National Junior College (Junior High)
haha, what is the going rate, looks like u know how to fund ?[/quote]
Eh, ACS(I), you can \"fund\" your child's DSA too, you know.
Coffers must be quite full. I heard of rather large sums.
I don't know lah. I am poor church mouse and have 4 children to send to school - that's why my boy is in NJC. Haha!!! And the schools my kids are in need funds, but don't take such.
I heard ppl pay 5-figure. -
I don't know lah. I am poor church mouse and have 4 children to send to school - that's why my boy is in NJC. Haha!!! And the schools my kids are in need funds, but don't take such.
haha, what is the going rate, looks like u know how to fund ?verykiasu2010:
Eh, ACS(I), you can \"fund\" your child's DSA too, you know.
I heard ppl pay 5-figure.[/quote]
wah 5 figure is a big range, from 10,000 to 99,999 ...tsk tsk -
Personally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :
The corridors are uneven and when it rains, puddles gather / ponding problem
Staircase design was inappropriate - all wet with water cascade like yesterday - can't they do something about it ? Has anyone fell before due to wet / slippery stairs ? RGPS is also a government school at next door - and look at their staircase on each block - no issue with wet weather
Understand that they have a major building project in progress but that does not seem to contribute to the general feel of untidiness in the campus
Some of these housekeeping things do not cost big money.
:!: :!: :!:
Anyone in the PAACT? Here's an urgent request. -
Ok, if I strike TOTO big big or Big Sweep :lol: I will fund NJC for facilities upkeep
Eh, ACS(I), you can \"fund\" your child's DSA too, you know.Jennifer:
Among the three, I like ACS(I). Better upkeep of building (most probably becos it is independent school with fund raising events, higher sch fees, etc).
Upkeep only hor. Dun think can support upgrade :siam: -
Seems like you will strike NJC off your list for JC educationPersonally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :
Staircase design was inappropriate - all wet with water cascade like yesterday - can't they do something about it ? Has anyone fell before due to wet / slippery stairs ? RGPS is also a government school at next door - and look at their staircase on each block - no issue with wet weather
Understand that they have a major building project in progress but that does not seem to contribute to the general feel of untidiness in the campus
HCI is also old. Some complained cobwebs in the hostel room - probably not occupied for a period of time. However as a whole, the HCI campus does not seem untidy
Anyoneโs child in OG1? Or other OG can also provide an update for todayโs activities or what to expect tmr?
Ah boy not feeling well this morning, now at home resting. -
noob:
As expected my boy did not enjoy the mass dance (think he takes after me- poorly coordinated for dance) :lol:Jennifer:
Today's games were more fun, except for the mass dance session.
My dd commented that the seniors are very helpful and friendly, easy to communicate and fun loving. I believe NJC will bring our kids to a greater height.
The students wld be missing the originally scheduled French lesson tmr. Though a teacher announced that NJC will be submitting an excuse chit, do we have to arrange for make-up lessons on our own? -
No. Will not.
Seems like you will strike NJC off your list for JC educationverykiasu2010:
Personally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :
HCI is also old. Some complained cobwebs in the hostel room - probably not occupied for a period of time. However as a whole, the HCI campus does not seem untidy
All OGs doing the same thing lah. All going to sentosa tomorrow.Anyone's child in OG1? Or other OG can also provide an update for today's activities or what to expect tmr?
Ah boy not feeling well this morning, now at home resting. -
I was there on the first day of orientation and stayed throughout the session till the program ended at 4:30pm.
Here were my observations:
1) It didnt start off with a very positive impression due to the less than ideal organisation of the entire orientation program. Small hiccup here and there and confusions especially during the national anthem session really did not jive well with the principalโs message that being the name "Natioanal Junior College", there are certainly value to uphold,โฆ This is a big boo boo in my opinion.
2) As Jennifer has observed, the photos of past and present principals on display on the wall were tilted. I saw that too, and some to them are not mildly tilted. Giving me an impression that the school is quite slack.
3) Yes, I agreed students and staffs are very friendly. This should be a given, period. Imagine if parents and new students encounter a rude shock on the very first day, I can see that NJC will be on the front page of The Straits Times.
We all understand that top schools are hard to get in, however, top schools are also competiting amoung themselves to attract top students. If a top school cannot attract top students, their COP will drop and will be on a spiral effect.
4) Signages are generally insufficient for first time visitors. I believe the school can put up some temporary signages for the first few days for easy navigation around the campus.
5) At the end of the day, I left thinking whether the messiness was partly contributed by the fact that both orientation week and school term starts on the same day. Staffs have to deal with increased administrative load for 2 different group of students.
6) Why NJC did not have their orientation 1 week before term start just like other IP school? Is this because NJC is not an Independent school and they have more MOE red taps?
I am sure all schools are not perfect, but I looking forward to seeing NJC being the true National reference standard in the very near future.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.