Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      Andaiz

hi Andaiz, sounds like having a maid is like having another child....I also worry about the friends my kids mix with. 😛

Yeah, my girl can say \"maids you can send home, mummy...but you're stuck with us!\" 😉

Yes, these rules have to be clear. Sometimes we can't mother them too much too - very repressive for them too! Imagine if your boss micro- manages! :faint:

peapot

Andaiz your hokkien is as good as your English!! Ha…I like leh…

Andaiz

peapot:
          Andaiz your hokkien is as good as your English!! Ha.....I like leh....

Thank you, thank you...sometimes talk about maids, must de-stress oso...hence this thread is moving very fast.

Linguistic skills can pian chiak, pian chiak lah...mebbe I should secretly learn tagalog :evil: oso...then can hear the maid's conversations to report here! 😉

peapot

Why not? Go ahead to pick it up. I m trying to learn Japanese too.

Your smart cookie won’t try to be funny lah, she’s still new mah.

My new maid is now cleaning my toilet. I feel sad for her because she’s got a short tongue so she can’t pronounce words properly. What do you call such a problem? Anyway, I hope you understand what I mean. If the rest of the months is as good as today, then I’ll feel so blessed!!!

Andaiz

peapot,

To borrow heavily from our autumnbronze friend who's away on holiday, we need to \"expect the best but prepare for the worst\". What I've learnt is also to expect somethings but don't be too hung up if it's not delivered.

If short-tongue but still can understand without :? :roll: all the time, then \"livaable\" right?

peapot:
              If the rest of the months is as good as today, then I'll feel so blessed!!!
              :celebrate: one day at a time, galfren, one day at a time!

KopiYing

Andaiz:
                KopiYing, your maid's vaciliation is just hilarious...and so typical loh! :roll:

KopiYing:

next she said wanna attend computer lesson at Trinity Church @ Paya lebar, but put off the idea coz she said gotta buy uniform. Uniform :?

If that time is near June, it's probably money to buy uniform for her son in the PH.

She meant the church requires them to buy uniform to attend the computer class. Well i can juz call & enquire but since she put off the idea we also din mention anymore.

Andaiz

KopiYing:
                  She meant the church requires them to buy uniform to attend the computer class. Well i can juz call & enquire but since she put off the idea we also din mention anymore.

:? that's quite strange. I'd expect the cash to go to something more concrete than uniforms! These ladies already have problems sending enough money home.

peapot

Can I know how many of you train your own maids? Or do you hire people like that auntie from TCS show to train your maid?

Can initiative be trained? My new maid today like statue. I told her to be more proactive and keep a lookout on time because I wouldn’t want my gal to miss her school bus. Now I m worried she can’t handle on Monday when I m not around.

KopiYing

Talk about PROACTIVE…

My maid’s contract ending soon and she still need green light for many things & reminders. Dunno isint becoz she doesnt wanna think or simply wait for instructions…

Andaiz

peapot:
                        Can I know how many of you train your own maids? Or do you hire people like that auntie from TCS show to train your maid?
                        I train my maids to varying degree - depending on their initiative (again!) and memory 😛 level. Primarily how I want household chores done, and schedules that they die-die have to meet (like kid's meals, school bus etc). Rest, have gotten the kids to learn to pick up after themselves, get their bags ready for various activities. They'd been frustrated with HRH (my previous maid) and felt that they could do a much better job...so mummy here's riding on their new-found skills and building on them 😉

Cooking (which my smart cookie likes) is taught by grandma (my mum) for weekdays and that's fairly standard. On weekends, we (DH and I) take over so she helps wash and clean up.
                        peapot:
                        Can initiative be trained?
                        Can creativity be trained? Answer is yes! Again, to various degrees. If maid sees it in her favour to be pro-active, she will! If she sees this is a job to while away time on a daily basis and earn the salary, she will NOT think :stupid: :stupid: :stupid: coz she feels she's not paid to.

You'd need to give your new maid some time to see if she's in this class of \"ai\" or \"mai\", or, like HRH, the kind that you can bargain, cajole, scold etc....still can't move the mule-kind.

peapot, for DD's case, better to give maid a schedule - and tell her time and again (aiyoh, guess what your this weekend will entail 😐 ) that she HAS to drop everything to make sure she (DD) gets to schoolbus waiting area 5 minutes before time. Get her to tell you what are the tasks that needs to be done to get DD there on time. If she's still blur blur... 😐 work backwards with her for various tasks and get her to write down and stick to the timing!

🙏 then over time, if you're confident of her ability, can relax a teeny, weeny bit! 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 133 / 1032