Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    109 Posts 13 Posters 34.4k Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

Actually it’s always better to use a smaller-sized violin than a larger one unless you are quite tall. Of course not the 1/4 lah!!! I am actually using a 3/4-violin even at 1.6m. Another common size for adult learners is the 7/8-size violin.

Violin is tough bc of it’s intonation. Piano - just hit the right notes and rhythm can already.

I actually learnt separately from my son. But progressed quickly. So, in a way, I did prove something! haha!

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

I actually learnt separately from my son. But progressed quickly. So, in a way, I did prove something! haha!

Wa! :udawoman:

• E Offline
          en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

So many inspiring ladies.

Hello phankao

I know your ds is into music but I did not realize, the mummy is in too. Would you be able to share how do you help him in realizing his talent or assist in his hobbies? Besides music, is there any other things that your son is interested in?

• E Offline
            en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

Chamonix. You use ganbatte on the wrong personlah. I don't know what it means but I really have cold πŸ˜“ when you say it.

You should use ganbatte with CSC. She learns Japanese together with her daughter.

CSC, can share the journey of motivating your daughter towards learning a language? Must be fun, mother daughter learning at the same time.
            [quote]I always feel that having a family hobby is important.[/quote]Yes, daisyt. I believe in family hobby too. Used to be home aquarium but now decom. Since both dh & myself are getting older, we try to exercise together. Nothing strenuous. Just long long walks in hope to cultivate my kids love of exercising.

2ppaamm:

I cannot stand the neck ache! 😒
              Even if i play it even for a while, the whole of the next day i would
              be going around with my neck tilted to one side like kena one tight
              slap from husband lidat. πŸ˜›

:roll: Wah, I thought I was the retarded one! So maybe it's not that 1/4 sized violin. It was me!!! :shock: Your description is so funny!!! :rotflmao:

Well, guess... :idea:... i was the retarded one as well. :politebleah:

chamonix:

I cannot stand the neck ache! 😒
                Even if i play it even for a while, the whole of the next day i would
                be going around with my neck tilted to one side like kena one tight
                slap from husband lidat
                . πŸ˜›

:!: :!: :!: you mean budhubs is that violent? You should :heresmyfish: him once in a while to keep him in line πŸ˜›

:roll: Yeah, that violent! :siam:

:idea: Good idea, chamonix! :lol:

Now lets see what kinda fish i have in the fridge..
                something with lotsa bones.... hmmm... haven't gone
                marketing leh. The normal kuning fish should be okay, right?

😒 I couldn't see the strings! Fingers too fat & chubby! 😒
                chamonix:
                Aiyoh, fat and chubby fingers are best for learning violin leh!
                B... bb... bbbuut... my one finger cover 2 strings leh. πŸ˜›
                Then how? :politebleah:
                Thankfully hubs is the one who looks like he got the tight slap from me! Cause DD1 plays with the violin so beautifully now.. :love:
                chamonix:
                :ugogirl:
                Mwahahaaahaaa! :rotflmao:

chamonix:
                  EN:

[quote]She couldn't play it well and I kept telling her how to do it. Then, she looked at me and said, \"you do it lah!\"

:rotflmao: Me too!!! But when I show him how to play, he :roll: . But at least he understood what I meant.

Hugs to you 2ppaamm. πŸ˜„

Can't our kids be just a little more docile? :stupid:[/quote]Docile? 😐

Yeah... right. :politebleah:

Thankfully, 2ppaamm managed to show off her rusty fingers' prowess! :celebrate:

So, now YOU do it, girl! :rotflmao:

EN:
                    [quote]We're managing fine so far with gramps on impromptu sessions and our own weekly family sessions. They don't drown in the pool consider okay oredi lah and knowing water safety is important and handy. If they decide to pursue swimming as competitive sport like me one day, i would be happy and even if they don't, i will still enjoy our family swims

together nevertheless.
                    Hey buds. Your children are fortunate to have their mother and grandfather as their teachers. Keep up the good work![/quote]:celebrate:

Happy sliding you two! :celebrate:

csc

EN:
                      Chamonix. You use ganbatte on the wrong personlah. I don't know what it means but I really have cold πŸ˜“ when you say it.

You should use ganbatte with CSC. She learns Japanese together with her daughter.

CSC, can share the journey of motivating your daughter towards learning a language? Must be fun, mother daughter learning at the same time.
                      :? ganbatte...thought i just learnt it yesterday...is it something like 'i will do my best' ? Must go and refer again to confirm if i'm right.

Aiyoh...paiseh...how to share the journey... i'm only at the beggining..taking baby steps .. :oops:

With my memory fading, I won't dare to challenge my girl lah... I only hope to give her some encouragement in her learning process :lol:

2ppaamm:
                        Hi!

Buds, you were a competitive swimmer? Then, you'll understand exactly what I am talking about. About not being really there, even if you are at the podium and breaking records at the moment.
                        I started with small swim meets and then toughened up for constituency
                        competitions and was eventually talent spotted to join a club. But i failed
                        my coach what with barely less than 6mths intensive coaching to go for
                        the try outs which i did fine, but already in the heats i felt the water boiling.
                        For the competition was super hot! Though my coach and i thought that i
                        was pretty good, thrown into the sea with other sharks for the real thing..
                        :!: , i was just the ikan bilis nia. πŸ˜›

Tough... Really tough... And not to mention i turned like 7 tones darker
                        than my usual skin colour from daily training plus 3hours intensive
                        weekend trainings! I was totally konked out! All that while trying
                        to manage school and also being in the school's netball & track 'n' field
                        team. Ultra siong.. 😒 But a helluva lotta fun! No regrets. :celebrate:
                        2ppaamm:
                        People will come and overtake, we will grow stronger and overtake. Things are just like that. And to be over-excited about our temporal achievement will be so naive of us, but to think that we are inferior makes it even worse.

So life presents an equal opportunity to all. Nature just plays a part, perhaps an important part. But what's more important is to bring whatever endowed upon us to the greatest potential. That's my own definition of nurture.
                        Guess so... born mebbe the half-fish that i might be... :lol: ... nature
                        was just a small part of it. But the constant encouragement from daddie
                        pushed me to showcase my potential... what i've got in there... and give
                        it my darn best. Daddie always said, it's ok not winning it each time but
                        giving it my best is the most important thing. So, in short daddie was
                        consistently there to nurture my strengths and what he thought i could
                        excel in (he sent me for all my practice sessions and was there for all
                        my swim meets) & though i did fall through the cracks & the in-betweens,
                        he was nevertheless there for me to break the fall halfway, so that i
                        didn't lose all hope in life as a whole, for he said swimming was only
                        one of the strengths he saw in me. :hugs:

Tho' this fishie hung her tail liao, swimming for leisure is still pleasurable these days.. :celebrate:
                        2ppaamm:
                        To those who have made it good so far, there's no place to be proud, no past success can guarantee our future. To those who have yet started, everyone is still on level playing field. It is not the one who starts well who will win, but the one who perseveres to the end. Over the years, we've seen this. It is not the most gifted sports person who will ultimately finish well, but the one who will not give up.
                        Yup, the winner is the one who lasts throughout life's marathons...
                        2ppaamm:
                        Who wants to win a battle here and there? We want to win the war for our children. That war, is to blaze through the jungle out there to find their calling and help them achieve their purposes in life. The daily battles, O, we win some and we lose some. Doesn't matter once we have the big picture in place.

Agree?
                        Agree whole-heartedly, 2ppaamm.. and we have you to remind us of
                        this journey we will undertake with our children. So, to the big picture
                        now.... CHARGE! πŸ˜‰ Battle mah.. :oops:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 11