Things to do right on CNY

36 Posts 15 Posters 9.9k Views 1 Watching
      mathsparks

But I am those who will pray to tai sui and light the changming light whether it's a good/ bad year for my horoscope. My rationale is there is no harm doing more than less.

Us too! We also pray to tai sui if there's clash. But what is changming light?

mathsparks

Yes.... I do that too. This year my sil forwarded some of those stuff to us. In the file, it indicated that it is already CNY as lichun is 4th Feb. Initially I was thinking... maybe I should take the day off to avoid issues. But it was funny... it was indicated in the file that one must work on that day to ensure that we will continue to have a job for rest of the year.

Oh yes! I forgot that bit. On that day, my team turned up in bright red....and we went our separate ways after work to the bank to deposit cheque. Just something done in the spirit of the day. :lol:

:? what is this lichun 4th Feb? and banking of cheques? Never heard before leh?

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

mathsparks:
          Us too! We also pray to tai sui if there's clash. But what is changming light?

Changming light is encouraged to be lighted when you've a clash that year. It's available in the temple but I am not sure if all temple has that.... The one we goes to have that so we do it by default every year. The purpose is to ensure a smooth sailing year despite the \"adversity\".

I wasn't so pangtang in my 20's. Just that with a job and kids,etc..., I realised I get more and more pangtang as I aged. :roll:

BTW, my mum showed me an article that for those who fan taisui this year, from chu 1 to chu 5, it's good to \"cross the sea\". This includes going to Bintan/ Batam, taking a trip overseas or even going to Sentosa. Told my hubby that yes we are all going to Sentosa on chu 3. To see the flowers, have a look at resort world and most importantly change for better luck as we cross the sea :lol:

• MMMM Offline
            MMM

mathsparks:
            :? what is this lichun 4th Feb? and banking of cheques? Never heard before leh?

This lichun is following the solar calendar iso lunar calendar. My mum happened to know some top guy in the taoist group and he confirmed that too. Lichun is the start of tiger year and not 14th Feb.

My sil sent me some predictions by some fengshui queen and she mentioned the cheque thing :lol: It equates to having constant inflow to your bank.

mathsparks

alamak! Ignorance is bliss. I shouldnt have asked. Now I must figure how to cross the sea by day5. :faint: But when we go pray to tai sui at temple, they never mentioned anything abt the light. Perhaps its always lighted?

how do you write lichun in chinese? guess its too late for me to do anythg this year. But is it basically to make a deposit (either cash/chq) on that day? Thanks for your explanation, MMM.

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

mathsparks:
                But when we go pray to tai sui at temple, they never mentioned anything abt the light. Perhaps its always lighted?
                I think you can check with them on chang(2) ming(2) deng(1). It is separate from tai sui. It's like an optional item. My impression is that you are a easterner and not sure if you are a joo chiat guan yin temple follower. I don't think they've chang ming deng there. But you might want to check out. We go to another place at defu lane area and they have chang ming deng.

mathsparks

I go to the waterloo street temple. But always so crowded. Will ask my mum if she knows.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

Someone sent me the lichun thing oso. And I actually told my staff about it and all of them made sure that they are not on leave that day.

But hor, I forgot all about it and promptly went to see the doctor 1st thing that morning. Damn, does it mean the year ahead with be fraught with ill health.

As for the rest of the things, my mum use to insist no scissors, needles, sweeping, etc. After I got married, I did not bother about all these. When I first employed my maid, she was the one who insisted that I must have a full rice container and will go out to cart back a bag of rice if it is not full. She will also be doing 1 last round of moping at 11pm the night before cos she knows not allowed to do all these during 1st day of CNY.

mathsparks

can someone tell me how lichun is written in chinese? please?

BigDevil

mathsparks:
                        can someone tell me how lichun is written in chinese? please?

ē«‹ę˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 4

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring