Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies
Yah.. dat's me lar.

Never go NS mah. :roll: -
[quote]ganbatte...thought i just learnt it yesterday...is it something like 'i will do my best' ? Must go and refer again to confirm if i'm right.
Aiyoh...paiseh...how to share the journey... i'm only at the beggining..taking baby steps ..
With my memory fading, I won't dare to challenge my girl lah... I only hope to give her some encouragement in her learning process [/quote]So CSC, have you find out what ganbatte mean? I suspect it is a Japanese word but too lazy to find the meaning.
Different child, different way to motivate. You know something, just now, I was learning new notes from ds. I agree, as we grow older, the mind not as absorbant anymore. I kept on making the same mistake, ds told me to wait, he came back with a box of chocolate. Told me if I get it right, I will be awarded 1 chocolate raisin. keke. He's motivated to learn so that we can learn together.
With your child, there is no need to challenge. I think it is enjoyable to learn together and let the child take the lead instead.
:celebrate: -
EN:
I kpo a bit. Gambatte Kudasai (頑張ってください) means best of luck, or try your very best. We normally use it as a form of encouragement before you start something challenging, like competitions, a new job, anything lah. Kudasai simply means please.
... have you find out what ganbatte mean? I suspect it is a Japanese word but too lazy to find the meaning.
He he... using my very rusty Japanese one more time... -
[quote]Haha! Actually I stopped. I can never be as accurate intonation-wise and technique-wise as my son. For the difficult parts, the young kids, they just practise many times and they can \"get it\". I practise many times, still cannot. Oops..... and my teacher (not same as my son's but related) - my teacher too \"pro\" for my standard. If I were to take up violin again, maybe I'll just go to the CC and join some intemediate class so I can perform on a casual basis, just for fun.
My own background is in piano. Not pro either. I stopped learning piano since I was like 15, after my g8.
How I help my sons? I don't really except that I did engage a v good teacher for him. I leave him mostly on his own. Unlike 2paamm, I don't sit with him to practise. Of course, I also never went to the extent of NAFA, so the stress is not as high. Anyway, my boy started violin at 8yrs old, too old for NAFA already as a beginner. hahah.
I never thot any of my boys would learn music, but they wanted to in the end when they went to pri school. The boys are actually v musical. Ds1 played a few instruments in the school band / string orch. But eventually, he figured he's better at violin, so stuck in orch. So he basically experimented on his own. This boy may not be the brightest spark around but he's rather daring, independent and willing to explore.
Other interests? He's v into creating his own animated clips and games. He studies into that himself, none of my input needed. He also likes to run around and play like every other boy.
Me? I just supported his interests lah. Make sure he has time for everything.[/quote]Since you have musical background too, I believe the way you supported your son is taking the well trodden path that you have taken before.
Yes, time management is very important to ensure that our children has a balance study and play time. -
[quote]buds wrote:
CHARGE! Battle mah..
you remind me of some blur army soldiers...[/quote]Buds dear. If you are the blur soldier, I'll be the frozen one. When I hear the word \"CHARGE....\", I will start to think. Move forward how many steps, when to stop, how fast should I go, if I see obstacle in front, then how, just bang the wall, can go left or right or just straight, by the time I finish thinking, the rest of the army including blur soldiers all gone liao.
EN:
Buds dear. If you are the blur soldier, I'll be the frozen one. When I hear the word \"CHARGE....\", I will start to think. Move forward how many steps, when to stop, how fast should I go, if I see obstacle in front, then how, just bang the wall, can go left or right or just straight, by the time I finish thinking, the rest of the army including blur soldiers all gone liao. :P[/quote]Wah, looks like we all need some army training. I think I'll just melt into a tub of lard on the word \"charge\"![quote]buds wrote:
CHARGE! Battle mah..
you remind me of some blur army soldiers... -
[quote]Wah, looks like we all need some army training. [/quote]
No wan
You know, when I was young my ambition is to be in the army. I was very jealous of boys that will one day grow up to join NS. :siao: My father :nunchuk: when I told him I want to join the army. Tired of nagging, he :faint: . keke -
EN:
[quote]Wah, looks like we all need some army training.
No wan
You know, when I was young my ambition is to be in the army. I was very jealous of boys that will one day grow up to join NS. :siao: My father :nunchuk: when I told him I want to join the army. Tired of nagging, he :faint: . keke[/quote]Yep, we all have strange ambitions when we were young. I always wanted to be a wayang actress. Those in thick, thick makeup. Ha ha. Have you looked at what your kids want to be when they grow up? Perhaps we should document that down and see what they all ended with. -
Oops
Wayang actress!!! I thought I was nuts. But I think you are nuttier. :lol:
My dd 1st ambition is to be a sales girl at departmental store. I always bring her to go shopping with me. I twist it to be a bit 'atas' & tell her, be a boutique owner instead. Here's the thread :
Kids' ambitions http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=811
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.