All About GEP

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    6.7k Posts 720 Posters 2.7m Views
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

Zann:
      I hope my ds can't cope on his own and then I can't save the $$.

:rotflmao: this must be a typo, right? BTW, do you know when do they decide to put or not put a kid in the remedial?

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

Herbie:
        the teacher also explains grammer rules and subject verb agreement etc to them.

The teachers didn't explain that in school?

Herbie

Hi 2ppaamm

Nope. My DD will get bored if she is learning the same english rules etc at TLL.

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

Herbie:
            Hi 2ppaamm

Nope. My DD will get bored if she is learning the same english rules etc at TLL.
            I am shocked, you mean they do not teach english rules in schools nowadays, and we have to send our kids to tuition centres to do that?

csc

2ppaamm:
              Herbie:

Hi 2ppaamm

I am shocked, you mean they do not teach english rules in schools nowadays, and we have to send our kids to tuition centres to do that?

I don't know about the rest but my children's school do. :lol:

keroppi

csc:
                2ppaamm:

[quote=\"Herbie\"]Hi 2ppaamm

I don't know about the rest but my children's school do. :lol:[/quote]My DS school does too. And it's very in-depth too. I learnt a lot from the GE English notes last year at P4.

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

Hm… beginning to wonder why the difference now… some schools do and some schools don’t. I feel that if we are already sending our kids to school for 6 hours, basic things like these should be covered. I was persuaded that they will even cover other enrichment stuff during that 6 hours as well…

csc

2ppaamm:
                    Hm... beginning to wonder why the difference now.... some schools do and some schools don't. I feel that if we are already sending our kids to school for 6 hours, basic things like these should be covered. I was persuaded that they will even cover other enrichment stuff during that 6 hours as well...

My children's English teacher(mainstream) not only drilled them in the grammar rules. She even taught them good writing skills. I don't have to pay a single cent on English enrichment courses for them.

Both scored distinctions in their PSLE. (hao lian a bit)

Credit definitely goes to their teachers especially their P6 teacher and of course, me lah - for instilling in them a habit of reading since birth. 😉

mathsparks

Zann:

Hi Mathspark, may be you can help understand how and what they teach to make it so effective for GEP English, understand your GPE ds tried it and got A* for PSLE. How about GEP English, how did he do after attending the said tuition/enrichment? ...Should be good lah since he got DSA offer from RI. Understand many GEP kids can't cope with the high expectation of GEP English subsequently and need attend GEP English remedial. But for those who can cope, I do agree it is not neccessary to attend such tuition. I hope my ds can't cope on his own and then I can't save the $$.
                      Hi Zann,
                      You can read some of my comments http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=418&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=90

But please dont get the wrong impression that TLL can do miracles. My boy loves reading all sorts of books since nursery, hence his vocab is superb (words I've never seen/heard before, ask him and he'd know) though he used to be a bit confused with grammar rules.

I signed him up when I realised he was in remedial in P4. Didn't want to wait till too late to bring up his standard. There's only so much the schools can do within the limited time; TLL went into specifics of compo/compre/oral (but the oral training of Lorna W is better) and I was surprised when they even conducted mock DSA interviews for the P6s.

Read somewhere here about TLL Maths. My 2 cts - If your child is good in Maths, give TLL Maths a miss and sign up for competition maths training (various centres like Maths Hub/Maths Oasis) instead.

Oh, btw, to those GEP kids keen on going to RI, your chances are very high. Based on my guesstimate, there're about 170+ GEP boys in RI Sec1. So work hard on maintaining your averages, dont slack and you'll get in to your dream school.

• Z Offline
                        Zann

2ppaamm:
                        Zann:

I hope my ds can't cope on his own and then I can't save the $$.

:rotflmao: this must be a typo, right? BTW, do you know when do they decide to put or not put a kid in the remedial?

Heh, heh! just back home from my tiring mid-night shopping at China town. Brought my children to experience the night scene and shopping there.

Oops! you are right it is a typo error. Definitely I hope my ds CAN cope and then I don't have to send him for any tuition and able to saave $$.

Perhaps, by end of CA1 they will base on the result to decide who to attend rememial. BTW will there be CA1? So far no schedulle from my school leh :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 68 / 669

MumYongM
                        MumYong