Supporting Child's Talent/Hobbies
Oops
Wayang actress!!! I thought I was nuts. But I think you are nuttier. :lol:
My dd 1st ambition is to be a sales girl at departmental store. I always bring her to go shopping with me. I twist it to be a bit 'atas' & tell her, be a boutique owner instead. Here's the thread :
Kids' ambitions http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=811 -
EN:
O, DD2 said she wants to grow up to be a maid. She enjoys wiping the windows... or a cashier, can collect money. Yours more atas hor.Wayang actress!!! I thought I was nuts. But I think you are nuttier. :lol:
My dd 1st ambition is to be a sales girl at departmental store. I always bring her to go shopping with me. I twist it to be a bit 'atas' & tell her, be a boutique owner instead. Here's the thread :
Kids' ambitions http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=811
Yeah, talk about talent... I could write interesting wayang scripts when I was a kid, had a lot of fun, but no audience, everyone just ran away when I started acting 'wayang' style. I guess that kind of talent cannot make any money... -
2ppaamm:
2ppaamm, now you can go get your old scrips and wait for some festivals where you can trim them to suit the newfound \"return to your roots\" craze...mebbe the museums could take them too! :celebrate:
Yeah, talk about talent... I could write interesting wayang scripts when I was a kid, had a lot of fun, but no audience, everyone just ran away when I started acting 'wayang' style. I guess that kind of talent cannot make any money...
When I was young, I used to design dresses....not the paperdoll sort, the really draw, put clothe swaps at the side kind (I go to my mum's tailor friend and begged for scraps!
). Now, even my mum sez I look like auntie coz I spend my muny on the kids and their interests in ballet/dance/music and art
2ppaamm:
Yep, we all have strange ambitions when we were young. I always wanted to be a wayang actress. Those in thick, thick makeup. Ha ha. Have you looked at what your kids want to be when they grow up? Perhaps we should document that down and see what they all ended with.[/quote]Bingo here. Me too. I also wanted to be a 'getai' singer. :!:EN:
[quote]Wah, looks like we all need some army training.
No wan
You know, when I was young my ambition is to be in the army. I was very jealous of boys that will one day grow up to join NS. :siao: My father :nunchuk: when I told him I want to join the army. Tired of nagging, he :faint: . keke
Having spent my childhood watching all these wayang and getai has definitely impacted us in certain ways. :lol:
I used to lock myself in my parents' room - it is the only room with a dressing mirror and then put on 'costumes' (like bedsheets etc) and started to 'wayang' and sing like my idols on stage... sh.... don't tell anybody .... :oops:
Er..as my for kids...my son wanted to be a policeman and then upgraded to an author ....and ....now ...he wants to buy a football club.
My girl's ambition has never changed all these while - it's always something to do with animals. She wanted to be a dolphin trainer when she was very young - she loves dolphins and swimming! :lol:
And then, last year, she told me she wanted to work for Pet Lovers cos she can take care of all the animals there....lately ungraded to want to be a VET....
hi all,
i read this thread and realized the children here are older. But how to spot or know the talent/hobby of a 4.5 yrs old child? or is it too early to do so? -
lchunleo:
Follow his lead. At this age, most kids won't have developed any particular interests yet (the ones who do are fairly exceptional), so just focus on exposure until he shows a particular interest. It's ok if he doesn't - some kids won't encounter their passion until later. Some interests may only be suitable or be available to older kids or adults anyway.hi all,
i read this thread and realized the children here are older. But how to spot or know the talent/hobby of a 4.5 yrs old child? or is it too early to do so?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.