On Reading
smurf,
your son knows how to read, but may not enjoy reading cos he may not understand what he is reading. my ds1 knows how to read after mastering the sightwords, his level of understanding of what he read did not catch up until end of K2. it was only after introducing Geronimo Stilton in P1 that capture his attention. he still does not read volunterily, i just have to nag at him to get started and hope that the storyline can sustain his interest.
i believe that some kids just doesnt like to readβ¦we as parents just have to try harder to get them to at least read a bit. -
I thought he was just naturally a voracious reader, no?

chamonix:
There is no one method that can work magic and teach all young kids to read. In fact, it's more than just one method that will start a child to take interest in reading. Asides from parents sharing their own experience, many experts have also shared their part. In KSP, we have buds to share on phonics.
:oops:
:siam:chamonix:
:goodpost:Lastly, phonics is not the only key to read. If it doesn't work for your child, don't despair. Just try another key.
smurf:
Sometimes just dunno what to do, he just refuses to read. or should I say, lazy to read.

Him being lazy is one thing..
You smurf cannot be lazy, ok.
Not negotiable. :lol:
Jia-you leh.. :rahrah:
DS1 has improved much i garner from
your recent postings, dun give up now... -
mummy of 2:
I have the opposite problem. My kids are interested in reading but cana't recognise the words. DS1 is reading from memory
Sight reading ain't a bad thing, mummy of 2. :hugs:
Cos i'm a sight reader too. My mother's constant and tireless
reading efforts helped me pick up reading... just like that. :hugs:mummy of 2:
Phonics may help to escalate the reading process or it may not..Am trying to use phonics and readers to help them get started on the path of independent reading.
Different styles work for different children, so no stress. He's 4yrs
now. Work the single letter sounds to perfection and also ensure
he knows how to write them all (the alphabets) as well as he can
sound it. Blending at 5yrs old would be easier for him with maturity
of age and grasping of concepts.
For now, just read a lot to him. Many sight words can be picked up
from reading to our children. And it can definitely go beyond Dolch's
List! :celebrate:
If all else fails, i'm just a stone's throw away from ya, mummy of 2.
another thing I notice and didn't write down...he would just walk away while I'm reading! or mind elsewhere...dreaming...while I'm reading...
I mean if he doesn't want to read but can listen to me read, still ok...but walk away??
smurf:
Hi smurfanother thing I notice and didn't write down...he would just walk away while I'm reading! or mind elsewhere...dreaming...while I'm reading...
I mean if he doesn't want to read but can listen to me read, still ok...but walk away??
Try reading with expression, introducing sound effect and role play. For role play you can also write simple scripts and role play with him using props you can find at home. It can be a waiter / customer scene, teacher / pupil scene etc etc. Thru role play he will get to read your scripts, hence achieving your objective of recognising words.
Occasionally choose books on poems / poetry with rhyming words, kids especially the younger ones love the rhythm from such words. I have no idea how old your son is but you can also break the monotony by playing stories on the CD player. Let the professionals take over sometimes and also a chance to give yourself a break. Depending on the age of your son, you can also summarise and tell him stories from the newspapers. These are real life stories and he will be fascinated. After a while you can go back to reading books again.
Basically get him interested in the language first and don't be overzealous in getting him to read independently. He will sense it and feel pressured. Given time, he will one day pick up books and read independently. -
Thanks buds and chamonix for your encouraging words. I also picked up reading through sight reading. But I hope to make it easier for them by teaching them phonics at the same time. This is one aspect I lacked when I was learning to read. True that there is more than one way to learn to read. Being kiasu, I guess it helps to try as many different ways as possible
At the end of the day, it is more important to cultivate the love for reading and learning. Techniques and skills can be improved over time. But if there is no interest or motivation, then no technique or skill is going to get your child to pick up a book voluntarily. -
HI Poonie,
I used my bestest expression to make the story nice, and even raise my voie and different voices for different characters. guess what? he walks away. :oops:
imagine read barely 2 sentences and the boy just walk away. so paiseh...
he just not keen in reading...BTW, he is 5 now...
I think if he is not keen in reading, even if he can read also no use...
make my job very difficult leh!
Thanks Buds for your encouragement. I also very lazy lately...hee... :oops: -
smurf:
What is he interested in? Dinosaurs? Transport? Bugs? Volcanoes? Find books with topics that catches his interest.HI Poonie,
I used my bestest expression to make the story nice, and even raise my voie and different voices for different characters. guess what? he walks away. :oops:
imagine read barely 2 sentences and the boy just walk away. so paiseh...
he just not keen in reading...BTW, he is 5 now...
I think if he is not keen in reading, even if he can read also no use...
make my job very difficult leh!
Thanks Buds for your encouragement. I also very lazy lately...hee... :oops:
My 2 kiddos started reading from memory first and they are largely reading by sight instead of using phonics. DS(turning 5 this yr) is picking out words here and there but when asked to read, he will keep saying he doesn't know. Then he will surprise us by reading out signs or instructions out of no where.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.