All About Autism
Double E:
The mother has a blog:Mummies
Catch the The Joy Truck on Channel 8, 8pm tonight. Today's episode is about an ASD teen. From the trailer, he seems to have a great talent in painting and I think the MediaCorp actors are trying to do a fund raising event by selling his painting.
http://autismworld.blogspot.sg/ -
Its so inspiring and yet so painful. I fully agreed with what the mum say. The awareness is not there yet.
Its a long journey and the worries are endless. -
Nugget, as mothers, we will always worry about our kids, whether NT or special needs. So take heart that this is just part and parcel of our journey.
Jiayou. -
ImMeeMee:
Not fair leh! We, fathers, worry just as much if not more! Just that we are :imcool: and donch show it! :boogie:Nugget, as mothers, we will always worry about our kids, whether NT or special needs. So take heart that this is just part and parcel of our journey.
Jiayou. -
'nebbermind' lah! :siam:
Not fair leh! We, fathers, worry just as much if not more! Just that we are :imcool: and donch show it! :boogie:ImMeeMee:
Nugget, as mothers, we will always worry about our kids, whether NT or special needs. So take heart that this is just part and parcel of our journey.
Jiayou. -
Not fair leh! We, fathers, worry just as much if not more! Just that we are :imcool: and donch show it! :boogie:ImMeeMee:
Jiayou.
Haha ... Oopsie, don't mean it that way.
Mothers tend to translate their worries into words, while fathers tend to translate their worries into actions.
So you see, we are the same and yet different. :evil:
ps. Btw I din know you are a dad ... -
nugget
are u registering P1 for your boy this year? how is it? -
Double E:
Double E,nugget
are u registering P1 for your boy this year? how is it?
Yes will be registering for this year. Should be okay. The school I am going for is not super popular. Just a normal neighborhood school.
I don't intend to declare until he has been accepted. -
Hi… not sure if this is the right place to post & I’ve been reading more than posting. My son is 7 this year & has high functioning autism. We diagnosed his condition at 2yo & started intervention since then. We’ve been very blessed to have had gotten wonderful support for him in terms of his ed psych, principal/teachers at the church kindy, OT, ST etc. On advice of his ed psych and OT, we had deferred him one year from P1 so he’ll be attending P1 next year.
Yup we are now in the current P1 frenzy. We are lucky that my husband is an old boy of a school so we managed to secure a place without need for balloting… however the school is one of those more academically stressful "elite" schools (don’t dare to reveal school name). And therein comes my worry… deep in my heart I’ve always always hoped that we could maybe get into another all boys school which has more ASD/special needs children and is known to have a more nurturing environment. However this year is crazy… even within 1km for phase 2b, there was need for balloting. As such we didn’t dare to withdraw our son from our initial phase 2A registration.
I’m ashamed to say that yesterday I openly sobbed and cried… my son can cope thus far in mainstream kindy with support. However I’m very worried that he would stand out cos this "elite" school has way fewer ASD/ special needs children in their cohort and I’m so afraid that he cannot cope with the academic stress. I would honestly honestly prefer that he be in a school that is less driven by academic benchmarks and instead have more chances to build on his character and values. It’s also difficult as my husband and I don’t quite agree about putting my son in a neighborhood school esp since husband is an alumni. Perhaps I worry too much… my husband and I have actually met up with the HOD and have declared his condition and have really tried to advocate for our son. My preference has always been to prepare the ground and if son overperforms and exceeds expectations, that’s a bonus. Better than to "surprise" the teachers when he throws tantrums and/or exhibit inappropriate behaviour.
Apologies for the long post… I’ve read through this thread and feel encouraged by so many sharings. Although we’ve been preparing our son for P1 mainstream, I still feel very worried and scared for him and how he’ll cope. Worry as well if he’ll be picked on for being a year older and when he gets exempted from Mother Tongue (his language aspect is very bad as seen from diagnosis we just did). I can’t help but feel that he would cope better in the all-boys school but we were just so petrified by fear of balloting that we didn’t withdraw his initial registration. Moving forward, I’ve stopped being as emo as yesterday & I hope to continue to learn more on how to engage the school to continue to support him… -
Hi Woggles!
Completely understand your concerns, they are all valid & I think you've done all you can. :snuggles:
I can only suggest that you proceed on with this elite school & see how it goes. You never know, your DS may surprise you & adapt well into the school. Or perhaps he'd blessed with caring classmates & teachers- you never know. Otherwise, if you sense he's not fitting well mid way, you can try to ask for transfer later on? I'm no expert but your reasons for transfer seems valid enough & probably would be entertain by MOE & the other school (of course subject to their availability). To be a bit kiasu, you may wana put your name up on waiting list at the other school? I dunno
if this advice is feasible. Of course, it's not fool proof as its up to the other school to decide if they want to accept your application.
Meanwhile :xedfingers: & 'jia you'! :rahrah:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.