Club FTWM

4.9k Posts 176 Posters 1.3m Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

peapot:
      2ppaamm,

Wow! you have 5 kids and no maids!! Of course you deserve our praise and attention. I think you also make the government happy. Many kids and also never rely on foreign workers. High productivity!!! I m very sure you must have a very supportive hubby inorder for you to keep sane. Ha.....good for you!

Now, surprisingly my boss did tell me that when actual retirement comes you don't want to retire. You just want to continue working. Usually we envy but when we reached that stage, we don't want to retire. I think maybe he might be half right but if you have an objective such as an interest or a goal to pursue, I don't think you just want to work and work....
      Hi Peapot,

Actually, I find myself happier and freer without a maid, contrary to what I thought I'd be before I took on the challenge of releasing my 2 maids about 6 to 7 months ago. Took a lot of courage and I'm so glad I did. Housework is not that bad, and I actually enjoy the privacy. I'll never have a maid and deal with those nonsense again. They are just nonsense to me, and none of what they do make any sense to me, really. From the way they handle their hygiene to the way they speak to my kids.

I had a few opportunities to retire. After I come back from post-grad and realise that I was pregnant with DS1, I stayed home for 5 months. After I sold my company in the early 2000s, I stayed home for another 5 months. After #5, I retired again for 6 months. After my FIL passed on, I had to semi-retire until now.

I'm blessed with a good and flexible FT work, great bosses and I like the nature of my job. I have so much fun and autonomy, and my job is very rewarding. I will not likely retire again. I don't believe working for money, whether I need it or not. I have taken 5 pay cuts throughout my career which spans 20+ years, and every time, in my new job, I managed to climb back up, so I have a strong belief that if we work hard, our bosses will recognise and reward us accordingly.

My priority is always the home, but work has given me the joy of influencing and building lives. As the kids grow bigger, I see them needing me less (nowadays, they are all in school in the morning), so I have the whole morning nurturing my mentees. If my kids grow up and need me even less, I'll just increase my time at work.

Yes, I believe I'll just work and work, because I believe this is not a job. It is a calling for me.

MLR

[quote]Yes, I believe I'll just work and work, because I believe this is not a job. It is a calling for me.[/quote]
        You are the lucky few.

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

MLR:
          [quote]Yes, I believe I'll just work and work, because I believe this is not a job. It is a calling for me.

You are the lucky few.[/quote]I guess I am blessed. After many hard knocks in life, I guess I finally understand what I love to do best! I do believe all of us will get there, it's a matter of time.

Bronzy

2ppaamm:
            MLR:

[quote]Yes, I believe I'll just work and work, because I believe this is not a job. It is a calling for me.

You are the lucky few.

I guess I am blessed. After many hard knocks in life, I guess I finally understand what I love to do best! I do believe all of us will get there, it's a matter of time.[/quote]How I would love to be in your shoes - contented with life! Right now, I find it hard to imagine ever reaching that point!

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Bronzy:
              How I would love to be in your shoes - contented with life! Right now, I find it hard to imagine ever reaching that point!

Hi Bronzy, that's probably because I have already paid my dues with all the big mistakes I have made, and now, I am hopefully learning how to avoid some. It also means life becomes more boring. You'll be even better off than me. Just plan for it to happen. Someone once told me this and I hold that dear to my heart: \"If you want success, plan for it to happen.\"

Bronzy

[quote]Hi Bronzy, that's probably because I have already paid my dues with all the big mistakes I have made, and now, I am hopefully learning how to avoid some. It also means life becomes more boring. You'll be even better off than me. Just plan for it to happen. Someone once told me this and I hold that dear to my heart: \"If you want success, plan for it to happen.\"[/quote]
                I've heard that quote before. Found it strange then and find it strange now! If it were really possible to plan success, wouldn't everyone do it?! I sure haven't figured out how to plan success. Have tried instead to practice being happy where I am. Not always successful with that either!!

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

Bronzy:
                  I sure haven't figured out how to plan success. Have tried instead to practice being happy where I am. Not always successful with that either!!

Some years ago, I was watching TV with my mom, I was expecting #2. It was news and a lady was receiving some awards. I told my mum, \"I will receive that award next year.\" She smiled an unbelieving smile at me.

I had no idea how to go about it at all! But, because I made that plan, I did all I could to try to achieve that. Well, I did not win that award the next year. I won it the year after that.

Self-fulfilling prophecy. I always believe that. Either way. Predict the good, the good will happen because we will deploy all our resources to achieve that. Predict the bad... ahem! I wouldn't do that.

2ppaamm:
                    I won it the year after that.

Wah what award har??? *kiasu mode on* What you did to win har? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: (I am laughing at myself)

Anyway..congrats!!

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

2ppaamm:

I won it the year after that.

Wah what award har??? *kiasu mode on* What you did to win har? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: (I am laughing at myself)

Anyway..congrats!!

You are as usual so funny. Some awards that doesn't matter anymore lah... Give you trophies to collect dust only. Don't talk about past glory leh... :oops:

2ppaamm:
                        You are as usual so funny. Some awards that doesn't matter anymore lah... Give you trophies to collect dust only. Don't talk about past glory leh... :oops:

It's not about talking past glory la...it's the inspiration we can draw from you. You now icon of inspiration to me... πŸ˜„

Anyway, I not funny enough....the one who tops the list is Dom Vito Ah Pek!!! Bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :lol: :lol: :lol: He wanted to be like Danny Devito if I recalled rightly...I have no such aspirations. πŸ‘…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 494

JaztanJ
                        Jaztan
                        LONGtimeAGOL
                        LONGtimeAGO