Hwa Chong Institution (High School)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.9k Posts 654 Posters 2.1m Views 2 Watching
    • 3 Offline
      38daddy

xxjustakidxx:
      Me, I'm doing everything on computer. Even if it is those that are not needed to be done on computer (minority). I think the school just wants you to be neat, IT savay and all that \"我们要跟着时代的脚步\"comes out.

Ps: 38 daddy, your son (robbie, donnoe if I'm right) very well behaved hor, so guai in class ._.
      justakid... isit? in what way? BTW are you hainanese?

• X Offline
        xxjustakidxx

38daddy:
        justakid... isit? in what way? BTW are you hainanese?

guai, as in really guai. the form teacher said that \"the students i appreciate the most are robbie, kuai shuai......\"
        no lah, I'm from Beijing

pinky88

38daddy:
          Hi DecJan, My DS is coping fine so far. You are right that a lot of work are very dependent on the computer/Laptop. We are looking around for the right specification(light weight, high speed and DDR3 ram) laptop to increase his productivity. His old one loaded with too much games, thus lagging. I also realised they need to print a lot material and uploaded of recorded voice. I suppose we need a 4 in 1 printer in our house too. But overall, we (myself included) just lack of sleep. Hope to catch up with some sleep during the CNY period.

Hi both, so far so gd for my DS. Hope he can survive well for the rest of the yr....oops shld be for the next 5 yrs 11 mths...Think with the CCA coming up after CNY, they will hv to really manage their time well cos' most of the days will b fully spent in sch. 38daddy, u mentioned printing of materials - is it those presentations given during lessons that were uploaded on the IVLE? Did yr DS teacher ask them to print out or its voluntary on yr part? So far, my DS only printed out the Science presentation for the test 2 wks later. We r also looking for a high speed, light wt labtop. Any gd recommendations? Theres a PC show coming up next mth, so mayb can get some gd deal. Ya...me also feel v tired eversince DS goes to sec sch...the CNY hols will b a gd break for all of us.

• 3 Offline
            38daddy

Happy Chinese New Year to All HCI Parents, HCI Kids and All Kiasu Forum users…

38daddy:
              Happy Chinese New Year to All HCI Parents, HCI Kids and All Kiasu Forum users...

Happy Tiger Year to you too, 38daddy!

• 3 Offline
                38daddy

pinky88:
                38daddy:

Hi DecJan, My DS is coping fine so far. You are right that a lot of work are very dependent on the computer/Laptop. We are looking around for the right specification(light weight, high speed and DDR3 ram) laptop to increase his productivity. His old one loaded with too much games, thus lagging. I also realised they need to print a lot material and uploaded of recorded voice. I suppose we need a 4 in 1 printer in our house too. But overall, we (myself included) just lack of sleep. Hope to catch up with some sleep during the CNY period.

Hi both, so far so gd for my DS. Hope he can survive well for the rest of the yr....oops shld be for the next 5 yrs 11 mths...Think with the CCA coming up after CNY, they will hv to really manage their time well cos' most of the days will b fully spent in sch. 38daddy, u mentioned printing of materials - is it those presentations given during lessons that were uploaded on the IVLE? Did yr DS teacher ask them to print out or its voluntary on yr part? So far, my DS only printed out the Science presentation for the test 2 wks later. We r also looking for a high speed, light wt labtop. Any gd recommendations? Theres a PC show coming up next mth, so mayb can get some gd deal. Ya...me also feel v tired eversince DS goes to sec sch...the CNY hols will b a gd break for all of us.

Hi Pinky88,
                other than the required printed presentations, my DS also printed other homework for e.g. Jap class, AAP-where he type into Laptop, Print, rehearse and then recorded before uploading to the IVLE.
                Yes, there is a PC show in March 10. We dont have any specific preference for laptop, in fact, as long as it is light weight, (no CD drive, use ext CD drive) 4GB DDR3 RAM, 500GB hardisk. For such specification, it should be around $1.5k to $1.6k for ACER, HP etc. About 2.1k to 2.2k for Sony. In fact, we are also exploring the Touch Screen Desktop too. Around 2.1k.. you may wanna explore.

Chirunner

Regarding laptops, the iSpark director told us that the boys don’t need laptops n computer gaming has often become a big issue so told us to monitor time spent on the computer.

Chirunner

Regarding laptops, the iSpark director told us that the boys don’t need laptops n computer gaming has often become a big issue so told us to monitor time spent on the computer.

SI-6628

38daddy:
                      Happy Chinese New Year to All HCI Parents, HCI Kids and All Kiasu Forum users...

Hi parents, has the school fees start deducting from your Giro accounts? If not, does anyone know when this would be commence ?

Pikachu8

Hi, is there anyone can help me on this IME issue? I been trying to download microsoft global IME language converter but is seem like it do not allow me to download most likely due to that i'm currently using windows 7 but the system only support on wins XP. In this case is it mean that windows 7 have build IME language converter how do i activate it or is there a method to download the global IME? Hope some one can advise. thks in adv. :?:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 43 / 595