All about Dishwasher
caffee:
Caffee.... if you go with brands like Miele, Bosch, Asko, you should be safe. Generally, a good dishwasher also needs good tablets and we wouldn't go pass the Finish brand tablets and the rinse aid of the same brand. Of course, we use the hot water cycle. We had a Technika Bellisimo before and it was crap. You can tell the difference in the quality of the machine, the doors of the those European brands are heavy and solid, whereas the Technika Bellisimo range was light and hollow (not sure about the Technika original though). You also don't want the machine to be too noisy during its cycle (naturally all machines are a bit loud when they drain but washing cycle should be relatively quiet).aussiemum:
Hi, I am moving to Sg from overseas and really want to bring my dishwasher with me. Is it easy to buy the dishwasher tablets/powder? Would most of the kitchen has the water pipe outlet for dishwasher?
What model are you currently using ?
Is it good, ie. are the plates clean after washing ?
Good luck with your search. -
myebelle:
No issues with getting dishwasher tablets/powder/gel over here in SG. You can find them in Cold Storage. Of course, miele tablets too but only from the Miele store itself (it works out to be cheaper than Somat and Finish tablets)aussiemum:
Hi, I am moving to Sg from overseas and really want to bring my dishwasher with me. Is it easy to buy the dishwasher tablets/powder? Would most of the kitchen has the water pipe outlet for dishwasher?
Hi... I'm in Australia too, but a Singaporean citizen. Never had a dishwasher in my life until I moved here. Now I can't live without one.
If I ever go back to Singapore, I would love to bring my dishwasher too.
To answer your question, I doubt most of the kitchen have water pipe outlets. But are you leasing/buying a fairly new accommodation? If so, then maybe yes. I'd say private apartments would have a higher chance of having them compared to the HDBs. Anyone please correct me if I'm wrong.
As for piping, no issue either. My dishwasher share the same inlet and outlet as my washing machine, i just cannot use them together at the same time. For HDB or even private apartments, the more important issue is space. The kitchens in Sg are all rather small, especially the newer developements. Most people in SG do not cook or own a dishwasher (they have dosmestic help), so the kitchen can be really tiny. Squeezing a standard size 60cm dishwasher may be a problem. -
I actually read somewhere that an expat got a dishwasher but it's not under her kitchen bench. It stays where the washing machine and dryer is.
I supposed it's a matter of getting used to that kind of layout. You won't be able to put things directly from sink to dishwasher, just have to carry dripping wet and dirty plate to the dishwasher. :?
I don't know what's worse ... hehehe.... I suppose it's better than not having one at all? 
Will water and electricity bills significantly increase?
It is really dependent on how you normally wash dishes. If you are like most Asians I know, who lets the tap run to wash every dish/pot (I know many people who would dunk the entire load into one sink of soapy water, then dunk the soapy dishes through another sink of clean water, that becomes increasingly dirty from the 2nd dish onwards), then I'd say it's probably a yes. I would have to say it's a wild guess though.

I am currently using Miele as it is provided in my apartment but I have a very basic Fisher & Paykel Dishwasher which I used to use at my old place and I want to bring it over.
In terms of cleaning the dishes, both are good. The Miele one is really quiet but you are also paying the extra price for the quietness. I slightly rinse all the dishes before I put them in the dishwasher, so the dishwasher is really just removing the oilly stuff (really good for washing plastic things which are oilly!). I never put pots & pans in as it may damage them.
Most people told me not to bring as I can probably get a maid to do the dishes.... but we are not sure if we want a live in maid and the kids really use LOTS of dishes!!! :faint: -
If washing is really a dread, ever thought of getting a dishwasher? I find cooking more enjoyable (and im more willing to cook) ever since i have a dishwasher. I threw in the kids' and hub's lunch boxes too.
If packet and eat directly from the box, feels rather depressing like what cherry gal said. Anyway, I need a change. 5 months of tingkat really sian. -
Does a dishwasher use more water and also need to spend more time to arrange dishes before you press the ‘start’ button? Washing dishes can be so sian…and if the answers to my 2 queries are NO, then maybe can invest in one.
Does a dishwasher use more water and also need to spend more time to arrange dishes before you press the 'start' button? Washing dishes can be so sian...and if the answers to my 2 queries are NO, then maybe can invest in one.
Dishwasher actually uses less water.
I suppose arrangement is needed because i want to pack 1 day's worth of dishes in the washer. I'm quite greedy, i try to pack in wok and pots too, so need a bit of arranging. But its only that moment which takes less than 5 min.
I also like that fact that the kitchen sink is clear when i rush home to prepare dinner after work. I used to get very irritated with the sink filled with cups and dishes left over from morning's breakfast and the pots and pans from bento making. -
But to buy a dishwasher means we have to do the pipe connection for the water right? n the rearrangment of kitchen counters (but all r fixed to wall so can’t)
I understand from a fren tat a small bin helps to collect the bits n pcs of food… so if dun clear can b quite yucky… is tat right?
Sometimes i buy those honey grilled / black pepper chix from Giant as part of a dish with a soup…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.