bicycle repairs at home
Everything is getting too expensive. Are there any kiasu parents who do bike repairs at home to cut down on these expenses? Please let me know. Are there any courses that can help me repair my own bike, and that of my kids? Thanks, Kiasu Karen
Yes, we have done. Having a bike is one aspect but maintaining it is a definitely different ball game. As with all the other expenses of way of life, the expenses of bike fix are progressively getting higher. The only possible way of maintenance expenses is by being able to do the repair tasks yourself.
Anyone in the serangoon area? if so, can recommend services. We got no car, and the nearest bike shop is far away to get the bikes maintained/fixed.
cherubin\" post_id=\"2073994\" time=\"1657518170\" user_id=\"118184:
Which part of Serangoon? Itβs a very large area bounded by YCK Road / Upper Paya Lebar Road and CTE to the East and West, AMK Ave 3 (exclusing Serangoon North) and Braddell Road / Bartley Road to the North and South :faint:
Anyone in the serangoon area? if so, can recommend services. We got no car, and the nearest bike shop is far away to get the bikes maintained/fixed.
What are you trying to fix? A bicycle is relatively easy to fix if you have the parts on hand (easy to obtain online via Taobao or via Decathlon). -
Thanks for the reply! At Serangoon ave 3. I have this grinding in the back wheel whenever I start cycling but somehow it smoothens out after I start peddling for a while. But when I get up even a small slope, itβs almost impossible to even cycle, and I end up getting off pushing my bike up.
cherubin\" post_id=\"2075882\" time=\"1658645014\" user_id=\"118184:
You can check your rear wheel axle, and whether the rear wheel is aligned properly. Alignment can fix / adjust on your own, if it's a damaged axle / bearings, you will have to get it replaced (either DIY or by a mechanic).
Thanks for the reply! At Serangoon ave 3. I have this grinding in the back wheel whenever I start cycling but somehow it smoothens out after I start peddling for a while. But when I get up even a small slope, it's almost impossible to even cycle, and I end up getting off pushing my bike up.
For repairs, The Cyclogy at 54 Yio Chu Kang (opposite Serangoon Stadium) is probably one of the better known ones closest to you (read: more pricey). Otherwise, you can go to Soon Hock Store at Blk 330, Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 (near Christ the King church). -
floppy\" post_id=\"2075931\" time=\"1658710824\" user_id=\"97579:
Wah... floppy, you sound like an expert in this
You can check your rear wheel axle, and whether the rear wheel is aligned properly. Alignment can fix / adjust on your own, if it's a damaged axle / bearings, you will have to get it replaced (either DIY or by a mechanic).
For repairs, The Cyclogy at 54 Yio Chu Kang (opposite Serangoon Stadium) is probably one of the better known ones closest to you (read: more pricey). Otherwise, you can go to Soon Hock Store at Blk 330, Ang Mo Kio Ave 8 (near Christ the King church).
I have 2 bicycles which I left somewhere in the basement... probably punctured by now
Maybe I should go back to cycling... but I heard it's difficult to track steps while biking with a step counter... so I never tried.
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2075953\" time=\"1658719850\" user_id=\"3:
Aiyah, fixing a bicycle isn't difficult leh. It has relatively few moving and mechanical parts (definitely, no electrical parts for normal bicycle - I have an e-bike, which is quite different when it comes to controller, battery etc
Wah... floppy, you sound like an expert in this
I have 2 bicycles which I left somewhere in the basement... probably punctured by now
Maybe I should go back to cycling... but I heard it's difficult to track steps while biking with a step counter... so I never tried.
).
For your bikes, assuming the rubber's still good, just need to get a pump to get some air in and you should be good to go. If the inner tubing is leaking or hardening up (i.e. 'cracking'), you will probably have to replace the rubber tubing. Taobao will cost you probably less than $2 per inner tube, or ~$10 to $100 for both inner and outer (depending on quality and make). Most of the time, the seller from Taobao will also include a couple of tools that you will need in order to remove the tire / tubing from the rim. You will need a spanner to move the nut and wheel from the frame. For instructions, search YouTube :rotflmao:
As for steps counter, I'm using a Fitbit. It will auto switch to Outdoor bike setting when I'm riding. Can't vouch for the accuracy but it's good enough for me :evil: -
floppy\" post_id=\"2075969\" time=\"1658723284\" user_id=\"97579:
Really? But does it add to your step count? Sorry... I'm a step count fanatic, ever since I joined the Heath365 program that gives you points that you can redeem for NTUC vouchers.
As for steps counter, I'm using a Fitbit. It will auto switch to Outdoor bike setting when I'm riding. Can't vouch for the accuracy but it's good enough for me :evil: -
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2075991\" time=\"1658729712\" user_id=\"3:
Same-same. I'm obsessed with the Health365 program because of the points to NTUC vouchers :rotflmao:
Really? But does it add to your step count? Sorry... I'm a step count fanatic, ever since I joined the Heath365 program that gives you points that you can redeem for NTUC vouchers.
For me, the steps did get counted, although I'm not sure how Fitbit calculate it. I'm averaging over 20k (vs 10k) daily if I'm on the bike for the day (~3 to 4 hours).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.