Where to find great pineapple tarts?
Andaiz:
All in jest okie ... no need for apologies ... we'er here in this forum to have fun oso wat ...enjoy your facial... :oops: pai seh, was so upset
with my non-fix today, didn't read carefully! Sorry dear!
Can't wait for CNY to be over for my rum ball!
is the rum ball really that GOOD? :shock:
tankee, I dare not endorse anymore. You just have to try it and decide ...
I had sang praises for a particular xmas log cake and one of the forummers took up my suggestion ... skali she and her family really didn't like it ... I :oops: don't know where to put face liao. Thats why now I got disclaimer now - I recommend highly BUT you try at your own risk ...

ps: To each his own lah .. -
:drool: :drool: :drool:hi autumnbronze
i think no need to ask yr MIL liao......
thks for previous effort to help to ask
u see....., this afternoon i tried using one of the recipe posted in the net
but to play safe, i portioned it to a few portions, and modified by varying the ingredients.....
every portion, baked a bit to try out the crust
and this time, i managed to bake it successfully to my liking
the crust is just nice,
soft.......with rich butter taste and melt in the mouth
unlike the previous recipe i had tried, the crust is hard and crispy , macham cookies.......
just that the ready made pineapple paste is just too sweet...... -
Sweet-mate Confectionery in Everton Park sells very nice pineapple tarts, too - the pillow type. Melts in your mouth. :drool:
So far, have tried quite a few pineapple tarts (pui pui liao). The best from my limited sample size is the cheese coated one from Wei Yi at Taka and Cedele, so very wow-buttery (tks to the forummer who posted).
The only thing is, Cedele says to store the opened the tub in the fridge while Wei-Yi has no such instruction. The expiry date on Wei-yi is sometime in Aug some more, so, gulp… amd gonna be moving my biz to Cedele. -
Have you guys tried the pineapple tarts made by inmates from The Hiding Place? Really good, and, you will be doing charity as well.
No kidding! The pastry melts in your mouth. The pineapple is not too sweet, and just the right fibrous feel. More to the tangy side. Very good indeed. The Hiding Place is in Seletar, and if they run out, they will replace in a while. I think there is a big team baking all the time.
If you guys want to try another one, this is a student of mine. He was featured on TV in one of those chefs competition shows, (I don't know what this is, I don't watch TV). He finished top 3. So, he is a very meticulous cook. He gave me a bottle and I thought it was pretty good. His is exactly 20g per pineapple tart.
I don't know how much these cost. I'll have to find out if you guys are interested.
The ones I love most? The Hiding Place, but I love the ones I make as well. I like to make my pineapple filing slightly wet, so you can't really buy these kinds in stores. They will not last on shelves, and have to be refrigerated. Also, homemade pineapple tarts are free of preservatives. Most important to me.
Hi Augmum ....
No go so far. Hope you will be following thru with your v own 'tried and tested' recipe

2ppaamm:
Have you guys tried the pineapple tarts made by inmates from The Hiding Place? Really good, and, you will be doing charity as well.

Thats interesting. Thanks for sharing. Will check them out if in the area. Do they bake only during CNY?? -
Sweet-mate Confectionery in Everton Park sells very nice pineapple tarts, too - the pillow type. Melts in your mouth. :drool:
are they still selling ? or only for those pre-ordered for CNY? -
Yes, they bake only during CNY. They've been doing this for years... They will stop all activities on New Year's Eve, and they will only reappear next year.2ppaamm:

Thats interesting. Thanks for sharing. Will check them out if in the area. Do they bake only during CNY??
I haven't bought this year, but it used to cost about 75 cents per tart, I forgot how many tarts there are in one can...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.