2014 P1 Registration Exercise for 2015 In-Take
bagabunny:
Since you will only register next year, monitor this year's trend for PT/Qifa first.[/quoteqms:
[quote=\"BaconEgg\"]PT is within outside 1km, within 2km for me. Qifa is another consideration. Clementi i am not keen (dont know why..maybe traffic condition there?)
I like what I saw at PT open house/orientation.
Bacon Egg...could we happen to be neighbours ?
Rather bumped I didn't know PT had an open house last wk.
I also prefer PT. Many friends' kids there. All positive feedback
If u dunwana risk balloting..why not do pv for PT[/quote]I have got PV for QF already..no time for more PV. QF seems natural choice due to distance. I like PT but it has no student care inhouse.... -
Bacon Egg…could we happen to be neighbours ?
Rather bumped I didn’t know PT had an open house last wk.
I also prefer PT. Many friends’ kids there. All positive feedback
If u dunwana risk balloting…why not do pv for PT[/quote]
PT has student care ah…
I have got PV for QF already…no time for more PV. QF seems natural choice due to distance. I like PT but it has no student care inhouse…[/quote] -
Sorry…msg got embedded
PT has student care -
dimension:
[/quote]At least you got accepted as PV for HW right? Most ppl don't even get selected these days!thx for ur input!!
Hmm... if I were you, I wouldn't 'sacrifice' my daughter's chance of getting into and staying in a gd sch like SCGS... it's quite tough for others who would like to get in so if you have 2A, should not waste it?
factors going against SCGS would be distance + separate school (inconvenience to my kids caretakers who are totally against the idea of her going SCGS
). i do agree that it does seem 'wasted' and like 'unfair' for my girl to pave my boy's path hor... furthermore IP lehh!! arghhh no nid stress for PSLE + Olvls!!
PV for my boy is non-issue haha i dont mind to contribute to the schools my time if can get my kids placement. unlike most ppl against PV i think its good chance to know the school better b4 committing my kids 6 or more yr of education there. of course then comes the problem of finding the time... :skeptical: but if he can go SAJS oso good. another IP then no nid headache over PSLE + Os... haha seem like ideal solution hor but then if cannot get in how?? :frustrated:
ya worse case scenario would be fail to get ballot for phase 2b and 2c despite 40h PV and giving up phase 2A chance of entering scgs...
ultimately for kids convenience i think 1st choice is still HWS la... now headache is coz phase2b <1km oso no guarantee... hai so sad
Bluebottle:
[quote=\"dimension\"]
yes i want to register my DD in HWS but not cfm go in even if i PV and within 1km. do u think i should chance it for sake of my dragon boy? means if ballot dun get will go some unknown school dunno where
SCGS> yes phase 2A. if she go scgs i'm tinking either pull her out in p3 transfer to HWS (for boy) or i can PV again at HWS (near) or SAJS (further) for him
i guess my priority is distance + chance of getting in
Then for yr son, when it comes to his year, then see what he can get into? PV if it helps?
Otherwise, if you try for HW for yr daughter, and not successful, kinda disadvantages her too.
Why yr relatives don't like SCGS? Uniform is quite nice heh. -
Bluebottle:
ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.
At least you got accepted as PV for HW right? Most ppl don't even get selected these days!
Why yr relatives don't like SCGS? Uniform is quite nice heh.
SCGS> they don't like it seems elitist. we're from mediocre background, they don't want dd to feel outcasted, they also feel SCGS too \"angmo\" pai. vs HWS is more traditional chinese. uniform, well haha cooling lah, sg so hot
bagabunny:
PT Student Care is made available to needy families only and limited intake.Sorry..msg got embedded
PT has student care -
dimension:
I have a strong preference for navy blue and white. Haha. That explains part of my inclination. I also worry for my son should he go RV cos we jiak kang dang one.
ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.Bluebottle:
At least you got accepted as PV for HW right? Most ppl don't even get selected these days!
SCGS> they don't like it seems elitist. we're from mediocre background, they don't want dd to feel outcasted, they also feel SCGS too \"angmo\" pai. vs HWS is more traditional chinese. uniform, well haha cooling lah, sg so hot
dimension:
My sis studied at SCGS sec, me studied at MGS sec after we graduated from Nan Chiau Pri. She liked SCGS uniform and I liked MGS uniform , lol.
ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.Bluebottle:
My sis is now an associate professor in NUS. We are not really rich and quite a number of our schoolmates weren't rich either. I have schoolmates lived in 3 room hdb flats in kallang and bendemeer and I don,t think we were outcasted. I have a friend , both his children study at Nyps and he is not rich.
My sis has two boys, if she has a girl, she will definitely put her girl in SCGS.Don't waste your chance to let your girl studies at SCGS, it's a great school, trust me. My cousin rented a place near there just to get his girl in when their new place was still under construction ( new place far away from SCGS) , luckily his girl got in and her PSLE result was pretty good, 246,managed to continue her studies there. -
dimension:
But they sent you there right? :evil:
How did you find it when you were there? had an okay experience?
I think kids are less elitist than we think they are, usually it's the parents/relatives' generation that have such bugbears. -
bagabunny:
I have a strong preference for navy blue and white. Haha. That explains part of my inclination. I also worry for my son should he go RV cos we jiak kang dang one.[/quote]Haha, there are a prolific number of neighbourhood schools with that colour combi too.
ya problem is HWS doesnt restrict PV. so they take in everyone. thats why even <1km oso nid to ballot. other schools select PV so that after completion PVs almost sure get into schools. so each has its pros and cons ba.dimension:
[quote=\"Bluebottle\"]
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.