All About Choosing Piano Schools And Teachers

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Music, Singing, Dancing, Speech & Drama
    4.2k Posts 894 Posters 1.2m Views 1 Watching
      bebe

Dreamaurora:

[quote=\"kat_pixie\"]I sent him for the trial class last saturday and sign him up for the piano class. I am a bit clueless if it is too young for him to start learning a musical instrument although the teacher did said he can start learning piano.

It's quite rare to find a 3/4 year olds who can start one-to-one lessons. My take-up rate for this age group is very low and I have advised many parents of children whom I assessed to start the kids in appreciation classes instead first.

What I'm looking for and assess before considering to teach a 3/4 year old kid:

1. Can sit still and concentrate for at least half an hour?
      2. Can clap in time, sing reasonably in tune?
      3. Can tell if the note played on the piano is higher or lower from previous one?
      4. Can identify mistakes in simple songs like Twinkle Little Star?
      5. Can tell apart the difference between a step and a skip on the score?
      6. Can understand basic instructions e.g. sing just the first sentence of Twinkle Little Star?

Interesting. When I sent my youngest for trial piano lesson, I was assessing the teacher and her interaction with my child. Didn't think the teacher was assessing my child too. haha. To this day, my boy remembers I sent him for that piano trial lesson when he was 2yrs old (he was a month short of 3).

I'm afraid he doesn't sit still in ALL lessons. Like all little children, there are days when he will be tired, etc. But on the whole, I'm satisfied lah.[/quote]My 3.5 years old boy definitely cannot sit still..that is why I have to sit in for the class and \"revise\" with him at home. Surprisingly he is able to do it right when we revise at home. Show that sometimes while kids may seem not focus in class, they do listen.

Imami

bebe:

. Show that sometimes while kids may seem not focus in class, they do listen.
        unfortunately, till these days, there are teachers who expect kids to listen with body, mind and soul. You can't just be listening but looking else where. You hv to look like u are listening too :faint:

Not directing at music lessons per se. Speaking from my own experience listening to teachers complaining about my son \"not listening\" during class. The point was, even the teacher admitted that she knew my son was listening (just that he was fidgeting or looking elsewhere). Why so \"gan kor\", must insist body, mind and soul all listening...

bebe

Imami:
          bebe:

. Show that sometimes while kids may seem not focus in class, they do listen.

unfortunately, till these days, there are teachers who expect kids to listen with body, mind and soul. You can't just be listening but looking else where. You hv to look like u are listening too :faint:

Not directing at music lessons per se. Speaking from my own experience listening to teachers complaining about my son \"not listening\" during class. The point was, even the teacher admitted that she knew my son was listening (just that he was fidgeting or looking elsewhere). Why so \"gan kor\", must insist body, mind and soul all listening...

Actually I am also like teacher.. keep thinking that one sits properly, eyes on teacher, he will focus better..or seeing him fidgeting for no reasons really distracts me and sometimes I buay tahan, hold my son and \"pull his ear\" and tell him firmly to sit still and focus. Even when I teach my P5 gal, I cannot tahan her for shaking legs or tapping her hands on table as she does her revision..

Imami

bebe:

Actually I am also like teacher.. keep thinking that one sits properly, eyes on teacher, he will focus better..or seeing him fidgeting for no reasons really distracts me and sometimes I buay tahan, hold my son and \"pull his ear\" and tell him firmly to sit still and focus. Even when I teach my P5 gal, I cannot tahan her for shaking legs or tapping her hands on table as she does her revision..
            some kids are different. Mine is one. To ask him to stay totally still, is extremely difficult. Can la, sleeping lor 😆 we went through a long period of \"why can't u sit still???\" :mad: :frustrated: until I realize staying still is just too much to ask of him for now. But he does listen.... To the extent of he can repeat word for word when someone asks,\"what did I just say?\"

If he is given a little toy or eraser to hold in his hand, he can sit still. I have made peace with it (that he cannot sit still). So long as he can follow thru the lessons, answer the teachers' questions (ie what did I just say?), no complaints from teachers, I will leave him alone. And he knows that. Almost all the teachers know his \"problem\" already and I sort of am able to make the teachers understand and \"meet half way\".

These days he is much better. His actions are smaller and he remembers to \"look attentive\".

When he first started His piano lessons, I was always apologizing to the teacher because my son couldn't sit still. Worse, he likes to explore the piano keys and hear how each key sounds like. The teacher was very kind, she said it's ok. I always think she is just saying it because she is patronizing me. However there was one day she said,\" it's ok, I understand. He (my son) may seem to be fidgeting all the time but when he plays the piano, he is all focused on playing. That's very important and that's what I have been waiting to see.\" I can't describe, within me, how grateful I feel that instant. Finally, a teacher who sees beyond the fidgeting :udawoman:

I don't take things for granted though, not every teacher is the same and even I myself need a while to adjust to this (I have to say, I am \"old school\" kind - must look attentive). So er.... My son gotta learn to look attentive 😉

But no, the shake legs habit is a no no. I would have :rant: too if my child shakes leg.

Trilogy3101

Hello, I am looking for a piano teacher for a 6 year old in the west / jurong east or west coast is fine. Anyone can recommend or refer any teachers. Happy to go to the teachers house if need be.

• E Offline
                engp9337

Looking for piano teachers able to teach ABRSM intermediate grades. Can go to students’ place in west to teach.

Dreamaurora

Dear all,

I've just uploaded some videos (not all, more are still coming) from my recent student concert at Blisshouse. This time round I try to include more duets and light-hearted music including quite a few Christmas jingles. Enjoy the music and do like the videos if you enjoy them.

http://www.youtube.com/user/CWDorianMusic

Some samples

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3s-g_SZy6sc][/youtube]

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TPZ8NM9UHY][/youtube]

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgNKQDoE7uk][/youtube]

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijfHRKKtiyQ][/youtube]

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cn6ppkmoso4][/youtube]

Blue Pearl

Tks Dreamaurora for your sharing. very nice. May i know what are the grade of these kids pls. thank you.

Dreamaurora

Blue Pearl:
                      Tks Dreamaurora for your sharing. very nice. May i know what are the grade of these kids pls. thank you.

Thank you for your kind comment. I'm sure the kids will appreciate it. Various grades across the boards are represented, from those preparing for grade 8s all the way to beginners who only studied with me for a few months. The more experienced kids that you see have passed either grade 5 and working towards grade 8. The rest have just passed/working towards grade 3, and then there are the beginners. I did not really insist that everything must be perfect for this casual performance, main idea is to let the kids gain exposure and have a great time. There are rough edges for sure, but every good performer has to start small first.

Anyway, I will be organizing a public concert at Esplanade Library sometimes early next year featuring selected students. Will recycle and polish some of the pieces featured in this Blisshouse concert. Will post the details in nearby future here in this forum for those who are interested to attend.

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

Dreamaurora:

Anyway, I will be organizing a public concert at Esplanade Library sometimes early next year featuring selected students. Will recycle and polish some of the pieces featured in this Blisshouse concert. Will post the details in nearby future here in this forum for those who are interested to attend.
                        You want Guest Performers? haha! As in, not Piano but other instruments. ;D Add variety. hehe.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 258 / 419

findclinicsgF
                        findclinicsg
                        ZzzlllzzzZ
                        Zzzlllzzz
                        alfredchengA
                        alfredcheng
                        789ffmba7
                        789ffmba