past 2 years statistics for 2C is better for Nanyang). Can I then revise my registration with another address within 1km from Nangyang?
For using my Bishan address, this means that we need to change the address to bishan in order to qualify for the distance measure, i.e. 1km?hweepang:
My current registered address is my in-law's residence at Ang Mo Kio (which is within 1km from St Nics). Separately, I own a property (under construction) within 1km from Nanyang PS while my wife owns a property right opposite Ai Tong. I'm also a SHHK member.
hweepang:
Within 1 km, if both you and your wife's NRICs show this address.Question 1: Although the Ang Mo Kio address is owned by my in-laws, it had been the registered address in our NRICs for at least 4-5 years. If we were to use this address for our child's enrolment, is this regarded as within 1km, or is this regarded as 1km-2km on the virtue that the property is not own by us?
hweepang:
No.Question 2: If I am planning to apply for Ai Tong under Phase 2B, while my registered address is Ang Mo Kio, can I still qualify for registering application with Ai Tong under \"within 1km\"? i.e. By proofing ownership of a property within 1km from Ai Tong?
hweepang:
No, unless you and your wife change the address shown in your NRICs to this one in Bt Timah.Question 3: Ai Tong's balloting is intense even in 2B. If I fail to get a place at stage 2B in Ai Tong and decide to go for Nanyang Primary School in stage 2C (past 2 years statistics for 2C is better for Nanyang). Can I then revise my registration with another address within 1km from Nangyang?
As mentioned, I bought a property which is currently under construction. So, technically, I cannot change our NRICs to that address. For using an address which is under construction, I think it is allowed as long as I can proof ownership and TOP of that property must be within x years from my child's P1 admission. Am I correct?
On this, will I then be able to use our NRIC address (e.g. Ang Mo Kio or Bishan) when applying under 2B and if the unfortunate circumstances of failing to be balloted in 2B, can I then use proof of ownership of my bt timah property under construction to apply for Nanyang under phase 2C? -
hweepang:
For using my Bishan address, this means that we need to change the address to bishan in order to qualify for the distance measure, i.e. 1km?
Yes.hweepang:
Yes. For property under construction during P1 registration, you may use the address if you move in at the end of your child's P2 education.As mentioned, I bought a property which is currently under construction. So, technically, I cannot change our NRICs to that address. For using an address which is under construction, I think it is allowed as long as I can proof ownership and TOP of that property must be within x years from my child's P1 admission. Am I correct?
hweepang:
No. Please see below:On this, will I then be able to use our NRIC address (e.g. Ang Mo Kio or Bishan) when applying under 2B and if the unfortunate circumstances of failing to be balloted in 2B, can I then use proof of ownership of my bt timah property under construction to apply for Nanyang under phase 2C?
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1002911#p1002911
You don't use the address just to give your child an edge in the registration. You must truly be staying at the address that you use. -
Is it too late to rent a place within 1km of the school I am intending to apply for under 2C for this year registration? Is that any written guideline from moe about how long we should be staying at the rental place before July registration date?
Tks, I guess this must hv been answered somewhere in this thread before… -
sean wife:
Unless you intend to stay in the rented place for the duration of your child's tenure in primary school, please do not use that address to get priority in registration. You could be depriving someone who stays near the school from a place in the school, and if you are found not to be staying at that address sometime later, your child will face the trauma of being forced to leave the school for another school.Is it too late to rent a place within 1km of the school I am intending to apply for under 2C for this year registration? Is that any written guideline from moe about how long we should be staying at the rental place before July registration date?
Tks, I guess this must hv been answered somewhere in this thread before...
Thank you.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.