All About Autism

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Special Needs & Learning Difficulties
    7.9k Posts 414 Posters 2.0m Views 3 Watching
      Double E

belachanbabe:
      wamin:

@belachanbabe, recently i had my son appointment at KK and his doctor was telling me he need 12-13 hour sleep :? . He is attending childcare and you know they made all kids had afternoon nap, so i have no control over that.

BTW my kids sleep around 8:30-9 but most of the time wakeup at night (Now I hardly remember when they never wakeup :scratchhead: ).

8.30 pm is too early, maybe try 9.30 onwards (mine sleep at 10-10.30pm and wake at 7am, more jun than alarm clock) and I don’t agree with the doctor on the sleep requirement. Yes kids require more sleep but definitely not more than half a day if they are 4 and above.

Even though you don’t have control on weekdays, suggest try to limit his afternoon naps on weekends to 1-2hrs max and don’t go pass 5pm. I saw this in an episode of ‘Supernanny’ regarding hyperactivity: you got to plan daily activities to tire him out physically i.e. playground, swimming, cycling etc. It entails quite an effort though; parents themselves more tired than the kids at the end of the day. For sure there is no magic formula.

Agree. If my boy has afternoon naps, I limit to no more than 2 hours. My mum is also helping me on that when she is looking after him. And when he has his naps, he usually won't sleep till 10.30pm or sometimes 11pm. He wakes up between 7.30 to 8am the next day.

For weekends, I will try not to let him nap and will have activities to tire him out. So by about 9.30pm, I will ask him to go to bed. For days that he has a lot of physical activities, he will KO in 15mins, if not, usually within 30mins lying on the bed, he will fall asleep.

Double E

slmkhoo:
        belachanbabe:

I have another concern that is actually becoming quite a problem now; which is the “slang” or accent when they speak. Am sure there is a scientific term for this but I forgot what it’s called. It is due to the vocal influences of TV and cartoons which they watch and imitate. My older boy has quite a strong accent (British maybe) and I fear he might be made fun of or bullied next year when he goes to an all Chinese school. Initially I didn’t think much about it until recently people have been asking why he slangs so much since we are very Singlish parents. And he also likes to use words like “I’m cross” instead of “I’m angry” and I can’t correct him since it is technically not wrong.

Think am worrying too much ah? :yikes:

Have you lived overseas at all? My daughter sounded very British as we lived in the UK for her first 2+yrs, and even after 14 more years in other places, she still has a bit of a British accent. She also tends to speak more formally, and doesn't use slang (in the British/US sense of the word). It's the ASD pedantry, I guess. Both my husband and I are fairly \"accent-less\" thanks to living overseas so much, but we still sound Singaporean enough to be recognised easily by fellow-Singaporeans abroad. To make my family even more complex, my younger (NT) girl has an American accent because of American teachers and friends.

Yes, I believe its the ASD pedantry too. My son slangs too and many of my friends have commented on that whereas my girl is Singlish all the way.

If you ask me, I rather they slang and speak proper English. Because eventually when u work or go for interviews, speaking Singlish will be a taboo.

I mentioned in this forum before that some of the high-functioning kids I met from Pathlight, none of them speak Singlish. They all speak good and proper English and yes, some of them slang too. I was so curious that when I asked one of the boys if he is a Singaporean, I was being \"reprimanded\" by him for being ridiculous. 😓

• tyeoghT Offline
          tyeogh

I am beginning to question whether it has something to do with singlish/chinese/asian languages requiring tonal and emotive skills which a asd child lacks . For e.g. in  "How are you ah", the ah is added to express an emotion. Hence a asd child speaks with proper english minus the emotive part?  

Someone wrote here the slang came from the tv which leads me to ask, How long are your kids watching tv?! Can we do a simple survey on tv time? How much tv time a day are your kids getting?

• tyeoghT Offline
            tyeogh

delete. Duplicate post

belachanbabe

tyeogh:
              belachanbabe:

more jun than alarm clock

Haha!! Love the way hokkien is used. Er...how come your kids didnt pick up your singlish? Found the \"I am cross\" part funny. But dunno whether polite to laugh....

Laugh away! Ya, it is also karma coz I used to make fun of people with fake-o accents, especially those who merely go on holiday and come back with one.

Mirth is God's medicine. Everybody ought to bathe in it. ~Henry Ward Beecher

nugget

Have you all heard of sensorimotor therapy otherwise known as environmental enrichment? Its something new and not proven, but it seems to help some ASD kids esp those with sensory issues.

I wonder how it works. Anyone came across this before?

http://www.upi.com/Health_News/2013/05/19/Sensory-motor-enrichment-effective-therapy-for-boys-with-autism/UPI-94471368987668/

helplessmum3

wamin:
                  helplessmum3:

i wish i can train him soon too. 😞

no nap is a nono to me, cuz later when nite time he will take it as nap time and awake after 2 hrs of nap..

my fren 4yo child wake up 730am, nap 12-3pm , sleep at 830pm.... so ENVY!!!

What, who is your friend. I need to get detail how she is doing this magic :siam:

hahaha... i think thier NT kids know social clue easier...

aghhhh....

ImMeeMee

My therapist mentioned before that I should teach my doter some ‘lah’ and ‘leh’ in her speech so that her speech becomes more ‘real’ in our context.

I suppose its a case of them not being able to appreciate the finer nuancing of language which is actually part of social interactions.

As long as she is communicative with a spoken language, never mind the slang or lack of, I am thankful. My FIL chides us quite often for not teaching her Chinese and Mandarin, and I always think to myself ‘She is able to speak in one language, we should tao cheo liao …’

• sharonkhooS Offline
                      sharonkhoo

tyeogh:
                      I am beginning to question whether it has something to do with singlish/chinese/asian languages requiring tonal and emotive skills which a asd child lacks . For e.g. in  \"How are you ah\", the ah is added to express an emotion. Hence a asd child speaks with proper english minus the emotive part?  

I don't think it's anything to do with tonal or non-tonal languages. My ASD girl was in Chinese kindy and Pr school for 4 yrs and could speak Mandarin OK, but similarly, was very 'proper' in her speech compared to her classmates. And all languages require intonation even if they are non-tonal. My ASD girl doesn't do expressive intonation very well, even in English, which is her main language.

• tyeoghT Offline
                        tyeogh

slmkhoo:
                        tyeogh:

I am beginning to question whether it has something to do with singlish/chinese/asian languages requiring tonal and emotive skills which a asd child lacks . For e.g. in  \"How are you ah\", the ah is added to express an emotion. Hence a asd child speaks with proper english minus the emotive part?  

I don't think it's anything to do with tonal or non-tonal languages. My ASD girl was in Chinese kindy and Pr school for 4 yrs and could speak Mandarin OK, but similarly, was very 'proper' in her speech compared to her classmates. And all languages require intonation even if they are non-tonal. My ASD girl doesn't do expressive intonation very well, even in English, which is her main language.

So she can carve out the tones but not use it express emotions in speech, hence sounding 'proper'?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 515 / 794