Travel: Japan - General
hmm, I suppose little bit of sashimi wouldn't harm. try giving your child any kind of food so that next time he wouldn't reject. does he eats rice? 3 year old should be eating rice right?
Japs people are usually very polite and nice to children. but I think (from my observance) they expect the parents to supervise the kids. and they do stare at your child if u let him runs about and dun care.
you can't use mobile phone at certain places such as train, etc, politeness towards others.
my toddler is also very noisy, he is at his terrible two stage so u can imagine I felt so paiseh when he sooo noisy at times. :oops: I seldom see kids at crowded places, but maybe because the children are at schools (weekdays).
:celebrate: -
another suggestion, maybe you can go the Japanese bakery to get the cakes and buns there? At least, he can subsist on those if he's not keen on others. :lol:
else, you would have to bring your small slow cooker, and some rice. buy the meat from supermart and bring it back to slow cook it before u go out. :idea:
Thanks for all the suggestions!
I just thought of something that he eats - McDonald's! They have that in Japan, right?
Or is MOS more common? I can let him try that over here first.
Then again, how about the adults? Travel all the way to Japan to eat at McDonald's? :shock:
Ok lah, we just takeaway for him and then adjourn to traditional Japanese restaurant. Hope they don't mind the boy chomping on french fries in their restaurant! -
Smurf, believe it or not, I did that slow cooker thingy on our last trip to Malaysia. We drove up, so we could throw all the stuff into the car boot.
But I am definitely not going to try the same thing in Japan. Just the thought of lugging the slow cooker around, and having to cook and wash up on holiday… -
cooking very ma fan lor...but if he cannot take other food, bo bian leh...can't let him go hungry mah.
try 'training' him to eat rice now...plenty of rice there...haha... and anyway, he should be eatng rice mah...
But thanks for all the ideas. Will keep all the tips in mind when I plan the trip details.
:celebrate: -
just want to know, how do you guys make milk for your little ones ha? :?
do u use the flask (provided) and boil the water using toilet tap water?
sometimes can see that the flask got some stain, and toilet water, er...for toddler ok? :? -
smurf:
I think it depends on old your kids are. Most of the time, we use the flask provided in the hotels, yellow stains notwithstanding.just want to know, how do you guys make milk for your little ones ha? :?
do u use the flask (provided) and boil the water using toilet tap water?
sometimes can see that the flask got some stain, and toilet water, er...for toddler ok? :?
However, if u feel uncomfortable, then go with your gut feeling and bring one of those travelling kettle from Spore.
As for boiling tap water, than it depends which country u are in. Generally, the water's quite safe in Japan. Again, if you don't feel comfortable, than go to a supermarket/mini-mart and buy bottled mineral water.
:lol: -
our rule of thumb was and still is, while our DS is young, we only travel places where it is clean and with good medical facilities.
toddlers and young children are more vulunerable. best to be kiasu and kaisee a bit and play it safe.
thus we went Japan, NZ and Australia. All 3 places safe to drink from the tap. And we make milk from boiling tap water.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.