Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies
Thanks 2ppaamm. :thankyou:
will definitely let him try, if he drop halfway, at least he learns somethng instead of rotting away the time.hee.
your post are so inspirational! :celebrate: -
2ppaamm:
She's indeed a great teacher. And what touches me most is that she is arranging a recital before we leave Sg. Just so that my kids can peform in it. :love:
Wah, good teacher. There are just so few of them...2ppaamm:
Despite having such great achievements at young age, you are still able to speak of your children as ordinary kids, that calls for a lot of humbleness. That, itself, is very rare.And, please give so many compliments leh... :dowan: I'm just sharing what I went through and learnt through my own humble experience. All of us learn together lah.
I'm one of those who fall in this aspect. Keep believing that my kids are great and sometimes thinking they are really genius.:| But, life is a journey and we don't really know what the end is. An achievement here and there simply does not mean we are great or that we have \"arrived\".
There are always late developers, less privileged but more talented kids who have yet surfaced. (一山有比一山高)When they do, we must learn to take the \"humble\" pie. Sports has taught me that, no one is really the greatest, by the same token, no one is really the under dog forever.
So my kids look good so far, but we are far from success. The key is to keep at it. The end is still so farrrrr away...
Ha ha... just one of those silly but honest thoughts... And, it is really greater to be ordinary than special. But let's not stop at that. -
[quote]If I were to start a new website, which I have thought about for the last 10 years but never got to do it, it will be cluelessmom.com because I was a clueless mom and will continue to be, but one thing for sure: I'm willing to learn from my own mistakes. [/quote]
You clueless, I blur liao. :lol:
Gulp, about the pm thingy, I did act on 1 thing, the other one I promise to do it tomorrow.
Thanks for the music tips too. Definitely useful, when he moves on. Mummy learns from kiddo. Mummy aspire if kiddo grade 8, mummy will be too just no cert to show.
Thanks for the sport tips too. I just want them to be healthy & enjoy how fun sports can be.
The art part, a lot of damage has since been done. If I can turn back the clock to undo things I will. I didn't know that dh can draw very well until he seeked help from me. We were both stressed out being pestered by ds on different things. Imagine takes 2nd child age 5 years old to know my own spouse's ability to draw well. :oops:
[quote]4. Never laugh at a friend or feel small because someone is better. We all will get there ultimately if we do not give up.[/quote]Errr..must always be humble. There are always other who are better. We feeling small is a teeny bit of an issue. Still working on it. -
Yo Chamonix.
Back from hibernation? Glad u like the topic. You also joining me in confession session is it? Well, it's from the mistake we realize that we aspire for the change.
Smurf, go for it and don't forget to help your ds and share his learning adventure.
pssttt... daisyt, I already declare, if son reaches grade 8 mummy also grade 8 but just minus the certificate. So.... has your lesson started yet? -
EN:
I was told I have some music sense, but I made nothing out of it. Never bothered to sit for any exams. But from the sitting in, I decided to make a change some years back. I actually prepared and sat for an exam! Ha ha, shocked everyone. I managed to pass the highest student grade (grade 5 - equivalent to grade 7 or 8 on the piano) for electone. Of course, I only passed. DS1 got a distinction.
pssttt... daisyt, I already declare, if son reaches grade 8 mummy also grade 8 but just minus the certificate. So.... has your lesson started yet?
Guess who was coaching him?
You can do that too!
O, and then I lost the cert. Believe it or not.... Will search for it one of these days. It could be buried amongst the music scores.... -
2ppaamm:
I like how you placed your words on your thoughts in this, 2ppaamm.I'm one of those who fall in this aspect. Keep believing that my kids are great and sometimes thinking they are really genius.:| But, life is a journey and we don't really know what the end is. An achievement here and there simply does not mean we are great or that we have \"arrived\".
There are always late developers, less privileged but more talented kids who have yet surfaced. (一山有比一山高)When they do, we must learn to take the \"humble\" pie. Sports has taught me that, no one is really the greatest, by the same token, no one is really the under dog forever.
So my kids look good so far, but we are far from success. The key is to keep at it. The end is still so farrrrr away...
Ha ha... just one of those silly but honest thoughts... And, it is really greater to be ordinary than special. But let's not stop at that.
I feel warm and fuzzy reading this post. You bring inspiration to my
life and reading your sharings makes me feel that i can really do it!
I'm the very sports kind during my prime years.
But my girls are
not even close at their age. I've had people asking me, eh... never
send them for swim school arh... I just said it's ok. We're managing
fine so far with gramps on impromptu sessions and our own weekly
family sessions. They don't drown in the pool consider okay oredi lah
and knowing water safety is important and handy. If they decide to
pursue swimming as competitive sport like me one day, i would be
happy and even if they don't, i will still enjoy our family swims
together nevertheless.
I look forward to your sharings and i honestly hafta kowtow to your
never relenting efforts to be there for your children which i hope i can
too... as you say... the end is very farrr... :lol: You have more in your
brood and you could do it, so how is it that i with only two keep thinking
the journey's really hard without even actually trying my hardest yet?
It's our blessing to have you here in KiasuParents... to learn from others
in helping ourselves through our own battles... through our own journeys.
Thank you 2ppaamm, for just your presence alone is half the insight won
on our end. :hugs: -
[quote]EN wrote:
pssttt... daisyt, I already declare, if son reaches grade 8 mummy also grade 8 but just minus the certificate. So.... has your lesson started yet?
I was told I have some music sense, but I made nothing out of it. Never bothered to sit for any exams. But from the sitting in, I decided to make a change some years back. I actually prepared and sat for an exam! Ha ha, shocked everyone. I managed to pass the highest student grade (grade 5 - equivalent to grade 7 or 8 on the piano) for electone. Of course, I only passed. DS1 got a distinction. Guess who was coaching him?
You can do that too! [/quote]Haha. You are so funny and amazing. DH tries to convince me to take the exam too. He says I'm good but definitely ds is better.
I think Chamonix has her ds teaching her too?? I know daisyt is planning.
So in the best sense, for a parent to motivate or assist their children to grow in their talent/hobbies/interest, the parents must be involved and take an active role. -
[quote]We're managing fine so far with gramps on impromptu sessions and our own weekly family sessions. They don't drown in the pool consider okay oredi lah and knowing water safety is important and handy. If they decide to pursue swimming as competitive sport like me one day, i would be happy and even if they don't, i will still enjoy our family swims
together nevertheless. [/quote]Hey buds. Your children are fortunate to have their mother and grandfather as their teachers. Keep up the good work!
Water safety very important especially for a boy. DH and I are not qualified to teach. Not sure our teaching sufficient enough or not. I am self learner. Different for my daughter. As long as she can swim the breadth (not even the length), able to float, good enough for me. Unless she pesters me more or if I see she has a habit of swallowing more than she can take. But from the look of it, she just enjoy sliding down the water slide more than swimming. keke. Dd has me for companion. Weeeeeee...... -
Hi!
Buds, you were a competitive swimmer? Then, you’ll understand exactly what I am talking about. About not being really there, even if you are at the podium and breaking records at the moment.
People will come and overtake, we will grow stronger and overtake. Things are just like that. And to be over-excited about our temporal achievement will be so naive of us, but to think that we are inferior makes it even worse.
So life presents an equal opportunity to all. Nature just plays a part, perhaps an important part. But what’s more important is to bring whatever endowed upon us to the greatest potential. That’s my own definition of nurture.
To those who have made it good so far, there’s no place to be proud, no past success can guarantee our future. To those who have yet started, everyone is still on level playing field. It is not the one who starts well who will win, but the one who perseveres to the end. Over the years, we’ve seen this. It is not the most gifted sports person who will ultimately finish well, but the one who will not give up.
Who wants to win a battle here and there? We want to win the war for our children. That war, is to blaze through the jungle out there to find their calling and help them achieve their purposes in life. The daily battles, O, we win some and we lose some. Doesn’t matter once we have the big picture in place.
Agree?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.