All About Choosing Piano Schools And Teachers
waiyean:
Yes Phankao ... Do share... :rahrah:Imami:
[quote=\"phankao\"]LOL . Thanks! You saw the videos?
Come Phankao, share share - u must have watched your kids perform countless of times. Is each performance feels as intense as the first one?
The other day after knowing our little bold plan, my hubby was commenting,\" u sure u want xx to perform solo??? U would cry leh..... Wait take graduation photo not nice la...\"
:rotflmao: :slapshead:
Or PM me...
Imami, your hubby has a valid point. We just went through K2 graduation last week.[/quote]U PM me and share lor. haha. I also want to see your videos. -
Imami:
In my daughter's school, the girls can audition for opportunities to play their instruments during assembly on certain days. For my son's, the school also tries to organise an annual 'talents show' day. Besides, students are also welcome to perform on Teachers' Days. In his previous school, his ex-classmate did a piano duet with her brother on a special school occasion. If one keeps a lookout, there bound to be chances to perform within the school.
There are more chances of performing in primary school- is it? How is this so?
Yup, I will keep an open mind and an open wallet (to fund his music lessons).
his opinion is valued and will be taken into consideration. So long as he is keen...
You are so right about having an open wallet. :moneyflies: -
metz:
Don't put your hopes up. My kids never had any opportunities to perform solo in school. Only with their CCA grp. I think only ONCE for one of my kids and it was for a CCA promotional event.
In my daughter's school, the girls can audition for opportunities to play their instruments during assembly on certain days. For my son's, the school also tries to organise an annual 'talents show' day. Besides, students are also welcome to perform on Teachers' Days. In his previous school, his ex-classmate did a piano duet with her brother on a special school occasion. If one keeps a lookout, there bound to be chances to perform within the school.Imami:
his opinion is valued and will be taken into consideration. So long as he is keen...
Don't put your hopes up. My kids never had any opportunities to perform solo in school. Only with their CCA grp. I think only ONCE for one of my kids and it was for a CCA promotional event.[/quote]Phankao, those opportunities in my kids' schools are not related to CCA. Mostly once-off events. My daughter's school is especially encouraging and supportive in this area. According to my daughter, the school tries to hold such performances twice weekly.
In my daughter's school, the girls can audition for opportunities to play their instruments during assembly on certain days. For my son's, the school also tries to organise an annual 'talents show' day. Besides, students are also welcome to perform on Teachers' Days. In his previous school, his ex-classmate did a piano duet with her brother on a special school occasion. If one keeps a lookout, there bound to be chances to perform within the school.metz:
[quote=\"Imami\"]
You are so right about having an open wallet. :moneyflies:
But for my son's school, you are right. There are fewer such opportunities. -
Imami:
Can you consider asking other parents with performing kids to split rental cost?Wow... Renting one needs $200? That's almost what I had paid for the keyboard!
peanut_butter:
Can you consider asking other parents with performing kids to split rental cost? [/qu, ote]Imami:
Wow... Renting one needs $200? That's almost what I had paid for the keyboard!
That's if there are other kids performing on keyboard right ?
Quite likely, most preschools would have at least one electronic keyboard, so no need rent lah. For primary schools, likely they have keyboard or even piano. The event where I did an accompaniment cd track was where no one else needed a keyboard. And it's not a school event. -
metz:
:rotflmao: yes! And I was huh? :? When Phankao said she didn't pay much for her kids?!
Imami:
My costs are sadly increasing. haha! Esp with change of teachers! Thankful for any subsidies.
:rotflmao: yes! And I was huh? :? When Phankao said she didn't pay much for her kids?!metz:
Phankao, the subsidies are for the older kids right?
Think depend on the schools. Most likely because your kids in more elite schools so they may not bother so much. Neighborhood schools are more open to let their students engage in performances to help promote their schools. My young students who are in neighborhood schools receive these kind of opportunities often.
Don't put your hopes up. My kids never had any opportunities to perform solo in school. Only with their CCA grp. I think only ONCE for one of my kids and it was for a CCA promotional event.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.