Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    109 Posts 13 Posters 31.3k Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]EN wrote:

But with such skill, where does this lead them to? I'm still thinking & finding.

No need to think what does it lead them to. Just like learning piano, I am not intending she can be a performer or a pianist. For me, its just a value added profile, another way of expressing herself and something she can relax with. I think, drawing is the same too. Oh yes ! One more thing, maybe an additional skill she has to earn as a living in future .... who knows, she might want to be a stay at home mum, with flexible working hours and reasonable earnings, teaching piano is not a bad idea too. [/quote]Hmmm...not everyone can draw well. Try asking me to draw any living thing be it animals, insect or human. :scared: Sometime with a talent or a hobby can be turn into a lucrative job. Just like the architect, fashion designer, home decorator etc. The very reason I'm thinking where does this eventually leads to.

But hor...what you say is true too. It is something she can relax with.

• E Offline

[quote]buds wrote:

Agree with you daisyt..

My friend and i was just telling the receptionist
        at a music school that since their school always
        say short of teachers, especially for violin classes,
        our children can graduate and become teachers there
        themselves. Recycle the process. Re-use the talent.

Get back the money. Hahaa!

Haha ! More realistic way is to get back the money from her if she really goes into teaching piano. Ok ... Ok ... I have to start calculating

Very strange hor, always short of piano teachers too. Good teachers are always full ! [/quote]Okay, dont club me on this. I was not thinking of getting back the money that I invested on my children (as if I invest so much). But it will be good if they can make use of the talent & help to self support their education in the later years. I have a Malaysian colleague who went to Australia Uni. Parents support fees & basic living expenses. Any extra luxury, she needs to earn herself. She plays organ in Church during wedding & some other functions.

EN:
          Okay, dont club me on this. I was not thinking of getting back the money that I invested on my children (as if I invest so much). But it will be good if they can make use of the talent & help to self support their education in the later years.

Of course, we're not EN. And i'm sure you know that!
          Daisyt and me were just fooling around. :lol: As we
          already know, parenting nature is truly unconditional
          well at least for me (for now, hahahaa!)... and never
          do we even think, much less dream about raking back
          the earnings invested in our children. As long as they
          don't ask 4 money from us (when they're all grown up)
          after all the investment, consider okay liao. Hehee.. :politebleah:

And i'm definitely no \"club\"ber. :rotflmao:

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

From experience, it's going to be really difficult to get money out. Or maybe I'm just unlucky.

DS1 has already got 2 diplomas for piano. But to ask him to even play a nice piece for me is VERY difficult. He'd rather play his twinkle twinkle little stars to himself. But, he'd happily sit with DS3 teaching him the grade 3 pieces. So, at least he gives me a break.

Being a trained artist, I also asked him to write some books and publish them. His standard answer, \"I do things for passion and love, not for money.\" Hm... the revenge for instilling passion :shock:

DD2 is a little different. Also doing her piano diploma. This one goes all out to use her art to the max. She has no qualms about performing anywhere for $100-$200 a night. Ah... good investment.

So I guess, our investment may or may not come back in the form of money. But through the years, I see the art training given to the kids has helped build their confidence. I am also amused sometimes when they start to describe black eye peas's music in classical music terms. Kind of weird lor, but they have a common lingo amongst the siblings which is what I treasure.

2ppaamm:
              From experience, it's going to be really difficult to get money out. Or maybe I'm just unlucky.

DS1 has already got 2 diplomas for piano. But to ask him to even play a nice piece for me is VERY difficult. He'd rather play his twinkle twinkle little stars to himself. But, he'd happily sit with DS3 teaching him the grade 3 pieces. So, at least he gives me a break.

Being a trained artist, I also asked him to write some books and publish them. His standard answer, \"I do things for passion and love, not for money.\" Hm... the revenge for instilling passion :shock:

DD2 is a little different. Also doing her piano diploma. This one goes all out to use her art to the max. She has no qualms about performing anywhere for $100-$200 a night. Ah... good investment.

So I guess, our investment may or may not come back in the form of money. But through the years, I see the art training given to the kids has helped build their confidence. I am also amused sometimes when they start to describe black eye peas's music in classical music terms. Kind of weird lor, but they have a common lingo amongst the siblings which is what I treasure.
              You sound so blessed. :love:

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

You sound so blessed. :love:
                Hm... now you remind me, what blessings I get from giving my children art and sports training. Not money lah but:
                1. It's nice to see the two sisters play the same pieces on the piano.
                2. It's great to have one play, and one sing to the music. Or one on the piano, one on the guitar, or a duet.
                3. Great to have them compare their playing styles, sometimes laughing at each other. However, since DD1 is weaker in music, in the initial years, she used to wonder why DD2 always catches up with her so quickly. Over the years, she has adapted to it, and holds her own grounds now.
                4. Also very nice to see the girls do the dance steps together. DD1 will teach (and mercilessly comment) on sister sometimes.
                5. Sports instills discipline. I like competitive sport, because it trains their minds to be strong.
                6. Sports also pulls the siblings closer together. Training is normally tough and they have to go through that together. Sometimes, they gang up and boycott the coach together. Nowadays, the coach seem to let them be. :?

To me, arts and sports seems to have brought my kids closer together and they have grown to support each other more. My girls also do some sports as a pair, and I always tell them that they are so blessed, because they will never be out of a partner. When they are lonely or in another country, they always have each other.

I do believe arts and sports enriches the soul like academic can never.

I get the sibling lingo part 2ppaamm!

It's fun just listening in to them talking
                  with one another sometimes and when
                  i try to prod what they mean, they go
                  all secretive on me... \"Ssh.. dun tell
                  mummy.\" 😉

2ppaamm:
                    Hm... now you remind me, what blessings I get from giving my children art and sports training. Not money lah but:

1. It's nice to see the two sisters play the same pieces on the piano.
                    2. It's great to have one play, and one sing to the music. Or one on the piano, one on the guitar, or a duet.
                    3. Great to have them compare their playing styles, sometimes laughing at each other. However, since DD1 is weaker in music, in the initial years, she used to wonder why DD2 always catches up with her so quickly. Over the years, she has adapted to it, and holds her own grounds now.
                    4. Also very nice to see the girls do the dance steps together. DD1 will teach (and mercilessly comment) on sister sometimes.
                    5. Sports instills discipline. I like competitive sport, because it trains their minds to be strong.
                    6. Sports also pulls the siblings closer together. Training is normally tough and they have to go through that together. Sometimes, they gang up and boycott the coach together. Nowadays, the coach seem to let them be. :?

To me, arts and sports seems to have brought my kids closer together and they have grown to support each other more. My girls also do some sports as a pair, and I always tell them that they are so blessed, because they will never be out of a partner. When they are lonely or in another country, they always have each other.

I feel the love here momma... :love:

:goodpost:

:hugs:

2ppaamm:

Sounds so sweet the siblings. :celebrate:

I am with you on the above statement. I often worry about my child's future when we are gone. I never thought academic will be her companion but I figure arts and sports will be her \"soul-mate\" if she has not found one by the time we are gone. On top of that, I am playful by nature, so is my child....so academic will always be an outcome for us, not the goal.

• E Offline

[quote]As long as they don't ask 4 money from us (when they're all grown up) after all the investment, consider okay liao. [/quote]
                        So right sista!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 11