National Junior College (Junior High)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.3k Posts 467 Posters 851.3k Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

Bryan:

BTW, emails to this account \"[email protected]\" does NOT get seem to any replies.
      Really, meh? I emailed 2x last year and got replies, altho' 2 days later. But emails to individual teachers (can see all the emails on the NJC website) are replied within the day itself - very quick.

• phankaoP Offline
        phankao

The PAACT said they do organize function like \" Have breakfast with the Principal\". Maybe you should attend. :
        Aiyoh, in my boys' primary school, there's always Breakfast with Principal, but I rarely ever attend. Not the \"networking\" type. Give me an online forum anyday!

NJC is supposed to be a premier school, but the NEW buildings really need touching up. HCI is older but does not look so bad. If MOE can build NYGH and RGPS with that level of quality, why not NJC ?

I think the very reason is that NJC's buildings/rebuilding is managed by MOE itself, while that of HCI & NYGH are privately handled by their individual school boards themselves bc they are independent! Big difference hor.

It looks like MOE made what can be considered as a financial decision by *selling* the better piece of land to NYGH and taking the less-favourable piece of land for their own government-run school (NJC, lah!). Bc can make more money from that piece of land sold to nygh, right?

May be not true. I have been to see those schools that have under gone PRIME rebuilt - very good - and they are neighborhood government school, eg clementi town sec sch

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

Wonder if anyone got a mild shock in one of the ladies' toilet? A pair of legs lying on the floor from one of the cubicles?

I was speechless.

Huh ??? What was that ? :?

A cleaning lady (deduced from the t-shirt she was wearing, can see becos she lay on one side) taking a nap.

• JenniferJ Offline
              Jennifer

I have been to HCI and ACS(I) during their open house. IMO the campus at HCI is no better than NJC. Choice of brown and white makes the place very gloomy, plus my boy noticed many peelings at some walls. Though from far the place looks tall (main building built on higher grounds), the classrooms at the back were actually stepped downwards. Quite stuffy on a hot day.

NJC looks alright with its white walls. I was sitting on the right side of the hall looking at the photo frames of past and present principals. Some of the frames were tilted. I think it is just me who cant stand things not in the right position. Then the toilets. I think the old campus toilets were more presentable, no clutter or cleaning ladies napping or resting inside.

Among the three, I like ACS(I). Better upkeep of building (most probably becos it is independent school with fund raising events, higher sch fees, etc).

At the start of the principal’s speech, she mentioned MOE approved fundings for better facilities. But the sch decided not to move and so the approved facilities wld be built on existing sch grounds. What a pity.

No doubt I am disappointed, I kept these thoughts to myself. Hubby already told me to shut up.

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

Bryan:

BTW, emails to this account \"[email protected]\" does NOT get seem to any replies.

Really, meh? I emailed 2x last year and got replies, altho' 2 days later. But emails to individual teachers (can see all the emails on the NJC website) are replied within the day itself - very quick.

Mine was a week later.

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

While I was q'g to buy PE attire, a mother told me that Finest @ Beauty World Centre sells NJC uniforms too.

That's interesting - maybe they'd have smaller sizes? I saw some boys smaller sized than my boy wearing fitting uniforms(my boy wearing smallest size fr bibi/baba). Altho' I also saw some boys looking really untidy in roomy uniforms.

Maybe they also did major alterations like mine?

I planned to go down to Beauty World this afternoon. wld update later 😄

• JenniferJ Offline
                    Jennifer

For those who have not washed the red Genius T-shirt, take note that the t-shirt cant undergo two rounds of washing machine washing. Why?

I machine-washed it on Monday evening, becos my boy said he needs to wear it on Tues morning (he made a mistake, it shld be for another day). So I soaked it on Tues night and machined wash on Wed morning. There are some peelings off the gold-coloured wordings.

• JenniferJ Offline
                      Jennifer

NJC of 20 ~ 30 years ago not so disorganised. Was there this afternoon and honestly, felt that the school is in quite a \"sorry\" state, made worse by the heavy downpour

The way the tour organised for the prospective JC1 students was really messy and disorganised. It need not have to be like that.
                      Was the tour organised by the school and carried out by the batch of student council?

With our present generation kids pampered by maids, I have little confidence in the organisational skills of our children. This might be a sweeping statement. Purely just my humble opinion. Please do not take offence if you disagree.

Like some have mentioned, these little hiccups provide training grounds for the children.

For those who have not washed the red Genius T-shirt, take note that the t-shirt cant undergo two rounds of washing machine washing. Why?

I machine-washed it on Monday evening, becos my boy said he needs to wear it on Tues morning (he made a mistake, it shld be for another day). So I soaked it on Tues night and machined wash on Wed morning. There are some peelings off the gold-coloured wordings.
                        not wise to soak overnite, especially color clothes

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 534