Singapore population
schweppes:
Yes, I do believe in that too!
Personally, I believe that sometimes, things happen for a reason. We may not know what the reason is at that moment, but one may have an epiphany one day, and viola, the answer is there.schweppes:
Agree ...
... and this may be one possible reason?? :idea:autumnbronze:
I also did not realize that my life would change for the better because of it too
The only good thing that came out of it was that because I am an 'older' mom, I am much more focused and calmer - stable, you know what I mean?? schweppes:
Alamak, I shd have phrased it as another miracle thenIn life, we always pray and wish for miracles. It gives us a sense of hope. But, sometimes... just sometimes, that miracle may already be here - as seen by the love of DS and DH :lol:
Hugs to you, autumnbronze. Best of luck!
skunk:
Take it easy la, have faith in our gahmen. There is no need to grind any axe and waste your energy. Why so?
I only have an axe to grind with those who, by force of will, choose to have no kids or only one. Their decision is no longer \"personal\", it affects everyone.
Just like how society interferes in the life of people who take drugs or gamble. It's their \"personal decision\" right?
Our government is very good in social engineering and I say that with :salute: in my mind. When they predicted the population would be bursting at its seams in the future, they came up with \"Two is enough\" and that was a resounding success and indeed it controlled the population well. Then when they started the Baby Incentives to promote more birth rate, it was also well-received. When I had my child, many families around me was 1-child family and we were the majority. However, by now, especially after going to primary school, the majority of the kids are with siblings, we become the minority. In her class, only 3 kids are single-child. Even amongst my network of friends and relatives, many have gone on to have 2,3,4,5,6 kids! Yes I have quite a number of friends with 6 children and I :salute: them for it. We are in fact the minority around. With that kind of success, please give more credit to the government. What the government probably cannot achieve is to bridge the age group of the population, i.e. cannot control how many able-bodied prime age persons against the aging population, but the growing numbers, they have achieved, except most of them are very young fellows.
Bottomline is where-ever I go in SG now, we are the minority. In fact one lady from China(maybe PR now) in the service line was chatting with me one day. She said with enthusiastic observation that Singaporean families were mainly multi-children families, most have 2 or more kids, she felt so rare to meet someone like me with only one child and of course herself had only one due to China policy before she came here. In her service line mainly for women, she meets thousands of people in a year, so I am sure her statistics is another indicator.
The population growth is in good hands and the awareness to grow is widespread.
Drugs is illegal and illegal gambling is well taken care of by law. As part of the society, we just ensure our family has no one engaging in it since it is illegal, there is nothing we need to interfere for others' families. At most, if we know about it and have the persuasive skills to dissuade them from engaging in illegal activities, then we can give it a shot but not to grind our axe on them, it will never work, will it? -
Dear autumnbronze, :grphug: to you too!
I always believe every family has their good reasons why they choose to have only one child. The reason is always good because they have to factor in their own constraints so outsiders should not frown upon their \"decision\". Sometimes it's a painful decision but people have to make it.
It would be really insensitive if we keep harping on people who \"choose\" to have only one child.
And for those who really choose not to have children at all, I think it is only right too, for if anyone is not convinced to have children, they will only end up being a problem family. So what is the point of increasing population with more problem people? -
And for those who really choose not to have children at all, I think it is only right too, for if anyone is not convinced to have children, they will only end up being a problem family. So what is the point of increasing population with more problem people?
Those not convinced to have children, should not get married at all. What for?
I'm not interfering with their decisions, nobody can. I'm just criticising. It's just talk. It's my right to free speech. If they or anyone wishes to do something controverisal (or at least, controversial to some people like me), then they should be ready to face the fact that someone will and can criticise.
Just talk only, what's the prob LOL
If they or anyone wishes, they can criticise me too, i will rebutt gentlemanly. But i will never take away someone's right to criticise me. It's their mouth, i respect that. -
skunk:
True skunk, the question is never ending... Those who should not get married, then what for they are born since they are not contributing to the population growth? ...then parents would ask what for they are married if they don't have the kids?......you see it's an infinite loop based on your line of questioning. :lol:
Those not convinced to have children, should not get married at all. What for?
Your thoughts on freedom of speech reminds me of my GP paper many years back when our teacher asked us to write about it.
Close, quite close to what i believe in. Having children is part of our human life-cycle. Those who are not open to this concept, are denying their normal human existence and forever living in their teens, whatever they say, even if they deny it.
True skunk, the question is never ending... Those who should not get married, then what for they are born since they are not contributing to the population growth? ...then parents would ask what for they are married if they don't have the kids?......you see it's an infinite loop based on your line of questioning. :lol:
Just the minimum 2 kids to replace ourselves, I'm not proposing everyone have a dozen kids. Of course, 3 is an even better number, since some children will eventually die because of disease, accidents, etc. and not everyone who wishes to have kids, can have them.
Once again, of course, this is my own ideas, people eventually make their own choices....and i spend my time here criticising those i don't like lor LOL -
Should read Freakonomics by Steven Levitt on the impact of population on crime rates. A countervailing view is of course that those who bear children are socially βsubsidisingβ those who do not. No real right or wrong, but governments are well aware of the hazards of falling population, my view is generally that we all need to play our part.
Just read on Sat's papers that gahmen complaining birthrate went down again.... Serious or not? I see my friends pop until their tummies so loose already... I am really curious about the breakdown of the statistics...times like this, I am keen to read statistics.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.