Club FTWM
No lah, more like grammy awards. I wish! :clubmyself:Waah.. must be some nobel prize leh dis wan.
Come out on TV wan leh.
2ppaamm:
The most cruel thing is the past. A great past makes one feels so small today. A terrible past leaves scars that hinders today's endeavours. Today is the first day of the rest of our lives. And the future has so much to hold. Past is past already lah. One day, when you come over to my house for coffee, I will show you those trophies, and I'll tell you what's it's like... ha ha ha...
The present is going to become the past sooner than we wish it to. A great past should make one feel proud for having achieved. A terrible past should encourage one to strive for a better future. Easier said than done, huh?! So when's coffee - hopefully accompanied with some of the stuff you were planning to bake with your daughters for CNY?! -
Bronzy:
- hopefully accompanied with some of the stuff you were planning to bake with your daughters for CNY?!
Trouble with a big household is trying to keep things for THE day. Everything's finished. The pineapple tarts (4 cans) finished in 2 days, the bak kwa finished in 2 hours, then the almond nut cookies are being hidden right now. Looks like I'll have to buy rather than bake to keep the stock up.
I treasure these, since once they grow up, I guess nobody will want to eat what I cook. Today will be a glorious memory of tomorrow. Let's treasure it, and live it well! :celebrate: -
2ppaamm:
Ha Ha. It's the opposite at my place where things last for months until I have to throw them away! Now I know someone who has a use for the the food that goes to waste at home - shall we arrange a drop off point where I can send my excess food items?! A friend was just trying to convince me to take a packet of bakwa from her as she had too many - shall I get it for your kids?! So, which of the finished items did you actually bake?Bronzy:
- hopefully accompanied with some of the stuff you were planning to bake with your daughters for CNY?!
Trouble with a big household is trying to keep things for THE day. -
Bronzy:
Ha Ha. It's the opposite at my place where things last for months until I have to throw them away! Now I know someone who has a use for the the food that goes to waste at home - shall we arrange a drop off point where I can send my excess food items?! A friend was just trying to convince me to take a packet of bakwa from her as she had too many - shall I get it for your kids?! So, which of the finished items did you actually bake?
:love: :thankyou: but no lah... a couple of them got sick already from eating all these goodies...
I baked everything, didn't buy anything. I looked at all the stuff on the shelves and always end up thinking... \"better to make myself\". Either: too oily, not fresh, got preservative, skin too thick, pineapple too dark colored, cookie not well brushed, bak kwa smells weird - pig died too long ago, too expensive, don't know what butter or margarine they use - got trans fat?
So, I end up baking every year, slaving in the kitchen - :stupid: Just as I am speaking, I have a whole batch of bak kwa in the dehydrator. I remember I can leave it overnight there. Tiring but fun lah... -
2ppaamm:
Hey does that dehydrator thing really work? Am very tempted cos I read can dry fruits with it. Now can dry bak kwa some more, :idea:. Presumably got to bake after that that?[
So, I end up baking every year, slaving in the kitchen - :stupid: Just as I am speaking, I have a whole batch of bak kwa in the dehydrator. I remember I can leave it overnight there. Tiring but fun lah... -
Blobbi:
Hm... it is a white elephant for me most of the time. Except like now, when I remember I could make bak kwa in it. It can make ALOT! If you have more time than me, then it could be a good investment. It can make 'sun' dried tomatoes, all sorts of dried fruits. I bought it to dry all the produce from my own garden. I used to have lots of tomatoes growing (which all died after my Filipino maid left some years back). Now that my garden is blossoming again, I might use it.
Hey does that dehydrator thing really work? Am very tempted cos I read can dry fruits with it. Now can dry bak kwa some more, :idea:. Presumably got to bake after that that?2ppaamm:
[
So, I end up baking every year, slaving in the kitchen - :stupid: Just as I am speaking, I have a whole batch of bak kwa in the dehydrator. I remember I can leave it overnight there. Tiring but fun lah...
So if you are into healthy food and you have the time, yes it is a good investment. Alternatively, you can set the oven at about 60 degrees centigrade, set the oven fan on, and it works the same, just that the amount the oven produces is about 10% of what the hydrator can. I bought the excalibur one. I don't know what else is in the market?
Have fun, then share your recipes with me please.... cause I have no time to search or trial and error leh... -
Alamak. I also working lah. But I do bake a fair bit - yumz! Yah if I buy and use, will let you know. Heard about the Excalibur brand - very $$ if I remember correctly.
Blobbi:
Alamak. I also working lah. But I do bake a fair bit - yumz! Yah if I buy and use, will let you know. Heard about the Excalibur brand - very $$ if I remember correctly.
I think it was $600+ or something like that. I don't know whether it is good or not, because I have not used another brand. But it is better than the oven for sure for drying up stuff. Hey! Happy New Year! -
2ppaamm:
Yeah, Happy New Year too!!!!Blobbi:
I think it was $600+ or something like that. I don't know whether it is good or not, because I have not used another brand. But it is better than the oven for sure for drying up stuff. Hey! Happy New Year!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.