National Junior College (Junior High)
leungyc:
:? Is the admin very very sure?Jennifer:
The students wld be missing the originally scheduled French lesson tmr. Though a teacher announced that NJC will be submitting an excuse chit, do we have to arrange for make-up lessons on our own?
I called the school this morning and they say those attending 3rd lang will need to attend 3rd lang tomorrow, and dont need to go Sentosa, and also dont need to go school tomorrow. Seems there is new developments.
I thought the sch sent an excuse chit to MOELC, so kena rejected???
aiyo, no one called. The OGL sms my boy what to bring for tmr trip only. He just sms her back to ask abt this. Hopefully she replies asap.
Else will call MOELC tmr first thing in the morning. -
Ok, if I strike TOTO big big or Big Sweep :lol: I will fund NJC for facilities upkeep
Eh, ACS(I), you can \"fund\" your child's DSA too, you know.phankao:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]
Among the three, I like ACS(I). Better upkeep of building (most probably becos it is independent school with fund raising events, higher sch fees, etc).
Coffers must be quite full. I heard of rather large sums.
Upkeep only hor. Dun think can support upgrade :siam:[/quote]Can lah, people say all ACS parents very rich one what ?
Can lah, people say all ACS parents very rich one what ? :D[/quote]Like real hor
Ok, if I strike TOTO big big or Big Sweep :lol: I will fund NJC for facilities upkeepJennifer:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
Eh, ACS(I), you can \"fund\" your child's DSA too, you know.
Coffers must be quite full. I heard of rather large sums.
Upkeep only hor. Dun think can support upgrade :siam:
Yeah, looks like it. Probably verykiasu2010 is thinking of RGS & RI category. NJC, maybe only as a spare tyre lah ...
Seems like you will strike NJC off your list for JC educationverykiasu2010:
Personally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :
The corridors are uneven and when it rains, puddles gather / ponding problem
Staircase design was inappropriate - all wet with water cascade like yesterday - can't they do something about it ? Has anyone fell before due to wet / slippery stairs ? RGPS is also a government school at next door - and look at their staircase on each block - no issue with wet weather
Understand that they have a major building project in progress but that does not seem to contribute to the general feel of untidiness in the campus
HCI is also old. Some complained cobwebs in the hostel room - probably not occupied for a period of time. However as a whole, the HCI campus does not seem untidy
Some of these housekeeping things do not cost big money.
Am sorry to hear Ah Boy is sick. What happen ? Wishing him a speedy recovery.Anyone's child in OG1? Or other OG can also provide an update for today's activities or what to expect tmr?
Ah boy not feeling well this morning, now at home resting.
Today my girl say is very fun, play a lot games. Day 3 is more fun day Day 2 which in turn is more fun than Day 1.
Not bad, looks like it is getting better & better as each day pass
No. Will not.[/quote]Really ?
Seems like you will strike NJC off your list for JC educationJennifer:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]Personally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :
The corridors are uneven and when it rains, puddles gather / ponding problem
Staircase design was inappropriate - all wet with water cascade like yesterday - can't they do something about it ? Has anyone fell before due to wet / slippery stairs ? RGPS is also a government school at next door - and look at their staircase on each block - no issue with wet weather
Understand that they have a major building project in progress but that does not seem to contribute to the general feel of untidiness in the campus
HCI is also old. Some complained cobwebs in the hostel room - probably not occupied for a period of time. However as a whole, the HCI campus does not seem untidy
Some of these housekeeping things do not cost big money.
You're an NJCian in the 80s ?
NJC in the 80s at the old location, though old, was not so disorganised, imho -
Thanks Jennifer for the infoMade some enquiries at Finest @ Beauty World. They had been supplying NJC JC uniform since 1986. Did not get the contract last or this year. Nevertheless, if someone needs custom made NJC uniform, can approach them with a sample (to get the design and correct shade of cloth) and also bring the child to the shop for measurements. It's $20 for shirt, one week wait. Did not ask about the pants.
They do not supply PE attire or Polo shirt for NJC. -
then definitely the fees paid by RGPS students are even negligible compared to secondary school students. Both are gov't schools.[/quote]RGPS got lotsa rich parents lah ...
Yahor ?VitoRelax:
[quote=\"csc\"]
Don't forget .... njc students are not paying fees like hci and nygh - they are independent schools - u know?
But the collection of fees by Independent schools from parents alone sure not enough to do such major renovation works lah.
I think some rich VIPs must have donated money lah .... -
All upgrading works will have to follow queue in the MOE list, I suppose !!VitoRelax:
[quote=\"phankao\"]
I think the very reason is that NJC's buildings/rebuilding is managed by MOE itself, while that of HCI & NYGH are privately handled by their individual school boards themselves bc they are independent! Big difference hor.
It looks like MOE made what can be considered as a financial decision by *selling* the better piece of land to NYGH and taking the less-favourable piece of land for their own government-run school (NJC, lah!). Bc can make more money from that piece of land sold to nygh, right?
Maybe HCI & NYGH got rich ex student who donate lots of money for upgrading works ...
Hopefully some rich ex NJCian will donate some money to NJC ....
There has not been any upgrading work done in NYGH yet. We are talking about the building quality as it is. For the Nanyang family of schools, they have to raise either 5% or 3% of the total cost, the rest paid by MOE. At issue is how NJC buildings were designed without consideration of the elements and its built quality. We are not asking for condo finishes but for a premier school, it is very lacking[/quote]Prior to the lastest major upgrading in NYGH, NYGH also looked run down what ?
If you talking about design, the design is by Architects in the MOE, nothing to do with the management of NJC lah ...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.