National Junior College (Junior High)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.3k Posts 467 Posters 855.2k Views 1 Watching
      VitoRelax

[quote=\"csc\"]
      Don't forget .... njc students are not paying fees like hci and nygh - they are independent schools - u know?

Yahor ?

But the collection of fees by Independent schools from parents alone sure not enough to do such major renovation works lah.

I think some rich VIPs must have donated money lah ....

then definitely the fees paid by RGPS students are even negligible compared to secondary school students. Both are gov't schools.[/quote]RGPS got lotsa rich parents lah ...

VitoRelax

[quote=\"phankao\"]
        I think the very reason is that NJC's buildings/rebuilding is managed by MOE itself, while that of HCI & NYGH are privately handled by their individual school boards themselves bc they are independent! Big difference hor.

It looks like MOE made what can be considered as a financial decision by *selling* the better piece of land to NYGH and taking the less-favourable piece of land for their own government-run school (NJC, lah!). Bc can make more money from that piece of land sold to nygh, right?

All upgrading works will have to follow queue in the MOE list, I suppose !!

Maybe HCI & NYGH got rich ex student who donate lots of money for upgrading works ...

Hopefully some rich ex NJCian will donate some money to NJC ....

There has not been any upgrading work done in NYGH yet. We are talking about the building quality as it is. For the Nanyang family of schools, they have to raise either 5% or 3% of the total cost, the rest paid by MOE. At issue is how NJC buildings were designed without consideration of the elements and its built quality. We are not asking for condo finishes but for a premier school, it is very lacking[/quote]Prior to the lastest major upgrading in NYGH, NYGH also looked run down what ?

If you talking about design, the design is by Architects in the MOE, nothing to do with the management of NJC lah ...

VitoRelax

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]

May be not true. I have been to see those schools that have under gone PRIME rebuilt - very good - and they are neighborhood government school, eg clementi town sec sch

PRIME programme also must wait for turn lah. Cannot expect MOE to upgrade all at the same time lah ...

After all, MOE is now promoting neighbourhood schools ...

The thing is, NJC's current location was built only in 1996. Those under PRIME were much older![/quote]That is why those that is much older will get priority under PRIME to undergo upgrading !!

VitoRelax

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]Personally I feel that the NJC campus was badly built :

The corridors are uneven and when it rains, puddles gather / ponding problem

Staircase design was inappropriate - all wet with water cascade like yesterday - can't they do something about it ? Has anyone fell before due to wet / slippery stairs ? RGPS is also a government school at next door - and look at their staircase on each block - no issue with wet weather

Understand that they have a major building project in progress but that does not seem to contribute to the general feel of untidiness in the campus

HCI is also old. Some complained cobwebs in the hostel room - probably not occupied for a period of time. However as a whole, the HCI campus does not seem untidy

Some of these housekeeping things do not cost big money.

Must elect you to sit on the Board already !! šŸ˜„

Thank u 4 the joke![/quote]No joke leh. Serious one. I mean elect you as Parents Rep. It is good to have people like you to feedback to NJC so that all of us benefit. That of course is provided you want to enrol your kid in NJC in the first place lah ...

VitoRelax

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]
              Ok, if I strike TOTO big big or Big Sweep :lol: I will fund NJC for facilities upkeep šŸ˜‰

Upkeep only hor. Dun think can support upgrade :siam:

Can lah, people say all ACS parents very rich one what ? šŸ˜„

Like real hor :P[/quote]Hahaha that's what I heard people say mah šŸ˜„ šŸ˜„ šŸ˜„

Not true meh ??? šŸ˜„ šŸ˜„ šŸ˜„

• JenniferJ Offline
                Jennifer

Prior to the lastest major upgrading in NYGH, NYGH also looked run down what ?

If you talking about design, the design is by Architects in the MOE, nothing to do with the management of NJC lah ...
                The chief architect for NYGH new campus then was Mrs Ong Teng Cheong, an ex-NYGH student. Of course must be good job done leh.

Ever heard of any VIP doing campus planning for NJC???

VitoRelax

The chief architect for NYGH new campus then was Mrs Ong Teng Cheong, an ex-NYGH student. Of course must be good job done leh.

No wonder lah ... Now we know .... Well done ... thanks for the info ...
                  [quote]Ever heard of any VIP doing campus planning for NJC???[/quote]From NJC alumni, no architect meh ?

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

Ever heard of any VIP doing campus planning for NJC???

Which alumni, har? Oh, I know - you, lor! šŸ˜‰

VitoRelax

My girl received sms from her OGL reminding them to bring umbrella, raincoat, money … etc.

OGL also informed that confirmed class will be announced tomorrow !!

All the best to all …

VitoRelax

At the start of the principal's speech, she mentioned MOE approved fundings for better facilities. But the sch decided not to move and so the approved facilities wld be built on existing sch grounds. What a pity.
                        Actually, when the Principal said \"the school decided not to move\", was she referring to:

a) the school decided not to move to a new place a few years later with new buildings (moving as in like River Valley High, moving to a new place with new buildings ?) OR

b) the school decided not to move to a temporary holding area while upgrading works is being carried out on existing buildings ?

I thought she was referring to (b). So if she was referring to (b), then I thought it was good not to move to a temporary holding area bcos usually temporary area will have much worse off facilities & could be in dunno which part of S'pore.

I don't think she was referring to (a) because the cost of building a new campus for NJC is a lot more. But I could be wrong ...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 55 / 534