Red Swastika

1.8k Posts 124 Posters 706.1k Views 1 Watching
      constancet

dicky:
      Nope. Higher Chinese (HCL) is not restricted to SAP schools nowadays. And all schools offering HCL starts from P1. North Vista Pri have HCL classes only, no normal chinese classes. This means either the kids take HCL or dropped out of school.

Nowsaday kids have it tough. Pri 1 maths, CL and EL is almost Pri 3 standard in our days....
      Really? I didnt know that. Thanks for updating me on this change. Really kinda unfair to the kids leh. Either take HCL or drop out.

Yeah, the stds are very high now. I remembered when i first entered Pri Sch last time, I couldnt even read! Now by default, the kids must learn to read, and the preschs are already teaching multiplication and division!
      Faintz

dicky

Yeap. That why HB says dun kiasu abot DS academic performance as DS just average IQ. Just do what is necessary to clear each year, and build foundations like respect for words, maths concepts etc.... Come secondary school days, most topics are irrelevant for society survival...

Blah, Blah, Blah :roll:

ANON001

constancet:
          dicky:

Nope. Higher Chinese (HCL) is not restricted to SAP schools nowadays. And all schools offering HCL starts from P1. North Vista Pri have HCL classes only, no normal chinese classes. This means either the kids take HCL or dropped out of school.

Nowsaday kids have it tough. Pri 1 maths, CL and EL is almost Pri 3 standard in our days....

Really? I didnt know that. Thanks for updating me on this change. Really kinda unfair to the kids leh. Either take HCL or drop out.

Yeah, the stds are very high now. I remembered when i first entered Pri Sch last time, I couldnt even read! Now by default, the kids must learn to read, and the preschs are already teaching multiplication and division!
          Faintz

hi, i dun think u will need to drop out of sch in RSS if u not taking HCL, when u go P5, u hv the option whether to take normal or HCL... so dun worry that our kids will be kana kick out...
          my son dun get to learn multiplication and division when he's in Kindergarten leh...

highchair

TAURUS:

my son dun get to learn multiplication and division when he's in Kindergarten leh...
            Wow... whose children learn multiplication and division in Kindergarten?! Adding and Subtraction is enough for 'em to digest!!
            The next P1 Maths Test is only addition up to TEN!!

Or am I really FAR behind?! :?:

dicky

Well, you are not. Multilpication and Division is taught is K2, but as an optional activity. DS in childcare learnt them one-off like multiples of 5 like 5, 10, 15... by counting squares in exercise book, or half a cake division by looking at pictures.

Learning or memorizing multiplication or division table is not taught in Kindergarten, nor Pri school (I heard from my sis the method to teach multiplication had changed). In fact, my nephew can recite the multiplication tables but still fail his maths test. Reason being he is too far ahead in his studies..... :roll:

I not that kiasu enough to stress my DS like dat when at his age, I dun even know how to read nor know what is multiplication.... 😎

ANON001

highchair:
                TAURUS:

Wow... whose children learn multiplication and division in Kindergarten?! Adding and Subtraction is enough for 'em to digest!!
                The next P1 Maths Test is only addition up to TEN!!

Or am I really FAR behind?! :?:

Mine also dun hv exposure on multiplication & division, so dun worry, ur kid is not far behind 😉

tulips

hi all, Happy CNY…Gong xi fa cai

ANON001

hi, anyone rec'd letter frm MOE to request payment for the miscellaneous fees for Jan/Feb? i signed up the giro form during Orientation and handed over on same day, but is not processed or in the midst of processing, thus hv to make cash/ cheque payment now... Called up MOE, said they don't hv any record yet, called up RSS, said they've submitted all the forms to MOE... wonder am i the only one who emcounter this :?

tulips

i did not check this web for a week cos i went back to my hometown during my CNY holiday…i read all message from u all… i would like to post some about my DS,

he got English spelling today and then follow by Math test on 23 Feb.
                      so far no CL test except Chinese Han Yu Pin Yin Spelling on every wednesday.

ANON001

tulips:
                        i did not check this web for a week cos i went back to my hometown during my CNY holiday.....i read all message from u all... i would like to post some about my DS,,

he got English spelling today and then follow by Math test on 23 Feb.
                        so far no CL test except Chinese Han Yu Pin Yin Spelling on every wednesday.
                        looks like all their EL & CL spellings are on same day, even for tests 😉
                        i guess CL & EL tests will be in early Mar before Mar holidays

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 27 / 177

BabyParisB
                        BabyParis